We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Utsikten

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Utsikten to your Saves list
Villa Utsikten
6216 Geiranger, Geiranger, Stranda, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great service, great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stayed 2 nights after tourist high-season so no crowds. Room not fancy but had great views of the fjord. A taxi or driving is needed to reach the hotel high above the fjord. Look for a blue "Utsikten 500m" sign if driving up and it will be on a corner (also a stone monument & Norwegian flag on a viewing platform opposite) with parking on the lower side of the hotel. Small, boutique-style hotel so if you want a big touristy place then stay down near where the cruise ships dock. Restaurant's fixed 3-course dinners were superb, though not cheap. But then everything in Norway is expensive. Splurged both nights & both dinners were great when compared to other's experienced so far. Great staff both in handling questions at the front desk & working the restaurant at night (same people). Provided great tips for long day hikes to the valley and peaks above the hotel with trail-head just down the road. Tiring hike but fabulous view of the fjord from 1300m if you're up to it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
38
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
berkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Booked the summer special package of bed, breakfast and evening meal for two nights. Welcome was very warm, food excellent and service very attentive.
The real bonus for our trip was the view from our room (205) of the fjord - quite spectacular. The rooms themselves are small and simply furnished.
The hotel location outside the village suited us well as we enjoyed completing a few of the local walks during our stay and because Geiranger itself is quiet busy when cruise liner passengers have disembarked.
Would certainly use this hotel if we visited Geiranger again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed at Villa Utsikten for one night. The service was simply amazing! Nothing was too much trouble!! They helped us plan our next few days assisting us with every detail.

The view from the hotel is quie stunning!! And the Norwigian buffet breakfast was delicious!

We booked in the last minute and got a room in the Annexe - which was very good value, however the walls are thin and we did hear noise above us.

All in all one of the most special nights we enjoyed in Norway!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed at this hotel only for one night with my friend. The hotel has a very strategic location in the breathtaking Geiranger fjord. The hotel staff are very attentive, friendly and helpful. The food cannot be described - you should try yourselves, otherwise you will regret (even if you do not stay there, you should reserve a table to try the food).

When you stay at the hotel, please spend extra to stay in a room with the fjord view - it is really worth it...

One caution - we arrived to the fjord by boat (Hurtigruten). As the hotel is not easily reachable from the harbour, we had to take a taxi. There was one taxi with a sign "Hotel Union" but the taxi driver "Inga" told us that she could give us a ride... For a distance less than 10 km, we paid 200 Norwegian KR -however, we only paid 80 NKR on the return (the reception called a taxi on our way back). We were really angry at our Inga driver and wanted to share this bad experience with you... Call a "proper" taxi, do not rely on another hotel's taxi...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

4 days with the friendly and helpful team at Hotell Utsikten was one of the best family vacations we have ever taken. Most people stay only 1-2 nights but we found so much to do there 4 days seemed not enough - although Norway is very expensive! The location is breathtaking, truly one of the world's greatest views. The hotel staff were so friendly we felt at home when we walked in after our 2.5hr journey from Ålesund (also worth a visit). The Swedish chef surprised us every night with another great fish meal which suited both adults and our children. Even the wine list was small but well composed. The music in the lounge and the excellent coffee ticked all our boxes for a great hotel, 5 stars, as our 8-year old rated it! And there is no TV in the hotel rooms just the view!
We hiked the mountains on the expert advice of the hotel team and even kayaked around the fjord. A wonderful hotel and amazing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed here for two nights and although the weather wasn't as nice as it had been, the views from our room were amazing. Definitley ask for a room with a fjord view. The rooms were nice, but lacked a mirror (a common thing in Norway it appears!) and there was only one in bathroom. You could request a hairdryer from reception. Beds super comfy! Expensive but typical of Norway prices - so ok value for money when taking that into account. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Best hotel in Norway, I would say. Small, professional, beautiful located, best service and brilliant food. Enjoy the sunset of Geiranger Fjord on top of the mountain in this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Utsikten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Utsikten

Address: 6216 Geiranger, Geiranger, Stranda, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Utsikten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Utsikten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.