We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL

ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alvor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL
ESTRADA DO ALVOR, Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Myself 27, My husband 31 and three children aged, 4, 6, 10 all went away for our honeymoon 12th sept 2012. We had such an amazing stay in Alvor such a beautiful typical fishing village :O)
The transfer was quite long from the airport to the hotel about (1hr 40) I should imagine private taxi would be much quicker!
We were greeted by two very friendly staff at reception and told we were to be staying over the otherside of the complex which is separated by a bridge to avoid the traffic. With it been roughly 2am the staff drive us over to the otherside and showed us to our room.
My first reaction was how huge it was, they gave us a three bedroomed apartment with double beds in each room, two bathrooms, two balcony's a massive kitchen and separate dining/ living area! Yes it was quite dated but for what we paid this was to be expected! Was totally spotless, the kitchen was fantastic had cooker with gas hob, oven ect. Had fridge freezer big family size one, microwave , clean pans, plates, clean tea towels the list is endless! I never usual use the kitchen whilst on holiday but had no reason not to this time! The rooms were cleaned every second day with beds made, fresh towels it honestly was brill service :O) Our view faced the pool area and could see the beach afar in the distance. The other balcony overlooked the front road towards the village which is just a 5/10 minute walk and has some beautiful resturants, shops and a handy supermarket. On an evening because of the younger children we shared a taxi home and was never more than 4 euro's :O) The pool area was very clean the only thing I would fault would be the paving around the pool was alittle cracked in some area's such as by the pool ladder ect but thats it. The bar around the pool was very cheap and staff very friendly. We never ate at our resturant so can't comment on that but we did attempt the resturant on the reception side one morning and the prices are very high, roughly 8.50 euros just for continental breakfast! We passed as just in the village its roughly 4.50 euro's for a full english with tea or coffee.
The beach is a 5 min drive in the mini bus service provided by hotel and we also visited the aqua park,splash and slide which is also worth a visit we got a taxi each way which was 18 euro each way but can also get bus but be warned takes about 1hr 30 rather than 20 mins in taxi!
Over all you get what you pay for in this case I think we got more a fantastic place to visit and would defo return in the future x

Room Tip: We stayed in room 312 (apparently there are only 2 rooms in the whole hotel this big)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a pleasant holiday at the Alvor Ferias Hotel.
There were a few minor issues with our
apartment but these were dealt with very quickly by the helpful staff.
The breakfast provided
was nothing special but just about alright.
The walk to the village is no problem although the beach is a bit further.
The tennis courts are in good working order, crying out to be used.

Room Tip: Get a top floor apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I suppose you get what you pay for. Liked the apartment, it was comfortable thanks to the aircon. Not so keen on the pools, got very claustrophobic as the hotel filled up. Took the breakfast option, a bit bland and very boring. Same set of things to choose from every day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We visited alvor ferris, in June 2012. I went with my 12 month baby. The hotel complex is well equipped to deal with children of all ages, there are two pool, one is on the other side of the walking bridge so make sure u find that one! It was a perfect time of year not too busy and not too hot! We were told it gets very very busy here in July and aug like every where else I guess.
The only down fall I have is, it's a 15-20 min walk to town, and the return walk is up a hill, so taxis are only 4€. The beach is also about 25-30 min walk away as well..
Other then that is a lovely place I would compare it to kinsale in cork, a small fishing village!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

My wife and I needed a one night booking for a hotel in Alvor whilst we waited to to link up with friends. Having been to the resort 25 years ago with our young family we thought it would be good to revisit the place. Oh what a surprise. Absolutely nothing had changed, the tiles, the rooms the decoration absolutely everything was the same. Its now so old and tatty it needs a complete refurbish. What was there was clean and the staff as ever were very friendly but overall if we had booked for longer with a young family we would have been after a refund by day 2. Your holiday depends on which room you end up in as some seem to be really well updated and others such as 801 have not been touched at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltsgirl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We travelled in June 2012 with our two children - 5 & 8. We had a two bed appt, which was huge. It was all clean and tidy and housekeeping came round every other day. The kitchen was well equipped and the beds were comfortable. The only problem we had was that our room was over the club and was quite noisy in the evenings. There are quieter appts over the bridge in the second complex. The shop on sight is very well stocked and reasonably priced. It is a ten minute walk into town but well worth it. Alvor is lovely and Georgets is well worth a visit for dining. All in all it was a lovely family holiday in a three star resort with friendly staff and good facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We rented an apartment privately, rather than booking direct with hotel. It was fabulous, and had all the modcons, which was fantasic as we were there for 18 days. We had 2 balconies, 1 small and the other was huge, with sunbeds and large table and chairs and still plenty of room,
We were situated on the opposite side of the road from the reception, which was much better as more room around pool and quieter. Other apartments were a bit dated.
Alvor is a beauiful fishing village with lots of character and greatr restaurants.

Room Tip: book apartments privately
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL

Address: ESTRADA DO ALVOR, Alvor, Portimao 8500, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL to your Saves list