We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxation Under the Tuscan Sun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Terme 1, 53040 San Casciano dei Bagni, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
“Great Relaxation Under the Tuscan Sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you're looking for a good place to relax while visiting Tuscany, this is the place to go.

It was a bit difficult to find this place with the GPS we were using, but the town is so small it's easy to find.

The grounds of the resort are immaculate. When the gate opened from the main road, you could see the century-old main building surrounded by trees and flowers. The staff who welcomed us were warm and friendly, and they spoke English very well. Free parking is available onsite.

We were in the newer building at the end of the hall and had a great view of the Tuscan landscape. The room was a bit small. The bed was a bit hard (but after visiting other Italian hotels, all the beds were just as hard). The room had a safe, TV with channels in different languages, and complimentary bottles of water. We also had a plate of fresh, colorful fruit and a bag of biscotti. The bellboy was also nice enough to get us the appropriate sized house slippers and robes, which can be worn all over the resort, including breakfast.

Breakfast was included, and was served by the bar in a private dining room. It was a good continental breakfast with made to order eggs (you have to ask). Service was great here.

The spa is what makes this place amazing. The facilities are very clean, and there are so many options to choose from. Because we were staying in the hotel, the use of the pools was free, along with a few spa treatments (the sauna, steam room, etc.). There are eight pools, I think, with different temperatures of water, so there is a spot for everyone.

We also took part in the complimentary walking tour at 8:30AM with a guide that took us to the old town and back. It was a nice walk that took about an hour and covered 3 kilometers.

The only complaint I had about this place is that the toiletries in the bathroom were cheap for this type of place. Other than that, I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    90
    27
    14
    3
See reviews for
64
231
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a wonderful resort and spa near Chiusi, Italy. Very professional staff. Rooms are small but very nice. The spa and water features are great. I highly recommend this place. The lunch is terribly overpriced (35 euros per person), but otherwise this place was a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in Montepulciano and day tripped here. This is a perfect Tuscan excursion. You get the thermal baths which are very large and open. There are several spots where water is rushing in through the pipes. You can get a robust water jet massage by standing under them. There is also a waterfall that you can position yourself under. I would definitely go through the effort of arranging a spa treatment (effort because I don't speak Italian and the people that received us at the front don't speak much English), but that's what foreign travel is about! We didn't pre-reserve a massage, but were able to book a massage for me, a head massage and facial for my wife and a facial for my daughter within 1 1/2 hours of our arrival. The massage spa portion is a bit spartan, but my massuese was quite good. They used Olive Oil for the oil which wasn't surprising (however unique)! Go for a day trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We've spent there jut few days in October, and there was no so many visitors, so the relaxation was pretty nice! The spa treatment enjoyable, and the hotel's restaurant is really great. The food is fantastic, there was a man with mustaches, he was so kind to help with choosing the dessert (which was really delicious) The hotel is worth visiting, it goes without saying!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Spent our first 2 nights in Tuscany here, overall a very nice and UNIQUE experience!
Have to say the photos posted on Tripadvisor does not do the place justice. The hotel and spa and indoor/outdoor heated pools are all in very good condition and looks MUCH better in real life.

We were first given a room facing the back (ok, but can be nicer), and then got upgraded to a corner room. If we had to pay, I'd have to say the back facing Privilege Double Room is good enough.

We were too tired to go out so we went to eat at their restaurant, which turned out to be excellent and very romantic! There is also an outdoor patio area but during our stay it was too cold to sit out.

The breakfast was ok (incl. with our room) but nothing special.

Definitely try out their Spa (try to avoid weekends as many locals come). Their description is somewhat confusing (Bio-cicuits, Etruscan circuits, thermal pools, etc.), but basically what it means is all the outdoor pools (with massage jets, are free to hotel guests). There are also many medical treatments for booking.

Lastly, their female Concierge (think her name is Guglielmo) is EXCELLENT! She is very professional and extremely patient and helpful and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Even the standard rooms are spacious are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spend four days here for a bit luxury and for the kids going to the swimming pools. Arriving at the hotel really has a majestic feel to it with the iron gate and driving down the long alley to the hotel. The hotel is located at a hillside and has a beautiful view over the surrounding valley. It is located on top of some hot springs and seems to have been used for bathing since ancient times. The pools and the spa facilities consist among others of differently temperatured pools, some only with thermal water, other with ordinary water as well as a fitness center and all thinkable treatments. The pools in the hotel part of the spa have the quality feel to it that you should expect for at 5* hotel - lots of space and towels everywhere, whereas the section of the spa facilities open to the public is of a lower standard. The hotel itself has what you can expect from a lhw hotel - nice air-conditioned rooms, lots of services offered and a super restaurant. Often while staying at high end hotels even the slightest service can cost a fortune. This we did not experience here. You find drinking water every where in the pool area, you do not have to pay for having you car parked and lastly, which we appreciated a lot, the kids eat for free in the restaurant. And what they were offered was not just pasta with cheese but a real treat as the rest of the food in the restaurant. So if you are up for some relaxing time with your family, I can only recommend this place. Make sure to book a room with a view of the valley!

Room Tip: Choose one with a valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

1. Husband got a massage. Naked - they do NOT give you a sheet to cover yourself up! Male masseuse. He was VERY uncomfortable. weird.

2. There is only one place to eat in this hotel -and that is the formal restaurant. No other place to eat if you do not feel like dressing up. Even the bar does not have food.

3. Drinks averaged 15 euros. Good but small.

4. Not a friendly staff.

5. Pools in the spa - water seemed dirty. Heard a couple people say that. I did not want to swim in them. And I LOVE swimming.... And it was HOT. That says something... Might be well water or whatever - just saying....

Would we go back - NO. Too pricy, stuffy, We are not stuffy people....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa

Address: Localita Terme 1, 53040 San Casciano dei Bagni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Casciano dei Bagni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in San Casciano dei Bagni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonteverde is an elegant 5-star resort situated in San Casciano dei Bagni, an ancient village in the Val d’Orcia, which has always been famous for the age-old springs gushing forth thermal waters rich in minerals. The hotel complex is affiliated with "The Leading Small Hotels of the World," a prestigious luxury hotel brand, and alongside it is a fine thermal spa, which boasts the "Leading Spa" brand. The resort comprises 65 rooms, 9 junior suites and 4 suites with terraces over-looking the superb Tuscan countryside. The atmosphere is reminiscent of a Tuscan palace in former times, with quality furnishings and detailed decoration. Enjoy the natural beauty of the surrounding Val d’Orcia park and admire the rolling hills and scenic setting punctuated by olive trees and vineyards. The hotel's spa is a multifunctional complex with the most up-to-date thermal treatments, a holistic centre and beauty centre. Signature treatments include the ancient Mediterranean spa, ayurvedic massage, reflexology and therapeutic Dhara. In addition, there are eight pools, ideal for relaxation after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonteverde Tuscan Hotel San Casciano Dei Bagni
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort And Spa
Fonteverde Natural Hotel
Hotel Fonteverde Natural
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa Italy/San Casciano Dei Bagni, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.