We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location for relaxing holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa il Poggio

Save Saved
You added Villa il Poggio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa il Poggio
Via del Poggio, 316, 53048 Sinalunga, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€79 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Sinalunga
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location for relaxing holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent five wonderful days in Villa il Poggio and loved every minute! Elisabetta was really helpful with advising us about where to go during the day and offered great local restaurant suggestions. The villa is full of Tuscan charm and was so much nicer than staying in a hotel! We had the pool to ourselves for most of our stay and the weather was glorious.
You definitely need a car if you are staying here- exploring the local towns of Pienza, Montepulciano and Cortona was fabulous and SO much less touristy than Siena and Florence. I would definitely choose to visit these smaller towns than the bigger towns and cities - much more charming and felt like "authentic Tuscany".
Only 2-2hr30 from Pisa airport to Sinalunga,
Superb villa, location and holiday and I would go back in a heart beat!

Room Tip: We had the green room which was beautiful with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    19
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We travelled to Tuscany by train and stayed for four nights at Villa Poggio. Elisabetta made us feel very much at home and picked us up on more than one occasion from the railway station at Sinalunga just over 1km away. She also kindly drove us to Montepulciano which was beckoning us in the distance as we looked out of the living room windows across the Tuscan countryside. The villa is full of character and the rooms were very comfortable. We hired a car for the last two days of our stay which enabled us to see more of this beautiful land. Although the weather was uncharacteristically cool during our stay, we are indebted to Elisabetta for more than making up for this with her warm hospitality during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for six nights at this beautiful peaceful villa. The villa was clean and furnished with antiques, it smelled of polish and was obviously well looked after and loved.
As previously stated Elisabetta was a warm host and helped us plan our days and evenings.
I would recommend going to Pienza and Montepulciano as they are authentic beautiful towns and not too busy with visitors.
We had a wine tasting menu at a cantina run by the Gattavecchi family in Montepulciano it was amazing.
I would also recommend the natural sulphur baths at Bagno Vignoni as a perfect way to rest weary legs after a day sight seeing.
We did venture as far as Florence and Siena which were beautiful but quite busy.
The town of Sina lunga was close by within walking distance up the hill and it was worth the walk.
Restaurants to recommend would be Fornicino in Guazzino, Forcillo in Sina lunga and 13 Gobbi at Montefollonico.
This is a very beautiful area to visit and I would recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laudenbach, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Wonderful, peaceful Tuscan villa in a wonderful garden with view to Montepulciano over the Tuscan landscape and a very nice host (Elisabetta). The villa is a really special place for people who want to feel the Tuscan way of life with the villa full of antiques, a very nice pool, horses, dogs (Zhoe, Cleo and Wilma) and cats. Nice comfortable rooms, breakfast and perfect recommendations from Elisabetta for dinner and where to go. We had wonderful days and will come back. Thanks Elisabetta!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Beautiful, serene setting. Comfortable accommodation full of charm and history. Very friendly and helpful host (Elisabetta). Each day started with a perfect breakfast of fresh coffee, fruit, honey, bread and various cheeses prepared by Elisabetta. The villa is perfectly located to explore the nearby historic sites and vineyards. If you're looking to relax, soak up the Tuscan charm and see one of the most beautiful parts of Italy at a reasonable price - (our 6 nights star worked out at less than EUR80 a night!) Villa il Poggio is perfect. Thank you Elisabetta - we'll be back:)

Don't forget to check out Furcillo's restaurant in Sinalunga!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I visited this magnificent place in October, and spent there only 1 night. But for me it was one of the most memorable part of my trip, and since then I never stopped dreaming to return there.
This place is great in many respects, but main values personally for me are: 1) phenomenal owner of the villa - Elisabetta! Thank you again for your outstanding hospitality, very kind attitude and of course breakfasts! 2) 'musem' atmosphere of the villa and very unique charm of surroundings (with pool, stable, etc.) 3) great starting point to discover country side of Tuscany (during any time of year). But don't repeat my mistakes, come by car! Meanwhile you also can take some mountain bikes from Elisabetta. I assure you it's a great way to enjoy beauty of countryside as well.
I so much fell in love with this unique place, that definitely want to stay there some more time in near future, to live those beautiful emotions again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Elisabetta is wonderful, and her place is absolutely charming. We stayed here for the first night of our honeymoon in September. The countryside is beautiful and quiet. Her villa is refreshingly authentic and comfortable. Elisabetta makes the best Italian coffee we had in the north or the south!

We had such a relaxing, peaceful stay here, we are certain to be back for a more extended stay next time. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa il Poggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggio

Address: Via del Poggio, 316, 53048 Sinalunga, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sinalunga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Sinalunga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To spend time at Villa Il Poggio, in the heart of Tuscany, is to discover one's very roots. The ties with the past have never been cut. It can be felt in every wall of the villa, which, from its hilltop position, has dominated the surrounding countryside since the thirteenth century. Villa Il Poggio is proud and centuries old like the cypress trees that surround it. You arrive as a guest and leave as a friend, with a strong desire to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Villa il Poggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Poggio
Villa Il Poggio Sinalunga, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa il Poggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.