We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Tuscan beauty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Terme 1, 53040 San Casciano dei Bagni, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing Tuscan beauty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a very relaxing spa weekend here with excellent service, facilities, food, and treatments. The thermal pools are clean and well-designed, and I can't say enough about how wonderful the view is from the hotel guests' infinity pool, or how relaxed I felt emerging from the thermal waterfall or a massage (ask for Marco)! The only drawbacks were our smallish room, where the housekeeping staff initially forgot to put shampoo, etc. when we arrived, and the steep price!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    91
    27
    14
    3
See reviews for
66
233
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This thermal resort goes back to House of Medici: the old building was built by Grand Duke Ferdinando I at the beginning of XVII Century. This old building has been restaured and envelops the reception and a gourmet restaurant at the ground floor, while the upper floors has few suites that overlook at the southern Val D'Orcia hills. New building has been added to increase rooms availability. Hot water springs, known since the Etruscans' time, became renowned during the Middle Age when the borough of San Casciano was founded. Place is in the southern part of the Val 'D'Orcia, Province of Siena, not far away from attractive towns as Orvieto, Pienza, Montepulciano, Citta' della Pieve and more. The surrounding are covered by wonderful forests (beeches, oaks, chestnut trees) with castles sown over the hills. Service is very professionals, rooms are good, baked goods are delicious and made fresh every day for breakfast and for dinner. Restaurant offers a large choices revisited menu of the Tuscany tradition, besides daily chef's proposals. Excellent wines are in the list. Natural waters spring out at about 38 degrees Celsius: it is a great joy to take baths all day around but at sunset is amazing ! Wellness centre offers 10's of treatments by skilled/professional personnel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you're looking for a good place to relax while visiting Tuscany, this is the place to go.

It was a bit difficult to find this place with the GPS we were using, but the town is so small it's easy to find.

The grounds of the resort are immaculate. When the gate opened from the main road, you could see the century-old main building surrounded by trees and flowers. The staff who welcomed us were warm and friendly, and they spoke English very well. Free parking is available onsite.

We were in the newer building at the end of the hall and had a great view of the Tuscan landscape. The room was a bit small. The bed was a bit hard (but after visiting other Italian hotels, all the beds were just as hard). The room had a safe, TV with channels in different languages, and complimentary bottles of water. We also had a plate of fresh, colorful fruit and a bag of biscotti. The bellboy was also nice enough to get us the appropriate sized house slippers and robes, which can be worn all over the resort, including breakfast.

Breakfast was included, and was served by the bar in a private dining room. It was a good continental breakfast with made to order eggs (you have to ask). Service was great here.

The spa is what makes this place amazing. The facilities are very clean, and there are so many options to choose from. Because we were staying in the hotel, the use of the pools was free, along with a few spa treatments (the sauna, steam room, etc.). There are eight pools, I think, with different temperatures of water, so there is a spot for everyone.

We also took part in the complimentary walking tour at 8:30AM with a guide that took us to the old town and back. It was a nice walk that took about an hour and covered 3 kilometers.

The only complaint I had about this place is that the toiletries in the bathroom were cheap for this type of place. Other than that, I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a wonderful resort and spa near Chiusi, Italy. Very professional staff. Rooms are small but very nice. The spa and water features are great. I highly recommend this place. The lunch is terribly overpriced (35 euros per person), but otherwise this place was a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in Montepulciano and day tripped here. This is a perfect Tuscan excursion. You get the thermal baths which are very large and open. There are several spots where water is rushing in through the pipes. You can get a robust water jet massage by standing under them. There is also a waterfall that you can position yourself under. I would definitely go through the effort of arranging a spa treatment (effort because I don't speak Italian and the people that received us at the front don't speak much English), but that's what foreign travel is about! We didn't pre-reserve a massage, but were able to book a massage for me, a head massage and facial for my wife and a facial for my daughter within 1 1/2 hours of our arrival. The massage spa portion is a bit spartan, but my massuese was quite good. They used Olive Oil for the oil which wasn't surprising (however unique)! Go for a day trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We've spent there jut few days in October, and there was no so many visitors, so the relaxation was pretty nice! The spa treatment enjoyable, and the hotel's restaurant is really great. The food is fantastic, there was a man with mustaches, he was so kind to help with choosing the dessert (which was really delicious) The hotel is worth visiting, it goes without saying!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Spent our first 2 nights in Tuscany here, overall a very nice and UNIQUE experience!
Have to say the photos posted on Tripadvisor does not do the place justice. The hotel and spa and indoor/outdoor heated pools are all in very good condition and looks MUCH better in real life.

We were first given a room facing the back (ok, but can be nicer), and then got upgraded to a corner room. If we had to pay, I'd have to say the back facing Privilege Double Room is good enough.

We were too tired to go out so we went to eat at their restaurant, which turned out to be excellent and very romantic! There is also an outdoor patio area but during our stay it was too cold to sit out.

The breakfast was ok (incl. with our room) but nothing special.

Definitely try out their Spa (try to avoid weekends as many locals come). Their description is somewhat confusing (Bio-cicuits, Etruscan circuits, thermal pools, etc.), but basically what it means is all the outdoor pools (with massage jets, are free to hotel guests). There are also many medical treatments for booking.

Lastly, their female Concierge (think her name is Guglielmo) is EXCELLENT! She is very professional and extremely patient and helpful and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Even the standard rooms are spacious are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa

Address: Localita Terme 1, 53040 San Casciano dei Bagni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Casciano dei Bagni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in San Casciano dei Bagni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonteverde is an elegant 5-star resort situated in San Casciano dei Bagni, an ancient village in the Val d’Orcia, which has always been famous for the age-old springs gushing forth thermal waters rich in minerals. The hotel complex is affiliated with "The Leading Small Hotels of the World," a prestigious luxury hotel brand, and alongside it is a fine thermal spa, which boasts the "Leading Spa" brand. The resort comprises 65 rooms, 9 junior suites and 4 suites with terraces over-looking the superb Tuscan countryside. The atmosphere is reminiscent of a Tuscan palace in former times, with quality furnishings and detailed decoration. Enjoy the natural beauty of the surrounding Val d’Orcia park and admire the rolling hills and scenic setting punctuated by olive trees and vineyards. The hotel's spa is a multifunctional complex with the most up-to-date thermal treatments, a holistic centre and beauty centre. Signature treatments include the ancient Mediterranean spa, ayurvedic massage, reflexology and therapeutic Dhara. In addition, there are eight pools, ideal for relaxation after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonteverde Tuscan Hotel San Casciano Dei Bagni
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort And Spa
Fonteverde Natural Hotel
Hotel Fonteverde Natural
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa Italy/San Casciano Dei Bagni, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.