We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alvor Village

Save Saved
You added Alvor Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alvor Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 hotels in Alvor
Castleford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“second honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We went here for a short stay in Sept.2012 for a tenth anniversary and what a wonderful hotel.
It took over 3 hours to get there but not the hotels fault.
When we got up in the morning we were greeted with an amazing sight in the hotels restaurant for breakfast what an amazing section of hot and cold food was available the bar prices are reasonable and a cold small beer just after breakfast was cool and refreshing.
The rooms are just like the pictures on the website clean and fresh looking a bit like an Ikea show home with plenty of storage for all your shopping, there is a small supermarket just up the road about a 15 mins walk or a hypermarket a bit further away by car 20 mins both with good selections or fresh bread and food.
The village Alvor is better to walk to as the streets are very tight to drive and park up it is only about 20/30 mins to walk to the village and has a great selection of bars and restaurants to choose from if you like fresh fish then this is the village for you.
We liked it so much where going back this May 2013

Room Tip: if you want a shaded room ask for any room not overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    67
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
106
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My partner and I first visited Alvor Village Suites in 2009 and have subsequently returned five times. We can't speak highly enough about the hotel - great location - pleasant walk to the lovely old town and beach. Rooms very spacious and modern. All the utensils you require in the kitchen and plenty of good quality crockery. Lovely pool area with plenty of sun beds. Delightful shy Hoopoes looking for insects under the palm trees - what a joy they are!
Great breakfasts with plenty of choice even for the fussiest of eaters and a lovely terrace to sit and enjoy. Looking forawrd to seeing you in May!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a junior suite overlooking the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenhithe,Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me and my boyfriend visited here June of this year and I literally cannot sing it's praises enough! This was our first holiday alone without our 3 year old son so was overly keen for it to be a lovely resort so that we could relax.
We had seen some great pics of the resort before we went there and it looked amazing but I never like to get my hopes up due to false advertising! Anyway.. we had the usual holiday fun of dropping off everyone else in the minibus and worrying at how run down the hotel looks.. we then arrived into Alvor town and shortly turned into our stunning modern looking resort! From the glass front to the modern contemporary chairs in the reception area and the fancy lift it all looked very plush!
Our room was just beautiful with a fully fitted plush kitchen including utensils, dining table, stunning bathroom with jacuzzi bath, living area with samsung tv with then swivels round so that you can watch it in bed and a huuuuuge balcony with table and chairs. Our room was cleaned daily unless you didn't want it to be and then we just put the do not disturb sign on the door before we went out.
The pool area isn't the largest but does have a small kids pool. This was perfect for just us as a couple although not sure if kids that are somewhere between 7 and teens they may be bored due to the simplicity of the pool area.
We were on a bed and breakfast plan... if i remember correctly the breakfast was from 8-10 every morning. This was a buffet which consisted of fried english breakfast, cereals, pastries, toast, juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, tea coffee etc.
During the rest of the day you are able to eat in the restaurant there but we only ever had lunch there which was always yummy.. the pork steak sandwich is highly recommended!

Every night we walked into Alvor town which was about a 20 minute walk and then we used to get a taxi back every night which cost around 4 euros. In this town there are streets and streets of restaurants, bars, clubs, shops, market stalls etc.

We loved this holiday so much that we was even on our phones by the pool (using the free wi-fi) to book again for this year. We decided to wait until later on in the year to book but found out the day after returning that we are expecting baby no 2... I am already looking forward to her being a few years old so we can have a family holiday back here :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHERN IRELAND
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel between 17th and 27th September 2012. We had been to Alvor twice before staying at the Yellow hotel but decided to try the Luna Alvor Village as we had walked past it on many occasions. We were certainly not disappointed with our decision.

We arrived at the hotel at 1130 and to our delight our "room" was ready for occupation. To say room is an understatement as we had been allocated a large suite on the third floor overlooking the pool. The suite comprised two bedrooms, two bathrooms, one with jacuzzi bath and the other with a walk in shower, a fully fitted kitchen/diner with a table and six chairs, a sitting area with flat screen tv and wi-fi. The balcony was huge and included a hot tub although this was disconnected and apparently it costs 60 euros per day to use. A definite plus was, because the main part of the balcony was not completely enclosed, we had sunshine both morning and afternoon.

Previous reviewers have mentioned the pool area, some positive and some negative. During our stay we never had a problem getting a sunbed, but there was a lack of umbrellas. In the height of the season there may well be a problem with the number of sunbeds but this could be solved by having additional sunbeds on the grass area.

The breakfast was more than adequate supplying both hot and cold items and seating areas both inside and outside.

Reception area is spacious with plenty of seats and two lifts very conveniently placed. The reception staff were very pleasant with a particular mention to Claudia and Isobel.

The hotel is situated a couple of minutes walk from the Dom Joao restaurant where one can have a good meal giving good value. There are plenty of good restaurants in Alvor itself some better than others. Trip Advisor's list of restaurants in Alvor is a good guide to eating out with a special mention to the Salsa Bistro.

There is a small shop near the hotel en route to the Yellow Hotel where British newspapers can be purchased. A five minute walk towards Alvor there is a supermarket where most things can be purchased and a good range of wines at very reasonable prices. The supermarket came to the fore during a couple of rainy days when we decided against eating out and instead purchased goods from the supermarket and in our well equipped kitchen enjoyed a good meal.

In conclusion I would definitely recommend this hotel. Although we were lucky in being allocated the "room" we got, the normal rooms are also very spacious.

The location of this hotel is also a plus as it is away from the hustle and bustle of the resort but only a 10 minute walk and less than 4 euro taxi ride from it.

Room Tip: We were spoilt with our room allocation but not withstanding this I would recommend a pool facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. The rooms are very spacious and clean and the staff friendly. The only quirky thing that stands out was a bar attendant who when i asked what cocktail he would recomend he replied ' i dont know i dont drink' i then asked what Alvor was like as day 1, to which he replied ' i dont know, i have never been' Bad day or long summer!

We travelled with 2 kids and the hotel was great. The pool was lovely, the only negative comment we read before we travelled was that they didnt have enough sun loungers. This is true and at times a little frustrating as we had yound kids.

Alvor was lovely and only a 15 min walk away. On the door step of the hotel was two restaurants which we eat in on the last 2 days. Both very good.

On night one as most do we walked to the harbour, drawn by the smell of BBQ fish. The cost £65 euros for a fish, potatoes and veg! Amongst the cobbled streets are little restaurtants which are a lot cheaper, so worth looking round.

Overall an excellent stay, had the breakfast been better i would i have given 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

When we arrived the room literally shocked us, it was huge and spotless with seperate bedroom area and TV that turned to face lounge and bed - what a treat! Big patio doors out to the balcony from lounge and bedroom with lovely views including the sea in the distance.
Bathroom well equipped with jacuzzi bath and powerful shower, some toilettries and plenty of towels that were changed daily. Beach towels rom Reception too for the pool, lit up beautifuly at night, quite simple and on the small side so better for grown ups perhaps. But clean and fine. We went at a quiet time and loved being able to relax as the hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of the town but close enough to easily walk in and back.
Kitchen was extremely well-equipped, best self-catering accommodation I have stayed in. Everything you need to make your own meals.
Staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and all spoke English.
Breakfast was adequate, fine but could very easily be improved with fresh juice as opposed to the powder stuff, more cheeful and friendly waiters and fresh eggs for scrambling and not the powdered variety! But the fresh bread and pastries were lovely, there was butter and preserves and toast and fresh fruit and yoghurt and bacon, sausages and a different kind of egg each morning. So still enough to fill up on!

In terms of food we ate in Alvor every night and found this good value for money, we arrived late but followed advice on here and ate in the pizzeria place at the top of the road (Capones?) and enjoyed the most amazing seafood special, best pasta we've eaten.
Huge Supermarket just round the corner.
Beach is beautifu but be prepared to walk, about 20 minutes through the village. But a nice walk that we enjoyed.

Room Tip: Pool view as these rooms face the back of the hotel and not the road/car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is our third visit to the "Alvor Village Suites" and as usual we found the accommodation and friendliness as good as ever.

The apartments are a good 10 minute walk from the town, but it is a pleasant walk and means that the apartments are very quiet as they are away from the noise of the town.
On each of our visits we come over in September and the weather can be a little variable, however most of the time it was hot and sunny.

The apartments are very large and are very modern, the air conditioning is very good and is fitted in both the bedroom and the lounge.

There is a rotating flat screen TV which can be viewed either from the bed or the lounge and has BBC1 as well as Euro sport and several other channels.

The pool area does not get very busy during September and so there is no problem with sun-beds.

The best rooms face the pool area and are worth paying the little extra.

One criticism is the breakfast scrambled eggs are extremely rubbery and so best avoided!

There are so many restaurants in the town that you can visit a different one every night during a fortnights stay and still not have covered them all, however this time we found a new restaurant called "Al Capone" which is close to the "Alvor Village Suites" (just by Alvor camping) and we found it so good that we visited this same restaurant 5 times during our stay, excellent food and excellent service!

Prices in all the restaurants are very reasonable, however the closer to the promenade the more expensive, on the whole the prices are less than in the UK.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are very quiet and better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alvor Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvor Village

Address: Sitio da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#4 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvor Village 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Alvor Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvor Village Hotel Alvor
Village Hotel Alvor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alvor Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.