We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as a stop off for a nightcap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cactos II

Cactos II
Estrada da Barca | Dunas Do Alvor Complex, Alvor, Portimao, Portugal
282496248
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 114 Restaurants in Alvor
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: As well as being popular for the night time live music in our clean and comfortable bar, we also have a large sunny terrace near the swimming pool at the Apartments Dunas do Alvor. We hope you will find it a perfect place to relax in the sun or enjoy those long summer nights. We have a tasty snack menu from midday to 3pm and a variety of special offers on drinks during the day, with our €1 large Super Bocks and €2.50 Cocktail Specials being especially popular. We offer only brand name spirits and hope that you will find the perfect mix of pleasant surroundings, friendly staff and outstanding value for your money.We have live music every night and show Sky Sports/Setanta and ESPN for major sports events. We look forward to meeting you!
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great as a stop off for a nightcap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We ate more in the town itself and then called in for a couple of drinks on the way back to our hotel at the end of the evening. Mark, the owner was very entertaining and soon gets to know everyone. Good friendly atmosphere although it seemed there were only Brits who frequented the place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cactosIIbar, Owner at Cactos II, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thanks Chris...... Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    44
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best Bar in Alvor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just back from Alvor finished each day off with a few beers with hospitality and great entertainment from Mark and Ali will be back 2014 Mr & Mrs Rhyl

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cactosIIbar, Owner at Cactos II, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thanks for the review....... so miss the dancing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“It's not a restaurant but its a very good bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our umpteenth visit and Mark and Ali are still working very hard to give us all a good time. Lovely couple and they deserve to make a living out of this. Mark's entertainment is great and Ali has the hostess routine off to a tee. Sorry we had to inflict Norman's Garth Brooks act on them a few nights but it's got to be done. See you next year folks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cactosIIbar, Owner at Cactos II, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
NOOOOOO COUNTRY SONGS!....... Great to see you again, see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never fails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just back from Alvor again visited this great bar. It really is a great place and should not be missed if you enjoy having a laugh. Mark is tremendous value providing great entertainment and great banter with the crowd. Ali as usual runs the bar smoothly keeping the drink flowing has to be said they have unearthed a gem in Tiago who goes out of his way to make sure you are enjoying your time when in the bar. Only sad part is that I could not sing my usual song some unforeseen problems with that, from the singing teacher !!!!!

Do not miss this bar when in Alvor !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cactosIIbar, Owner at Cactos II, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thanks mate, great to see you again. I so missed your song.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“gives you a lift”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

called in here on most nights for a quick drink. always a laugh. owner sings and plays live 60's music.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cactosIIbar, Owner at Cactos II, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us Tel....... See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactos II also viewed

 

Been to Cactos II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactos II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.