We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Establishment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Utsikten

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Utsikten to your Saves list
Villa Utsikten
6216 Geiranger, Geiranger, Stranda, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Nova Scotia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

A bit of an upscale establishment, with a long and interesting history. Very nice staff, very clean and comfortable. Terrific views looking down into the fjord. We arrived very late, but were still able to get a nice meal in the restaurant. Well-located for getting to the ferries for a trip into the fjord.
A minor item on the downside: it would have been nice if the hotel had a lift.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
38
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay at this hotel after visiting another classic Norway hotel in Molde, and boy was this hotel nothing like our expectations. We booked and paid extra for a fjord view going for a double room with seating area. The hotel boast that it has 20 double rooms this is a slight exaggeration, the room at best was no bigger than a single room and the seating area was two chairs and a small table squeezed in between the bed and the window , approx 6 inches from our bed. The bathroom was not much bigger than a cupboard and when you used the soap dispenser it dripped onto the toilet. There was no way that it could house two people in at once, it was a case of one in one out. The room was freezing when we arrived which was mid June, I understand that the hotel does not re-open for the summer season until the end of May, my suggestion is, if you are planning of visiting this hotel go in July or August, as at least by then it might have heated up. The public areas are also cold with the only form of heating being in the restaurant, so if you just want a coffee, take a coat.
The restaurant is also over priced and was below average to say the least. We ate here one night and as it was a set menu, the choice was very poor . There was one choice for starter, main and dessert, with the only alternative given was a burger or a bowl of pasta. We had smoked salmon lamb cutlets and a cold melon soup for dessert, and this cost 525 kr each and did not include drinks, even by Norway prices this was over priced. The hotel is very dated and needs upgrading. We were traveling with an elderly guest and there is no lift in this hotel and if we had not been with her, she would have had to carry her case up 3 floors. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and once again it was freezing with a poor selection of meats and fruit.
The hotels can charge it's premium prices not on the standard of the hotel or quality of its facilities and restaurant, but purely on the fact that it has got an amazing view.
We were really disappointed by this hotel and will certainly not be visiting it any time soon.
Over priced, poor quality and not what you would expect from what is supposed to be a premier hotel in a lovely location.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

A small, friendly hotel. Room small, bathroom tiny, furnishings a bit dated. View AMAZING from the big picture window. If you’re not in a fjordside room you really miss out. Great location for walks in the area, there are many to choose from (most of them start from at least this far out of town) and for avoiding the hordes of cruiseshippers that arrive most days, as you are 4km from ‘central’ Geiranger. Not so great if you don’t have a car as a taxi was around £18 one way. Staff friendly and helpful with information bookings etc. Very good breakfast buffet. Westeras restaurant up at the farm was a complete find, as it was a 10 minute walk away, we had a lovely dinner and a mid-walk coffee there. The hotel does serve lunch and dinner but we didn’t try it. Active Geiranger kayaking were a little slow first thing in the morning but the boss was very nice and we had a great paddle up the fjord. Overall this hotel is a great location for walkers and far from the maddening crowds.

Room Tip: Fjord view room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Together with American relatives we stayed one night at this hotel. The view from the hotel, even from the rooms, is spectacular on a clear day. You can see the whole area around Geiranger, including the fjord. Breakfast was really good, and they have a small coffee bar as well. Some porches around the hotel makes it possible to enjoy the view whenever you want.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Villa Utsikten has the very best view over Geiranger. We were traveling around in Norway with Greek friends, and payed a little extra to get rooms with a view. It was well worth it. The view from the room, even from the toilet, is overwhelming and extraordinary. We were very lucky with the weather, and were able to enjoy the different light during the day and the sunset in the evening. It is a relatively small hotel with a homely, unique and historical atmosphere and a good breakfast. The rooms are not very big, but comfortable and okay. We stayed for two nights and found the rooms convenient. We had a light and good meal in the lounge the first night. The dinner menu looked very good, but we found it too expensive to choose. It is different nice hiking routes to choose leaving from the hotel.The staff was very friendly and service-minded. Even if it is a rather long walk down to Geiranger, we would choose to stay here next time too.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you visit this part of Norway you MUST spend a night or two in Hotel Utsikten. The view from you hotel room is stunning. You won't find it better anywhere.
Breakfast is good. Dinner is good but expensive. Instead (for dinner) walk to the nearby 'Restaurant Westerås' where you get better food, better service in a wonderful old barn for 1/4 of the price.

Room Tip: You MUST take a room with view towards the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herzliya
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

the hotel is not big, and so is the double room as well. Yet, it is very convenient, if you don't mind the lack of storage space (a common problem in Norway hotels). If you plan a short stay, this should not be a problem. The view from the room is even more beautiful then expected. You can have a light meal in the lounge, very good and fairly priced in Norwegian terms. Dinner is very expensive, so we took a short drive to "grande hotel" and ate there. Staff very helpful. Breakfast was very good. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with fjord view, but remember that it is on the road. Being there on the last week of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Utsikten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Utsikten

Address: 6216 Geiranger, Geiranger, Stranda, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Utsikten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Utsikten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.