We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get a room near the bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL

ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alvor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL
Save Saved
You added ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL to your Saves list
ESTRADA DO ALVOR, Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 hotels in Alvor
melton mowbray
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't get a room near the bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

we stayed here last year and had a wonderful time as our apartment was over the bridge, we booked again through lowcost holidays and asked for the same apartment or one close, they had 10 months to organise this, just as well it's not a brewery......this year our apartment.
was right above the club( obviously our request was totally ignored )along with the smoking area so the music went on til 2.00am followed by another 2hrs of people talking as loud as possible, didn't make for the best of holidays, we'll be back to Alvor as it's a tremendous place to holiday but will probably stay at the Alvormar......

Room Tip: if you do go here make sure your room is away from the club
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just stayed at the Alvor Ferias from 12 - 26/8/2013 and had a really enjoyable time.

As a family of 4, we stayed in a 2 bed, 2 bath apartment across the road from the on site shop, a Spar. The apartments themselves are very bsic and dated with things not working (extractor fans in bathroom etc.), but the rooms were cleaned 4 times per week with a linen change once and towels changed twice a week.

The staff were friendly, what we saw of them and we spent most of our time across the bridge at the other pool where if there were no sunbeds left, there were grassed areas to lay your towels on.

The apartments are a 5 minute walk from the old fishing village of Alvor where you will find plenty of restaurants and bars to suit all tastes. This is a family resort, definitely not for clubbers etc., with a nice feel. The harbour area and the beaches are beautiful and i would reccomend Alvor to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for what you need, at least a 2 bed for a family of 4 and not one by the bar on the reception si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 5 and stayed over the bridge side of the complex. We had a very spacious 3 bed apartment. Yes it was a little dated in terms of decor but it had all we needed inc air conditioning. Remote for air con was 15 euro deposit. Pool on our side was great. V deep though on one side so make sure kids are strong swimmers. Spa shop on complex is fine but there is a bigger slightly cheaper supermarket 10min walk down road. Beach took 15 min walk but make sure u walk in shade as sun drains your energy! We went to BBQ night which was good value for money I think we paid around 80 euros for all of us and included two pitchers of sangria. One tip if you stay over the bridge... You can get to the main road without walking back to reception just turn right before corridor to bridge. Boardwalk is a nice walk near beach but careful as we went as the sun went down and I got bitten by a dozen mozzies that came out!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

A really pleasant place to stay. Yes, it's a little 70s in terms of decor but our apartment had everything you could need for a comfortable stay. The on-site Spar supermarket is really useful and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The grassy pool over the bridge was our favourite and you're much more likely to find a spot not nabbed by the towel placers, who seemed to get up earlier each day! Make sure you walk to Praia prainha: it's amazing, with lots of little beaches separated by accessible caves! Takes about 25 mins to walk with kids. And do eat in the restaurant by the grassy pool- the food is fresh and delicious and the owner is great. The bar underneath this restaurant is really really cool. (It's independent from the hotel so won't be advertised by them which is a shame.) Back to the hotel though: do go to the BBQ night on Tuesdays! Loads of good food (and a reptile show for the kids). There can be a bit of noise from the bar/main road depending where your appartment is but having the air con on at night means it's not a prob. Alvor itself is lovely: cobbled streets overlooking the picturesque estuary and not Brits Abroad ( though there are some lively pubs/bars if you want and a real
range of restaurants). A great family holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlethen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel from 21st July for 10 nights.

On arrival we were allocated a room across the road from the reception but the hotel transported us in the mini bus to it.

It was a large 3 bed apartment which included an en suite. The decor was a little dated but it didnt matter as it was adequate.

The apartment was serviced every second day and towels changed. When we needed the toilet flusher fixed it was done almost immediately. The servicing of the apartment was really good and the staff were always friendly and polite.

The pool (non reception side) was fantastic, At times it was a little busy but this is only to be expected.

Alvor itself was also very nice. Eating out we didnt have one bad meal all at a reasonable price.

The beach was huge and we thought that hiring 2 sunbeds with a parasol for 10 euro for all day was great value.

A great holiday and apartment, I would be very happy to go back to both the hotel and resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 722, which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed 10 days from 10th June. When we arrived we were told our apartment was the other side of road and to go over the footbridge. We struggled up 3 lots of steps with heavy cases, found our apartment up a further 3 lots of stairs. Next day we realised it was easier just to cross over the road and not use the bridge. The apartment was spacious, clean and well equipped, no complaint at all apart from the size of the balcony, we had one each side of our rooms but they were tiny. Also could have done with the towels being changed more frequently. We expected there would be few kids as out of school holidays but the place was very busy with Irish families so I guess they have different school holidays. There is a pool on either side of the road but the size and facilities not really large enough for such a large complex. Most days sunbeds had towels on early morning and the pools were full of kids jumping in off the bridges despite signs saying not to. We had a meal in the restaurant which was excellent and the guy and girl who run that bar are great. We didnt think much to the cafe and club on the reception side of the road but there are plentiful bars and restaurants in Alvor. Alvor is lovely and we were spoilt for choice where to eat and drink, the beach is fantastic but we thought the sunbeds were overpriced at 10 euro for 2 with an umbrella, most were vacant with people lying on towels instead. Bars we would recommend are Michaels bar on road down into Alvor they do a fab mojita. Cactos II and a couple of other bars in that area do cheap drinks with entertainment at night. We had an excellent meal at O Alcaide restaurant and Annies Bar do a fantastic breakfast and is run by a couple from Swadlincote. As a self-catering holiday if you like to get out and about and not spend much time round the pool this hotel is fine it has everything required for an enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: We were in room 721 which was above the dustbins which were emptied in early hours of the morning so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed on self catering basis. Appartment was spaceious but had little sun due to location. Had to stay on ground floor at our request but views were not good and balcony very small. Restaurant quality was poor but we did only use it once for convenience. Bar did not open until 8pm and was then overrun by the kids club. No space to sit for a quiet drink or chat although the entertainment was quite amusing. Bar desperately needs extending. The town was a good 15 minute walk and was ok going down but less appealing going back up as very hilly. Taxi service very good and reasonably priced and reception staff happy to book these for you. trips can be booked with the hotel but can be found cheaper in the town. The town itself is quite charming with lots of little shops and many places to eat. Some restaurants fairly expensive but mostly all similar prices . We would recommend trying CIAO BABY restaurant which is located a short walk from the roundabout at the bottom of the hill. The food was excellent and the service the same with a very friendly atmosphere and reasonably priced. We had a three course meal each with drinks for less than 40euros. Our stay was slightly spoiled by the weather but overall i would recommend staying in Alvor. Our only gripe was about the bar area but the bar staff were very friendly. The kids club was obviously a success and couples without children may wish to consider a hotel that does not state 'family friendly'.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL

Address: ESTRADA DO ALVOR, Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.