We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxation Under the Tuscan Sun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Terme 1, 53040, San Casciano dei Bagni, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
246 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Great Relaxation Under the Tuscan Sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you're looking for a good place to relax while visiting Tuscany, this is the place to go.

It was a bit difficult to find this place with the GPS we were using, but the town is so small it's easy to find.

The grounds of the resort are immaculate. When the gate opened from the main road, you could see the century-old main building surrounded by trees and flowers. The staff who welcomed us were warm and friendly, and they spoke English very well. Free parking is available onsite.

We were in the newer building at the end of the hall and had a great view of the Tuscan landscape. The room was a bit small. The bed was a bit hard (but after visiting other Italian hotels, all the beds were just as hard). The room had a safe, TV with channels in different languages, and complimentary bottles of water. We also had a plate of fresh, colorful fruit and a bag of biscotti. The bellboy was also nice enough to get us the appropriate sized house slippers and robes, which can be worn all over the resort, including breakfast.

Breakfast was included, and was served by the bar in a private dining room. It was a good continental breakfast with made to order eggs (you have to ask). Service was great here.

The spa is what makes this place amazing. The facilities are very clean, and there are so many options to choose from. Because we were staying in the hotel, the use of the pools was free, along with a few spa treatments (the sauna, steam room, etc.). There are eight pools, I think, with different temperatures of water, so there is a spot for everyone.

We also took part in the complimentary walking tour at 8:30AM with a guide that took us to the old town and back. It was a nice walk that took about an hour and covered 3 kilometers.

The only complaint I had about this place is that the toiletries in the bathroom were cheap for this type of place. Other than that, I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoysInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
172 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a wonderful resort and spa near Chiusi, Italy. Very professional staff. Rooms are small but very nice. The spa and water features are great. I highly recommend this place. The lunch is terribly overpriced (35 euros per person), but otherwise this place was a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in Montepulciano and day tripped here. This is a perfect Tuscan excursion. You get the thermal baths which are very large and open. There are several spots where water is rushing in through the pipes. You can get a robust water jet massage by standing under them. There is also a waterfall that you can position yourself under. I would definitely go through the effort of arranging a spa treatment (effort because I don't speak Italian and the people that received us at the front don't speak much English), but that's what foreign travel is about! We didn't pre-reserve a massage, but were able to book a massage for me, a head massage and facial for my wife and a facial for my daughter within 1 1/2 hours of our arrival. The massage spa portion is a bit spartan, but my massuese was quite good. They used Olive Oil for the oil which wasn't surprising (however unique)! Go for a day trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thunderdogct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We've spent there jut few days in October, and there was no so many visitors, so the relaxation was pretty nice! The spa treatment enjoyable, and the hotel's restaurant is really great. The food is fantastic, there was a man with mustaches, he was so kind to help with choosing the dessert (which was really delicious) The hotel is worth visiting, it goes without saying!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuliya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Spent our first 2 nights in Tuscany here, overall a very nice and UNIQUE experience!
Have to say the photos posted on Tripadvisor does not do the place justice. The hotel and spa and indoor/outdoor heated pools are all in very good condition and looks MUCH better in real life.

We were first given a room facing the back (ok, but can be nicer), and then got upgraded to a corner room. If we had to pay, I'd have to say the back facing Privilege Double Room is good enough.

We were too tired to go out so we went to eat at their restaurant, which turned out to be excellent and very romantic! There is also an outdoor patio area but during our stay it was too cold to sit out.

The breakfast was ok (incl. with our room) but nothing special.

Definitely try out their Spa (try to avoid weekends as many locals come). Their description is somewhat confusing (Bio-cicuits, Etruscan circuits, thermal pools, etc.), but basically what it means is all the outdoor pools (with massage jets, are free to hotel guests). There are also many medical treatments for booking.

Lastly, their female Concierge (think her name is Guglielmo) is EXCELLENT! She is very professional and extremely patient and helpful and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Even the standard rooms are spacious are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trendspott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spend four days here for a bit luxury and for the kids going to the swimming pools. Arriving at the hotel really has a majestic feel to it with the iron gate and driving down the long alley to the hotel. The hotel is located at a hillside and has a beautiful view over the surrounding valley. It is located on top of some hot springs and seems to have been used for bathing since ancient times. The pools and the spa facilities consist among others of differently temperatured pools, some only with thermal water, other with ordinary water as well as a fitness center and all thinkable treatments. The pools in the hotel part of the spa have the quality feel to it that you should expect for at 5* hotel - lots of space and towels everywhere, whereas the section of the spa facilities open to the public is of a lower standard. The hotel itself has what you can expect from a lhw hotel - nice air-conditioned rooms, lots of services offered and a super restaurant. Often while staying at high end hotels even the slightest service can cost a fortune. This we did not experience here. You find drinking water every where in the pool area, you do not have to pay for having you car parked and lastly, which we appreciated a lot, the kids eat for free in the restaurant. And what they were offered was not just pasta with cheese but a real treat as the rest of the food in the restaurant. So if you are up for some relaxing time with your family, I can only recommend this place. Make sure to book a room with a view of the valley!

Room Tip: Choose one with a valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flemming_Meineche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

1. Husband got a massage. Naked - they do NOT give you a sheet to cover yourself up! Male masseuse. He was VERY uncomfortable. weird.

2. There is only one place to eat in this hotel -and that is the formal restaurant. No other place to eat if you do not feel like dressing up. Even the bar does not have food.

3. Drinks averaged 15 euros. Good but small.

4. Not a friendly staff.

5. Pools in the spa - water seemed dirty. Heard a couple people say that. I did not want to swim in them. And I LOVE swimming.... And it was HOT. That says something... Might be well water or whatever - just saying....

Would we go back - NO. Too pricy, stuffy, We are not stuffy people....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crunchberry327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Casciano dei Bagni
19.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 988 reviews
17.4 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#3 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sette Querce
Sette Querce
#2 of 3 in San Casciano dei Bagni
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hotel Adler Thermae Spa & Relax Resort
23.2 mi away
Terme di Saturnia Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa

Address: Localita Terme 1, 53040, San Casciano dei Bagni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Casciano dei Bagni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Casciano dei Bagni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonteverde is an elegant 5-star resort situated in San Casciano dei Bagni, an ancient village in the Val d’Orcia, which has always been famous for the age-old springs gushing forth thermal waters rich in minerals. The hotel complex is affiliated with "The Leading Small Hotels of the World," a prestigious luxury hotel brand, and alongside it is a fine thermal spa, which boasts the "Leading Spa" brand. The resort comprises 65 rooms, 9 junior suites and 4 suites with terraces over-looking the superb Tuscan countryside. The atmosphere is reminiscent of a Tuscan palace in former times, with quality furnishings and detailed decoration. Enjoy the natural beauty of the surrounding Val d’Orcia park and admire the rolling hills and scenic setting punctuated by olive trees and vineyards. The hotel's spa is a multifunctional complex with the most up-to-date thermal treatments, a holistic centre and beauty centre. Signature treatments include the ancient Mediterranean spa, ayurvedic massage, reflexology and therapeutic Dhara. In addition, there are eight pools, ideal for relaxation after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort And Spa
Fonteverde Tuscan Hotel San Casciano Dei Bagni
Fonteverde Natural Hotel
Hotel Fonteverde Natural
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa Italy/San Casciano Dei Bagni, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing