We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Potential, But...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Geiranger

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Geiranger to your Saves list
Hotel Geiranger
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skansekaia, Geiranger, Stranda N-6216, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Israel
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Potential, But...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My feelings regarding this hotel are mixed:
On the one hand: friendly and welcoming receptionists, good location, rich breakfast.
On the other hand: old and not properly maintained rooms which need renovation. I stayed at the hotel for two nights, and there was not a maid visit after the first night :-(. The room was quite shabby with electrical wires carelessly lying on the floor, and It needs to be painted. Even the balcony, turned to the amazing fjord, wasn't an attractive and inviting place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    42
    35
    16
    8
See reviews for
18
54
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is pretty old but it's location is good. The souvenior shop connected to hotel has nice stuff although not cheap compared to other countries it is quite reasonable. The is a small mini mart nearby too. The cafe at the hotel as an open air corner that is pretty cool. You can sit there and have coffee while you enjoy the beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: Get a room at the newer wing, on top of the sovenier shop. You will have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The views from this hotel are incredible, but otherwise it's nothing fabulous. It's relatively dirty and run-down, but the staff was super friendly and accommodating. Norway itself is expensive so I can't comment on the price, but I wouldn't necessarily recommend it either way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here last 2010 and I came back again last August 2013.
I didn't find a lot of change but one thing for sure staff services are getting better.

Despite the hotel was fully booked because of high season period, system work
well.

Warm welcome by the reception and keys ready.

Well arranged restaurant for dinner and breakfast

Good clean room

I hope to come back again next time

Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Well I read the previous reviews and cannot disagree more! We stayed for two nights and were very happy with the staff(called to find out how to work the heater and they were at my door within three minutes). Restaurant food was excellent, wide variety of dishes with deserts and soup, excellent ! Room was clean and linens may be old, but they were certainly clean and presented very well! No bugs in room or in hallway, maybe the ungrateful ones should stay in there own tent and not exaggerate! This is a pristine location and should be enjoyed to the fullest. Some people are never happy, so ignore the bad reviews and give this hotel a try, you will be happy, yes there are tourist busses and some foreign tourists can be very rude and self serving but do not blame the restaurant for for there behavior. I am with a tour group of forty eight people and I never heard a complaint from anyone. Our room was spotless and the balcony was most enjoyable, wait staff in restaurant was fantastic, they had dirty plates picked up immediately and politeness was abundant! Parking not a problem and free WIFI, could not have been happier.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a night to celebrate a family members birthday. The room we got was not very clean and had a insect infestation. Dirty linens with gods knows what kinds of stains on them. We submitted a complaint and the staff promised to take care of the problem. In the evening when returning to the room nothing had been done. In addition to that the service was overall bad. Impolite Swedish waiters and staff. Giving a not very welcoming feeling. Chasing people away from the restaurant. Rolling eyes and looking at you like an idiot when asked questions. The restaurant is another story. Dirty tablecloths. The food in the buffet was not good and some of the things where just god awful. This can not be blamed on not being in use with Norwegian food since I myself am Norwegian. In addition two bus loads of tourists arrived in the restaurant and went through the buffet like a hurricane, making a huge mess and treating the different dishes in most unhygienic manners. All in all a huge disappointment!! This hotel should have had max one star! If you can, do stay away from there!

Room Tip: Try another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The breakfast buffet and dinner were great! The view from our room amazing. The rooms should be refreshed, carpets, curtains look and feel old. Comparing to other hotels in the area I think it is worth it's value unless if it is fully booked and really crowded when you visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Geiranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geiranger

Address: Skansekaia, Geiranger, Stranda N-6216, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Geiranger 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Geiranger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Geiranger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.