We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added Villa Scopetello to your Saves list.
Villa Scopetello Award winning in 2014!
Villa Scopetello Award winning in 2014!
Villa Scopetello Award winning in 2014!
The Swimming pool
Swimming pool
Tennis court
Terrace in front of the Villa
Sinalunga
|
Rental Home – 
12 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 23

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brendan B
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience, Amazing People, Amazing Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in Villa Scopetello with my large extended family of 15 (11 adults, 4 yourng children) in July 2012. We had the whole Villa, meaning both the upstairs and downstairs. As a town, Sinalunga is fairly centrally located in Tuscany if you wish to travel by autombile to almost anywhere in tuscany. Each morning our group would disperse to smaller groups and make day trips (sometimes overnight) to other towns / cities and typically be home in time for a nice dinner as a family.

Sonja and Michael are extremely gracious hosts. They will plan absolutely anything for you and WILL NOT STEER YOU WRONG. Michael happened to know of a group of German tourists in the area and tried to set up a soccer (football) match between our group and theirs. In the end, the schedules didn't work out, but the point is they are always looking for way to enhance your experience. Michael also gave us a guided tour of the Palio di Siena. If you have the opportunity, do not miss out on that. He is an expert.

The Villa itself is unreal. My family, with a strong love of food, was partial to the two kitchens. We spent a lot of time cooking and enjoying eachothers company over meals. We ate meals in a different part of the property every night. By the pool, under the olive trees, overlooking the sunflower field, etc. The beauty never ends. Don't miss out on the opportunity for Sonja to cook for you. She is an expert around the kitchen. I highly recommend a pizza night in the ancient brick oven as well!

We travelled with 4 children, ages 6 and younger. There is certainly plenty for the kids on the property. For starters, the pool and tennis court are a great way for the kids to unwind after the adults drag them around tuscany exploring cities and wine. Sonja is always willing to bring the kids around to see the chickens (or newborn chickies if your lucky) and horses. Or just talk a walk through the nearby Sunflower field and vineyard. Atheltic travelers can run through the vineyards up to the clocktower as well. I suggest running until you get lost, and then running on, if you are adventurous.

I'm loving writing this review for Sonja and Michael whom we regularly keep in contact with and consider friends. I'm reliving my vacation as I sit here! I'm probably forgetting a bunch of stuff, but please take my word for it, Villa Scopetello is your way to an Amazing Tuscan experience.

Oh yeah....as Michael and Sonja about meeting the old boy's for a wine tour.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The gorgeous setting.
Liked least: There is nothing not to love
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
James B
Oceanside, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best vacation ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Can't say enough nice things about this place.
Location in Sinalunga is perfect: within an hours drive of anywhere in Tuscany.
Rome is a little over 2 hours drive.
Home is magnificent--800 years old-- but with all the modern conveniences.
11 bedrooms. Sleeps 22. Magnificent views of the Tuscan countryside.
On 14 acres of beautiful gently rolling hills? Lovely pool and tennis court. Chickens for fresh eggs. Couple of horses. Garden full of fresh vegetables.
Hosts Sonja and Michael are the best part. Both speak perfect English and know everything about the area. They will provide as much or as little service as you require. If you want them to cook a meal, they will. If you want housekeeping services, they will take care of it. As much or as little as you need.
We were a family of 15: my wife and I, 5 children, spouses and grandchildren 2 to 6 years old. There was something there for each of us.
Michael took a group of us to Siena to see the Palio (horse race). Sonja and Michael arranged for a day long vineyard tour, including transportation and a beautiful lunch at a winery. Whatever you need, they can provide it.
Villa Scopetello was the most relaxing, enjoyable vacation we have ever had. My wife and I are returning with friends in a few months for our third visit and look forward to many more.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Beauty of the property.
Liked least: That I couldn't stay longer.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jacopo G
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Compleanno indimenticabile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
Google Translation

Abbiamo trascorso un fine settimana per festeggiare un compleanno ed è stato tutto perfetto.
Padroni di casa disponibilissimi e gentilissimi. Casa spaziosa e pulita, non potevamo chiedere di meglio. consigliatissimo per passare alcuni giorni in compagnia di amici.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$548
/
Night
Week
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Sonja Fick
Speaks English
Listed since : Apr 2012
Calendar Updated: 10 days ago
Note: Response rate information for this owner is unavailable.
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing