We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel in a gorgeous location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Terme 1, 53040 San Casciano dei Bagni, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
new york city
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel in a gorgeous location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at this property with my extended family for a long weekend and had a wonderful stay.
I would not recommend this for young children as there is really nothing to do but disturb adults and couples who are trying to relax.. The setting is perfect and the spa is clean and quiet. We ventured into the town and had dinner at a lovely little restaurant that was much more our speed than the fancy hotel restaurant. The rooms are perfectly nice but not what you would expect for the price. I loved sitting at the pool and taking in the breathtaking views , we also loved having breakfast on the patio. The staff is really lovely and helpful and overall we had a wonderful trip. I would not advise going here unless you want to take full advantage of the spa.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonello D, Direttore generale at Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Maddeline,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at Fonteverde Tuscan Spa Resort .
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your Stay , the services and small village of San Casciano dei Bagni.
We do sincerely hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Italy.

Best Regards
Antonello Del Regno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    105
    30
    15
    3
See reviews for
75
267
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We ended off 7 days in Italy (one in Rome, 5 in a villa in Cortona for a friends wedding) with a stay at the Fonteverde on the way back down to Rome airport and we were so incredibly pleased we did this! The hotel was luxurious and the jewel in its crown was the Spa. Our package didn't include the use of the thermal massage pool so we paid 20 euros each to go in but it was certainly worth it (infinity, jets, amazing view of the Tuscan hills whilst relaxing in an outdoor jacuzzi) and the top pool (that you don't pay for) is like a bath and again is infinity. Towels and robes provided as standard. The service was great and everyone was friendly and helpful. We had a privilege room (one up from the basic) and I'm not sure what we paid for extra as it was like a normal size room..... The breakfast was very european (as we were in Europe) but I'm sure it could have been a bit better for the price of the room (my only 2 very minor gripes) We ate in the Federico 1 restaurant and it was a lovely meal and we ended the evening with cocktails looking out over the Tuscan hills with some lovely piano in the background.

It was an expensive one night, but the upkeep of the hotel and specifically the spa offering is obviously a big part of this and we didn't mind paying as we left recharged and invigorated!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonello D, Direttore generale at Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your words are music for our ears.

Thank you for your fantastic review and a greeting from all of us form Fonteverde a "Tuscan heaven".

Best Regards
Antonello Del Regno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have been touched by the beauty of that place and the big Italian Heart of all the staff. thanks a lot to Guglielmo, Fabio, Giuseppe from the restaurant service. The hotel is very nice , the spa area also very clean, very nice. Elisa from the Spa , the cosmetologist was of great help. And special thank you goes to Silvano , the guide who cooperates with the hotel. He has a profound knowledge of the whole region, will help you with Any question. A perfect guide, with big patience , and big big heart . Wud recommend anyone going there to make a tour with him. Wud certainly go back , thank a lot for creating such a great place . Teresa

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonello D, Direttore generale at Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Lilian ,

thank you for you wonderfull review, it will be a pleasure to share your word with all my staff.

A greeting from all of us and I hope see you soon in Fonteverde.

Best Regards
Antonello Del Regno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We would like to thank the whole staff of this hotel on behalf of our family for the wonderful arrangement of our rest and for very warm welcome.
We are especially grateful to managers of the restaurants and the receptionists. The feeling of home hospitality and kindness didn't leave us during the entire stay.
We are happy, that we chose this hotel. And we hope to return soon.
We will definitely recommend Fonteverde hotel.
Thanks and warm regards.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonello D, Direttore generale at Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review. It is with immense pleasure that I hear your word about our Spa Resort and our Team. I will be sure to share your lovely words with all my wonderful team and I sincerely hope to have you again soon as our Guest.

Best Regards,

Antonello Del Regno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We really enjoyed the location and the corteous, friendly personnel at Fonteverde, as well as the quality of the thermal bath facilities (love the easy access to fresh towels!). However, having experienced other similar resorts, we found the value okay because of the rather ordinary room (we had a 'privilege room'); the very good, but not outstanding quality and choice of food at breakfast; the small details that make a big difference such as access to pool area with hydro-massage needs to be paid separately, excessive minibar prices (we had one Coke and 2 small bottles of water and were charged 22 euros at checkout), there was no minibar price list in the room, etc. Overall, a great (but not best) property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonello D, Direttore generale at Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing this review about your stay at Fonteverde and thank you for your beautiful word about out staff but at same time I am sorry to read that your stay did not meet all your expections.

You comment is extremely important to us to improve our Spa Resort and our Service.

Please do come back. And when you do, upon booking send me a private message. We shall be most glad to give you my personal welcome back.

Best Regards
Antonello Del Regno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at Fonteverde during our first ever trip to Italy and cannot say enough about how this hotel made our week in Tuscany very special. Throughout our entire stay we were made to feel like nothing was ever too much trouble - the service from all of the staff was impeccable.
The swimming pool and spa are incredible and it was lovely to be relaxing by the pool looking out onto the Tuscan hills. Nearby restaurants were very good as wanted to explore the area and the hotel bar gave us a great base for pre and post dinner drinks. Although I have stayed in much more luxurious hotel rooms, the overall experience of this hotel far outweighed the slightly dated hotel room. Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonello D, Direttore generale at Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing this review about your stay at Fonteverde.
Behind every detail there is a lot of hard work and dedication. So thank you for taking notice.
We are glad to inform you that we are planning tha maintenance work for the room to make them more confortable.
We do sincerely hope to have you as our guest on your next holiday to Italy.

Best Regards
Antonello Del Regno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a wonderful resert on Tuscany with the most caring and attentive Service. We stayed three days for a Long Weekend and were wonderfully treated by all teh Hotel staff. The reception was warm and welcoming and very attentivie to our wishes. We received a wonderful table at the Restaurant with a wonderful view over the tuscan scenery. The spa is big and Service is nice. We can only sugget a stay at this wodnerful tuscan resert. The Service is fantastic.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites have a great view and a wonderful balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonello D, Direttore generale at Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing this review about your stay at Fonteverde
I am glad to see that you had the chance to appreciate the unique style and high standards of our Spa Resort.
We do sincerely hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Italy : we would love you to consider this as your home in italy.

Best Regards

Antonello Del Regno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa

Address: Localita Terme 1, 53040 San Casciano dei Bagni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Casciano dei Bagni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Casciano dei Bagni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonteverde is an elegant 5-star resort situated in San Casciano dei Bagni, an ancient village in the Val d’Orcia, which has always been famous for the age-old springs gushing forth thermal waters rich in minerals. The hotel complex is affiliated with "The Leading Small Hotels of the World," a prestigious luxury hotel brand, and alongside it is a fine thermal spa, which boasts the "Leading Spa" brand. The resort comprises 65 rooms, 9 junior suites and 4 suites with terraces over-looking the superb Tuscan countryside. The atmosphere is reminiscent of a Tuscan palace in former times, with quality furnishings and detailed decoration. Enjoy the natural beauty of the surrounding Val d’Orcia park and admire the rolling hills and scenic setting punctuated by olive trees and vineyards. The hotel's spa is a multifunctional complex with the most up-to-date thermal treatments, a holistic centre and beauty centre. Signature treatments include the ancient Mediterranean spa, ayurvedic massage, reflexology and therapeutic Dhara. In addition, there are eight pools, ideal for relaxation after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonteverde Tuscan Hotel San Casciano Dei Bagni
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort And Spa
Fonteverde Natural Hotel
Hotel Fonteverde Natural
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa Italy/San Casciano Dei Bagni, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.