We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Union Geiranger

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Union Geiranger to your Saves list
Hotel Union Geiranger
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Geiranger Rd, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

this was the 5th hotel of our tour, and after the previous hotels, was a welcome relief.
Check in was again handled by Laura, our tour director, so no problems there.
It felt as if we were given a room up the mountain, we had to walk so far from the elevator. However, the room was worth the long walk. It was big, the biggest we had to date in Scandinavia. Once on the balcony, one had a view over the outdoor heated pool and the fjord. This more than made up for the 2 single beds (again). TV had a good selection of English language channels, including some golden oldies like "Murder, She Wrote", and some others.
The bathroom was a nice size, and the seperate shower was really good.

Dinner was included in our 2 night stay, and was buffet. The group had to be there on time or else!! The selection of food was really good, but I did not like the fact that they served whale meat, which I suppose is one of the traditional Norwegian dishes. The food was also very good. But, if you do select the buffet, try to avoid eating at the same time as the groups, because when there are a few groups, the vrowds around the food can be really hectic. On the first night, waitress came around, asked if we would like to order drinks, and before we could place the order, she walked off.

Breakfast was good, also with a great selection of food. Again it could be a bit of a bun fight if a couple of groups were at breakfast. However, cleaning staff could do a better job of cleaning the floors after meals, as I did notice some traces of dropped food not being cleaned.

As a previous reviewer has stated, it is must to take a ferry on the fjord, as one would see some of the best scenery to be seen. Another must is the Troll Road, but rather pay to be driven, as you cannot admire the scenery and drive at the same time, as the road is really twisty, and one has to concentrate on the road.

I was disappointed with myslef for not making time to visit the vintage car museum in the hotel, but they do have one of the cars in the lobby.

It was a great stay at the Union, and would have received a 5 but for the crowds, service and the cleaning in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    88
    41
    12
    4
See reviews for
52
111
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Nebraska
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The public area of the hotel Union in Geiranger is outstanding for their views of the fjord and the old fashioned confort. Lots of couchs and chairs, a piano, fireplace and a terrace make this a perfect place to view the UNESCO designated fjord. This a historical, older hotel with some newer rooms over the convention center. Our first room was on the second floor facing the fjord but you really need to be on the third floor or higher if you want a great view. We had to look at the roof of the hotel with equipment. We didn't stay in this room long because when I tried to take a shower water poared all over the floor. I talked to several other people who had the same issue. The bathroom is old and the tube is actually a footed tub with a cover around it. When you turn on the water it goes between the wall and the tub. We requested a new room and we were moved immediately, no problem. This time we were at the back of the hotel, no view of the fjord but a brand new bathroom so we were happy. The windows opened so the room was cool. Service was good, breakfast buffet great and once again, you can't beat the views. The hotel sits at the top of the road going down to the harbor so you have to walk on a steep road side, no side walk until you get to the bottom. It only takes 10-15 minutes to walk down. Half way down you come to the old church. Lovely with a charming cemetary surrounding it. If you go to the back of the church you will see a black iron gate that leads to a steep path that leads down to the road. This short cut avoids some of the busy road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor or higher, facing the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercersburg, PA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a very relaxing, enjoyable place to stay. The room was immaculate and the fjord view is worth the price. You can sleep with the window open and listen to cascading water all night. The spa vs. pool is a little confusing. Basically, the heated outdoor pool is really a huge hot tub with massaging jets etal. We had hiked up a cliff on the fjord and the heated pool felt great. The indoor pool is for swimming. You can pay extra for the spa which has higher amenities and a pool sans kids, so we skipped it. My only complaint is the restaurant system for breakfast. They assign a table for specific room numbers based on whether you had dinner there the night before. There were hundreds of empty tables at breakfast but you have to hunt for one without a room card on it. Seems ridiculous! The hotel is pricey, but I'd stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Pay for the fjord view, highest floor available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Lovely room (with view to the fjord and balcony - no. 481). Everything was very relaxing and our two kids had a wonderful time in the outdoor pool while it was raining.

I just don't understand why they are charging extra kr. 250,- pp for the spa considering that the hotel is fairly expensive anyway.

And we were even further surprised when we the morning after arrival found out that the spa entrance fee is per day and not for the whole stay. Meaning that if you buy access to the spa at arrival it will only be valid the same day and they do not mention that!

When I complained about this to the reception they just answered "that's the way it is" and did nothing about it.

Too bad for a hotel like this. Our stay could have been flawless.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel is located a short walk up the road from the port area, convenient but less crowded during the day when the cruise ships come in. Our triple room on the top floor was a suite, spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom and a balcony. Unfortunately, we had no views as the windows looked over the main road.
Hotel has excellent breakfast buffet and two restaurants serving dinner, pleasant outside areas to enjoy the views, and indoor/outdoor pools that are quite nice.
Did not give the top rating for several reasons: room really needs an update (dated decor, one of the bed covers was burnt through, poor lighting in the bathroom, not enough outlets throughout); also service is very slow at the bar and in the restaurant, and there is constant confusion at breakfast because tables get reserved the night before (not sure why it is necessary with such a large dining room). At the price level, would expect these not be issues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

True 4 star hotel, with proper service and amenities. We had a room in a newer part with the view over the fjord and you can open big double window to be closer to the nature. Rooms are spacious and clean. Excellent diner buffet as well as the breakfast. Some minor issues like charging 250 Kr for SPA access or adding 150 Kr to room service bill. As I said these are minor because anyway this is not a cheap hotel, however view over the fjord is wort it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Spent 4 nights here as my partner and I got married in Geiranger. The staff are all extremely helpful and the service is excellent.

Food at the buffet is very good in general.

Staying in a hotel means you see Geiranger when it isn't overflowing with cruise ship tourists which makes for a much more comfortable and pleasant experience. No offense! Just less hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Union Geiranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Geiranger

Address: Geiranger Rd, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Union Geiranger 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Union Geiranger – a family-run hotel steeped in tradition and situated in the midst of a world-renowned, stunningly beautiful Norwegian fjord landscape. Owned by the Mjelva family and run by the fourth generation, the Hotel Union is a first-class hotel with every modern facility, and a long and proud history of excellence. For over one hundred years, guests have been coming here to stay – and to experience something very special. The hotel offers the very best of personal service, stylish and comfortable accommodation, and superior cuisine, with delicious dishes based on the finest local ingredients. Geiranger has some of the most outstanding natural beauty in the world, as well as a fascinating cultural history. The Hotel Union Bath & Spa is of international standard and offers wellbeing and relaxation in a unique atmosphere and setting. We know that it is the little things and personal touches that add up to create a truly memorable experience. We take pride in making your special wish come true. For us no wish is too small – and none too great.The hotel has 197 rooms and suites (all rooms at the hotel are non-smoking), a restaurant seating 400 guests and a conference room with seating for 400 persons. Our dance bar "Studebaker`n Show Arena has live music six days a week. The hotel has a large garden with a swimming pool, mini golf and a popular playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Union Geiranger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiranger Union Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Union Geiranger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.