We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Sweet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa il Poggio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa il Poggio to your Saves list
Villa il Poggio
Via del Poggio, 316, 53048, Sinalunga, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sinalunga
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and Sweet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent 2 days in villa il poggio during our 14 days honeymoon in Italy, and think it is the best place we stay.
Villa il poggio Just stands beside the beautiful Tuscany area but it is also very convenient to go to the surrounded small town.You an see from the map that the villa is at the center between Seina . Pienza and Cortona.We visited these small town during our Tuscany journey. (I like Piena best , dont miss it)
This villa give me a warm and peaceful feeling,and you can find many interesting furniture or accessory in the bedroom . living room even kitchen.we spent a lot of time photo here and there.
Elisabetta, the owner, is avery kind and friendly.She gave us a lot information and suggestion , like the small town Montepulcaino. She also show us her stable , and this is our first time to see a real stable.
There is a little pity that Tuscany was that "green" in late September , the view wasnt as beautiful as pictures. We will come back again and find the most beautiful Tuscany in summer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Takeshi0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We got married in Siena and spent two glorious weeks at Villa il Poggio. The owner, Elisabetta Perez, is charming and delightful. She is a fountain of knowledge with where to go and what to see. If you are looking for a place off the beaten path but yet close enough to enjoy all the sites then Villa Poggio should be at the top of your list.
The apartment, Geranium, was authentic and charming. Clean and tidy with a delighftul patio area to sit and relax and enjoy our coffee and meals. The kitchen is well stocked with cooking equipment, the bedrooms are comfortable and roomy, the bathrooms are large and the shower's water pressure was super.
The views by the pool are breathtaking. The pool was very clean with lovely shade umbrellas and patio tables to relax by.
One always wonders, well I do anyway, if the pictures you see online will live up to reality. Well, Villa Poggio does! In fact, reality is better. We loved every single moment there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarriedinTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you want to spend a few days in authentic aristocrat Tuscany villa and to find little villages and castles in the area- Villa il Poggio is your place! This marvelous villa is situated in quiet and picturesque village Sinalunga (it is very close to Siena and takes 1 hour with car to Florence). The stay in Villa il Poggio will give you the possibility to discover the breathtaking views of Val d’Orcia- medieval castles, sunny rolling hills, isolated hilltop towns, charming farmhouses and isolated rural homes, avenues of cypresses, rows of vineyards, olive groves, and golden-brown wheat fields (do not miss to visit Pienza, Montalchino and Montepulchiano). Elisabetta- the queen of Villa il Poggio- is perfect guide and charming host- in the very beginning of the day you can enjoy her homemade jams and breakfasts with aromatic Italian coffee. The little hosts of the Villa il Poggio are few dogs- Wilma, Cleo and Monstressa Zoe (our favorite!), cats and very beautiful horses.There is a swimming pool in the garden of Villa il Poggio –so, you can spend one lazy day around it! The decision is made- we will come back the next summer- molte grazie Elisabetta! Magda & Nathalia

Room Tip: We were in the Yellow Room- very elegant and cozy room with famous ceiling and floor (you can see s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalia_Valkoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I am very particular about where I stay. Accommodation marks the overall experience of every holiday. So when we arrived in the late evening I was a bit sceptical about what it would be like...
The villa is very old and walking through it was like entering a museum. I was in awe. The next morning I woke up and we strolled through the grounds we were so giddy about how beautiful the views of the property were. Truly stunning! Our room was very large and decorated in a traditional way but extremely clean. Lying in bed you can see the old beams of the house. There is so much character to this villa. We stayed one extra day. Elisabetta was so interesting to meet and provided us all our travel information with much enthusiasm and patience. Leaving made us feel very nostalgic.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelots1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spend a week in this villa and it was wonderful! The house is very old and decorated beautifully with old furniture. The room Verde has beautiful views over the landscape and consists actually of two rooms and a bathroom. The place is run by Elisabetta, who is a great host. She wants to make it perfect, and it is. Her breakfast is excellent, with a huge fruit salad, homemade cake, very good cheeses, fruit juice, etc. She also helps to point out places of interest if you ask her (churches, landscapes, etc.) and good places to eat (Forcillo, Fornacino, all close to the villa). The villa is located very convenient. Many lovely villages are within half an hour by car (Cortona, Arezzo, Montepulciano, Pienza, Siena) and Florence takes an hour. De area is sooo beautiful, a roundtrip by car through the hills (in Val d'Orcia for example) or by bike is a must-do.
The garden of the villa and the swimming pool are also wonderful.
We really want to go back! We really really really recommend this place.
Ewald & Marije

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Both the flat we got and the garden corresponded well to the pictures we had seen. Big kitchen, little living-room, comfortable bathroom. All rooms furnished and equipped with good taste. The house is really old, a couple of hundred years old for certain. This was a place where we really enjoyed staying in during the hottest hours of this month of july: Flat stayed cool and the pool was confortable and very clean. The bed was maybe a little bit hard, but ok. The owner has cats and dogs and a stall for horses in the other end of the estate. Possibility to grill in the garden for the guests. Center of town is 15 min walk away and Sinalunga is not a tourist town, which was actually nice in my opinion. We both agreed that we would like staying there again and that we both found this place to be worth a strong recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fredrik g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We drived in North Italy for a month, now as we are at the end of our trip I can say this was the best place we have stayed in this trip. We headed from Liguria to Tuscany, I was very sad to leave sea side and go inland, but my partner insisted that we have to go. I am so glad we did, I enjoyed Tuscany as a result of staying in il Poggio.

Villa -Very old building with big garden, overall feeling is rustic, we had our own alfresco sitting area with umbrella in front of flat for morning breakfast.Garden is looked after enough, even garden has rustic feeling. There is a little path going to horse stable in the same estate. Garden is big, there are high trees which makes real shade when the sun is strong.

Flat- very specious for 2 people, kitchen has full equipment for your need of cooking. we were tired of eating out by then we enjoyed some nights of cooking at home. There is barbeque in the garden we used. Bedroom was dark but as some other people mentioned this kept the flat cool, it is a stone building it was cool through the day.

Swimingpool - I dont like myself swimingpools as they feel artifical, but I have enjoyed staying around swimingpool as it is in the garden, partly surrounded with trees, over looking to Tuscany hills. Mostly not many guests around the pool. Clean, well looked after...

Town - Sinalunga is not a turisty town, As a result instead of wine shops , you have local bakery, butcher, food shop as you would get in ordinary town. Location of town is excelent, 30 min to 1 hour drive you reach many diffirent pretty towns, Siena, Pienza, Cortona, Montepulciano etc...
Villa is just end of the town, close enough to walk to town, but feels outside once you enter the estate.

We would like to go back to il Poggio for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cerenimo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinalunga
0.8 mi away
Locanda dell'Amorosa
Locanda dell'Amorosa
#1 of 5 in Sinalunga
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
2.6 mi away
Albergo la Foresteria
Albergo la Foresteria
#2 of 5 in Sinalunga
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santorotto
Hotel Santorotto
#5 of 5 in Sinalunga
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
La Locanda di Montisi
La Locanda di Montisi
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Apogeo
Hotel Apogeo
#1 of 1 in Bettolle
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
8.4 mi away
La Locanda del Castello
La Locanda del Castello
#2 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Poggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Poggio

Address: Via del Poggio, 316, 53048, Sinalunga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sinalunga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sinalunga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To spend time at Villa Il Poggio, in the heart of Tuscany, is to discover one's very roots. The ties with the past have never been cut. It can be felt in every wall of the villa, which, from its hilltop position, has dominated the surrounding countryside since the thirteenth century. Villa Il Poggio is proud and centuries old like the cypress trees that surround it. You arrive as a guest and leave as a friend, with a strong desire to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa il Poggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Poggio
Villa Il Poggio Sinalunga, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing