We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Union Geiranger

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Union Geiranger to your Saves list
Hotel Union Geiranger
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Geiranger Rd, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Hopkinton, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a view!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last week. The view was breath taking. We had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the fjord. The bed was very comfortable. It was clearly off season and the hotel was quiet with some limited services, which was ok with us. Breakfast was simple but good. The hiking is amazing with endless choices. One downside was the price, but unlike the previous reviewer, to us it was worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the renovated section and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    88
    41
    12
    4
See reviews for
51
109
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed for one night during the Off-season (late March)
Usually I dont pay over $150 a night on a hotel (I usually use hostels), but made an exception when I decided to spend the night in the beautiful Fjord. Upon check in I was greeted by a wonderful receptionist who gave me a room with a view at no extra charge and from then on anyone I spoke to was helpful and accommodating, really the staff here is lovely.
Now as for the room, aside from the view it was nothing special, in fact I was cold most of the night and the mattress was mediocre at best, I did not sleep well. The pool was great though.
I had Dinner in the Restaurant Julie, I did not have the four course meal that was offered, instead I opted for the pasta on their menu and was sorely disappointed. It was not tasty and upset my stomach.
I was woken that evening at 10pm by the receptionist inquiring if I would be out and about anymore that evening, the reason being there were only about 5 guests total and they wanted to ensure everyones safety and inform me should I need anything a security guard was one button away. For me, a female solo traveler, I appreciated this extra effort from the staff.
Breakfast the next morning was a bit greasy but had lots of options, I enjoyed it.

All in all my stay was certainly not bad. It just wasnt what I hoped for for almost $300. But if you do stay, get a room with a view, the sunset can be quite nice.

Room Tip: Get one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great hotel, fabulous food. Only down side was that we were a bunch of guys travelling together and wanted single rooms hence we finished up at the back of the hotel in a tiny single room with a poor view. Our travelling companions in couples had great rooms at the front. ( will have to take the wife next time)
As with most hotels in this area the food is prepared as a buffet and no table service. I don't mind this and I think it is a benefit as the choice and quality is endless, you pick what you want when you want and eat at your pace.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the fjord, it worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

For any traveller to the west coast of Norway, a visit to Geiranger is a must. Given that it takes quite some time to get there (especially if you travel by car), it makes sense to stay over for at least a night.

There are not many hotel alternatives, and our choice for the family of 5 was Hotel Unión. It has long traditions, and the website convinced me with its wonderful photographs.

I must say, that I left the hotel with mixed feelings.

On the one hand, the location and the common areas of the hotel fulfulled expectations. But the standard of the rooms and the food was a bit of a let down.

The rooms we were given, had not been refurbished over the last 20 years, and the bathrooms were in bad need for modernization. Our windows were just above a ventilation outlet, which ouzed what seemed like kitchen fumes.... So the idea of opening the Windows for ventilation was quickly abandoned.

We opted for the half pension with dinner included. The buffet was quite big, but the quality of the food was cafetería level. When food is kept warm over a long period of time on display, it looses its charm. The cold cuts and the cheese were the best options. Breakfast, however, worked better.

The problem is partly that the hotel is very large, with bus loads of tourists in the summer months - with hundreds of guests requiring food at the same time. So it is probably imposible for the kitchen to offer a la carte quality food.

If you crave for gourmet treats during your stay, it may be a better option to dine outside the hotel, but I am unsure as to the options in Geiranger.

Bring your swim suit, because they have a nice new SPA section, with both indoor and outdoor pool.

At check out they charged us twice for the stay, a fact I discovered a few weeks later when reviewing my Visa bill. However, the matter was cleared up very efficiently after sending en e-mail to the admin department of the hotel. So no complaint there.

Summmary:

POSITIVE: View, location, breakfast buffet, Spa and Pool
NEGATIVE: Crowded for dinner, rooms and bathrooms in need of refurbishment

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the fjord side, with a nice view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here one night on a cross-Norway tour. Very nice, modern hotel, with attentive staff. Interesting display of old cars. Great view of the fjord. A bit of a walk down hill into town (remember what Mrs. Newton said, If you walk down, you must walk up.) but worth it for the scenery and babbling brook. Dinner and breakfast were above average for our tour.

The hot tub was not hot, a consistent problem through Norway. It was about 80 degrees F, which, if it's snowing a little, feels real cold. I joined a group of German tourists and shared a beer. Still real cold. The steam room is co-ed, but when I went in there was an older Japanese couple au natural. The wife did not speak English or Norwegian, and for some reason thought that the steam room was private. The husband spoke passable English and we shared a good laugh.

Room Tip: Most have a view. Unless you are there in the winter, get a view of the fjord. Pay extra if need b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

A excellent hotel in a grand location. At the head of the Geirnager Fjord this family owned and operated hotel that goes back to the end of the 19th century stands out as a important once in a lifetime experience. The spa is really high quality: and the food is nice as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

OK, so this is not a cheap hotel, but I would be willing to pay anything for the view of Geirangerfjord.
We booked 2 x Twin Fjordview rooms with the "Dinner, Bed & Breakfast" package. Our rooms, 524 and 525 were interconnected and (as the name says) they look out over the fjord. It took my breath away.
Room 524 has 2 single beds, 2 lounge chairs, a couch, a coffee table, desk, TV and stocked mini bar. The bathroom is a little dated, but large enough, with a bath/shower and a heated floor.
We opted to have dinner/breakfast included in our room rate (you can also add lunch if you want). When we went to the restaurant for the buffet dinner on our first night, we were shown to our table (right in front of the picture windows, overlooking the fjord) and were told that this would be our table for the remainder of our stay. It was fantastic not to have to wait to be seated at each meal.
The dinner buffet - oh my goodness - there were salads, breads, seafood, meat, pasta, vegetables, cheeses... DESSERTS! If you have a sweet tooth, you'll be well looked after.
The breakfast buffet was equally expansive - breads, cheeses, vegetables, fruits, eggs (cooked in a number of ways), porridge, sausages, bacon, cereals, tea/coffee and many juices. It was wonderful and - due to the consistent spread each day - easy to navigate.
As far as location, whilst the hotel has a great view of the fjord, the walk down to the waterfront is down a steep hill (making the walk back to the hotel especially tough), so many guests drive. While that was fine for us at the end of the tourist season, I am not sure that it would be easy during peak season (with three or more cruise ships unloading passengers in the harbour). There is at least one hotel that is closer to the waterfront, but it was closed when we were there at the end of September.
Whilst I didn't take advantage of all that the hotel had to offer (they have a gymnasium), one of my travelling companions had a massage at the hotel's spa. She loved it and mentioned that the staff were very professional and did a great job.
I would have to say that this is a beautiful hotel and well worth the expense to stay here. If you are going to visit one of the most beautiful UNESCO World Heritage sites, then give yourself the best opportunity to experience it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Union Geiranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Geiranger

Address: Geiranger Rd, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Union Geiranger 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Union Geiranger – a family-run hotel steeped in tradition and situated in the midst of a world-renowned, stunningly beautiful Norwegian fjord landscape. Owned by the Mjelva family and run by the fourth generation, the Hotel Union is a first-class hotel with every modern facility, and a long and proud history of excellence. For over one hundred years, guests have been coming here to stay – and to experience something very special. The hotel offers the very best of personal service, stylish and comfortable accommodation, and superior cuisine, with delicious dishes based on the finest local ingredients. Geiranger has some of the most outstanding natural beauty in the world, as well as a fascinating cultural history. The Hotel Union Bath & Spa is of international standard and offers wellbeing and relaxation in a unique atmosphere and setting. We know that it is the little things and personal touches that add up to create a truly memorable experience. We take pride in making your special wish come true. For us no wish is too small – and none too great.The hotel has 197 rooms and suites (all rooms at the hotel are non-smoking), a restaurant seating 400 guests and a conference room with seating for 400 persons. Our dance bar "Studebaker`n Show Arena has live music six days a week. The hotel has a large garden with a swimming pool, mini golf and a popular playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Union Geiranger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiranger Union Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Union Geiranger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.