We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartment Mar E Serra

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Apartment Mar E Serra to your Saves list
Apartment Mar E Serra
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Sitio da Ma Partilha, Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Alvor
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Back again to stay in our home in the sun. Great to see all of our friends again. Wonderful place but not really for the tourist market as lacking s reception as most people own there apartment. Good pool ran by Gina lovely mountain views.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We arrived to find the apartments without any reception area and part of a residential area. We had to ask the bar person at the pool area where the reception was to collect keys for the apartment, which was not great as he did not speak any English! He handed us a telephone and my husband called the number on our booking sheet.
We were told over the phone that the apartment was still being cleaned and someone would be with us in 5 minutes (which turned out to be 30 minutes). When someone finally came, they gave us the keys and map to the area, giving directions into the town and local beach. We were not shown to the apartment, just directed to the correct building.
The apartment itself was very clean and spacious for a family of four. The beds were comfortable and everything was supplied in the kitchen to cook, but the apartments themself were noisy and we could hear next door moving furniture (early in the morning and at night) around and children running and screaming.
The apartments are about 15 minutes walk away from the town centre of Alvor and the beach takes around 22-25 minutes. The reception for these apartments was 25 minutes away, which we could not find at first as the name of the hotel was not given to us, we had to ask a local person to help find the street. Staff were friendly and helpful when we needed to find out our transfer time, but we only visited the reception once as it was not as local as we had hoped.
Overall though, Alvor was a lovely town and we found a supermarket that is the equivalent to our Asda, which is in the top part of Alvor and about 35 minutes walk from the apartment. We would only return to these apartments again if we were on a budget, but personally I would rather pay the extra for somewhere with a reception, a more central location and a pool area that was actually in the complex rather than over the road.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

My wife & I have just returned fron a two week stay at Mar E Serra Appartments in Alvor.
We were on the seventh floor with lovely views of Alvor in the distance.Mar E Sera is about a 15-20 minute walk to Alvor town centre and the large sandy beach.Downhill there but uphill back.We used to walk in and taxi 3-4 Euros or bus 3 Euros for the two of us.
The appartment was very clean,spaciousand clean,if not particularly well kitted out.
The poolwas open most days from 10 till 6,with a pool bar which sold drinks, ice creams and snacks.It was never busy except at weekends when some of the permanent residents of the complex made use of it in Alvor.
The biggest drawback with the complex is that there is no reception.Booking in,and any faults had to be done at Dunas do Alvor complex some 15-20 minutes walk away.
Having said all this, we had a lovely fortnight in Alvor,but next time we go there we will find accomodation nearer the town and beaches.Tevevision programmes were also poor with only four Portugese channels.
.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We walked into this amazing apartment expecting a good place to stay for 2 weeks, but not an apartment at the top of it's class! Everything to make our stay comfortable and complete, was there! Only bring your clothes - nothing else needed!
I'm sure we'll be back time and time again!
R and J
Watford, UK

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
1.7 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
1.7 mi away
Luna Clube Brisamar
Luna Clube Brisamar
#19 of 26 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Pestana Alvor Praia
#5 of 26 in Alvor
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
1.4 mi away
Club Praia da Rocha
Club Praia da Rocha
#14 of 19 in Praia da Rocha
3.0 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mirachoro Hotel Apartamentos II & III
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment Mar E Serra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment Mar E Serra

Address: Sitio da Ma Partilha, Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment Mar E Serra 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartment Mar E Serra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment Mar e Serra Hotel Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartment Mar E Serra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.