We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C&J13” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL

ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL to your Saves list
ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL
ESTRADA DO ALVOR, Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“C&J13”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed on self catering basis. Appartment was spaceious but had little sun due to location. Had to stay on ground floor at our request but views were not good and balcony very small. Restaurant quality was poor but we did only use it once for convenience. Bar did not open until 8pm and was then overrun by the kids club. No space to sit for a quiet drink or chat although the entertainment was quite amusing. Bar desperately needs extending. The town was a good 15 minute walk and was ok going down but less appealing going back up as very hilly. Taxi service very good and reasonably priced and reception staff happy to book these for you. trips can be booked with the hotel but can be found cheaper in the town. The town itself is quite charming with lots of little shops and many places to eat. Some restaurants fairly expensive but mostly all similar prices . We would recommend trying CIAO BABY restaurant which is located a short walk from the roundabout at the bottom of the hill. The food was excellent and the service the same with a very friendly atmosphere and reasonably priced. We had a three course meal each with drinks for less than 40euros. Our stay was slightly spoiled by the weather but overall i would recommend staying in Alvor. Our only gripe was about the bar area but the bar staff were very friendly. The kids club was obviously a success and couples without children may wish to consider a hotel that does not state 'family friendly'.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I got married in ALbefueira but all the wedding guests stayed here as Alvor is a far nicer place (in my opiion) The appartments are HUGE. Basic stuff, but close to the centre of alvor and the pool was spotless welcoming. The side on the opposite side of reception are far nicer and quiter.

Room Tip: Opposite side to reception is nicer and quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

we stayed here in april,the apartments are large open plan with sleeping room for 4 people,there are 2 balconys which was great as you could follow the sun all day, one gripe i would have is that the bar or restaurant was not open,we were told that is was too early in the season to justify this,which was strange as there was a lot of people staying at the complex.the pool area is great but could do with a bit of maintenance and general tidy up.overall a very large place dont know what it would be like in high season.

Room Tip: ask to stay on reception side as the second complex is accessed via an over road walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at Alvorferias on a self catering basis in October, upon our arrival we were informed that our appartment wasn't ready so we went off to the pool bar for a drink, I was amazed at how small the area was, the pool bar was in the resteraunt and I wondered how everyone was going to fit inside.
Once our appartment was ready we collected the keys and went up, it was quite a nice space and clean.
It was in desperate need of an update and general maintenance, large cracks had been papered over, patio doors with a huge gap around the outside, (when the wind blew the cutains moved), dirty windows, cupboard doors not fiting and hanging at strange angles, as for the beds, never have I had such a hard mattress.
The food was.... repetetive and boring, if you enjoy bland fish or pork every night fine, cooked breakfast consisted of scrambled egg, fried egg, beans and mushrooms, there was cold ham and cheese.
There was however toast, bread rolls, fruit, oh and cake.
On the first night we went to the main bar wich opened at 8 O/C, we arrived at 5 past but the door was locked so we waited till twenty past till someone decided to turn up and open up, a further 10 mins till they were ready.
Same can be said about the hotel run kids club, we decided to let our 5 year old go to a cooky making sesion which she was looking forward to, we got there at 09-55 ready for it to open at 10, we decided to walk back at 20 past when we met a chap wandering towards us, "if your for the kids club its this way" he informed us, I said "yes we know, we have been here waiting".
We were then told that, and I quote, "there's not enough kids so wer'e not doing the cooky making, she can play down there". when we picked our daughter up the guy in charge...?? was sat watching films on his lap top, he had no interaction with our daughter and no interest in being there, needless to say she didnt go back.
We had an issue with the hot water in our appartment, after a small bath for our daughter and a shower for the wife, there was no more hot water.... we had to break out the kettle.
In the blurb it states that there is a kids play area, fine there is as long as your kids are toddlers up to about 2 and a half, really not great.
Whilst we were by the pool a street seller came around trying to flog some naff wooden carvings, he got to our table and I looked up, smiled and said, " no thank you ", nothing, he carried on getting more and more animals out whilst scowling, twice more I told him no thank you to no avail, then we just ignored him till after a while he skulked off, if I want to buy things Ill go to a shop mate.
Talking of which, Alvor town is a gentle 10 min stroll away and well worth it, loads of places to eat and some very reasonable, I would reccomend heading down toward the fishermans huts and turning right there are several resteraunts there all very nice. loads of places to buy your gifts.
if your looking for duty free look for Johns shop, grab a free Alvor map in town.

Room Tip: A good room..... unsure there is such a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Alvorferias in a self-catering apartment. The first thing we noticed was that our apartment was huge, which was great as we had a lot of space. It needed a fresh coat of paint and some general updating, but that's what we expected with the rating of the complex. There is a nice pool at the complex, and a small kids play area, which was handy. There is a beautiful beach a short walk away, and likewise the centre of Alvor is a short walk away so I would say it's a good location for families with small children, as long as you don't mind a bit of walking to get about! The on-site restaurant/cafe was nice and clean but the service was very slow, despite it being quiet. There are really good restaurants in the centre of Alvor which serve better food at better value. It's a 3* complex, wouldn't rant and rave about it but would probably stay here again, if we got a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

The apartment had big rooms, with west and east facing balconies, we were on the 4th floor, which we thought would be a pain, but saw beautiful sunsets and great views over Alvor. Basic but clean, maids came 3 times in the week. Bit cheeky to have to pay extra for a safe though. 15 minutes walk to lovely beaches, these were so pretty we didn't use the pool or bar. Also 15 minutes into the town, up and down a long but fairy shallow hill. Spar supermarket on site was useful, although a little more expensive than the one down the road. We got a late minute bargain, and were very happy with what we paid for.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

i was abit put off by some of the neg comments on here but was pleasantly surprised when we arrived staff very friendly...our apartment was plenty big enough for a family of 5 we had a 2 room with two bathrooms large living area and kitchen..we stayed bed and breakfast..breakfast was ok but same thing every day..the area it self was beautiful alvor is about a 5-10 minute stroll down bank lovely fishing village with plenty of places to eat one place you must try is the yacht club on the front of the harbour food was amazing and emma the manage was brillant highly recommended..as we had children with us we came back to the apartment each night around 9ish and when to the club located on site of the apartments..plently of entertainment each night from a parrot show to music quiz..beaches around the area are stunning a trip to the logons are a must..all in all it was a fab holiday and we would defo go back..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL

Address: ESTRADA DO ALVOR, Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.