We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valdirose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lastra a Signa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valdirose
Save
You added Valdirose to your Saves list
Via Val Di Rose, 35, 50055 Lastra a Signa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Lastra a Signa B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a lovely week we had at Valdirose! Irene, Paolo and Giovanni were perfect hosts and so very accommodating. They helped us plan where to go and what to do each day over breakfast, in the gorgeous conservatory with the sun streaming in, and were always happy to take us to the local train station whenever we needed. It was an easy drive to Lucca, San Gimignano and Siena. One evening we walked back from the train station and in comparison to all the steps you find in the cathedrals and villages the hill was a breeze and the walk refreshing after a day in Florence. The rooms are lovely and 'Memorie' was perfect for two friends wanting share a room but not a bed! The house is beautifully decorated and a nice haven from the busyness of Florence while being central to jump in the car and explore Tuscany. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Valdirose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valdirose, Proprietario at Valdirose, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review!


It is very important for all of us our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay in our Home! "especially if you remember our family"

I hope see you again in valdirose

Saluti

Famiglia Valdirose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
105
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The rooms were really charming, but the best bit was getting to know this lovely family. Nothing was too much trouble. Giovanni, you rule! Excellent value for money. The only downside is getting in and out of Florence, but Paulo was great at dropping us off at the train station, which in truth is only about 10 mins walk away anyway. The alternative is staying in Florence and I personally wouldnt recommend it - too packed with people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Not only that we love the house, we love the owners too! Irene, Paolo and Giovanni are such beautiful and warm people!! That displayed true hospitality. The moment my hubby chanced upon Validrose, and after reading the website and Irene's blog, I knew I just have to stay there! And that has not failed us indeed. Everything that you see there are just as beautiful as what has appeared in the magazines, Facebook pic and blog! Except that its topped up with warm hospitality and smiles! I regard it as a great honor to be able to stay in such a beautiful house, decorated by Irene. And such privilege to meet Irene whom is sooo creative and am able to see things so beautifully! I love all the pics taken by her and all the items displayed there. You just got to be there to experience it yourself.

We were without cars but they offered shuttle service. However we enjoyed the 10 mins of steep climb up in the cold n rain while we were there :)

Once again thanks Irene, Paolo and Giovanni :) you have left us with a beautiful memory of Tuscany.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon and our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. The rooms are stunning and inventing, the family that owns it are very kind and welcoming and the breakfasts are simply delicious. You cannot beat the homemade preserves and baked goods in the morning and the service and hospitality is unsurpassed!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here mid September for 3 nights and loved it. Nothing was too much trouble for this lovely family and we really appreciated the lifts to and from the train station so we could spend 2 days in Florence. Our train broke down one night and was rerouted to another station but Irene and Giovanni still went out of their way to collect us.
I loved how the house was decorated it felt really cared for. Our ground floor room was lovely, cleverly decorated with bingo items from Irene's childhood. Our bed was very comfortable with soft fluffy pillows and everything was very clean. The shower was smaller than expected but still good.
Breakfast was fun, an enjoyable experience with other guests from around the world and plenty of cakes, pastries and toast.
Paolo recommended a superb fish restaurant where we had a wonderful dining experience. We chose a scorpion fish (scorfano) from their 'catch of the day' Who would have thought such an ugly fish could taste so good!
Thank you all for a wonderful stay,
Pete and Lynda

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at Valdirose with family and friends for 10 nights in September 2012. We combined the renting the whole house option with two extra nights as B&B. For our Tuscany trip our group wanted to avoid the big city crowds but still have easy access to Florence (ie less than 1 hour).

Valdirose is located in a hill in Lastra a Signa, a small town outside of Florence. There are hourly trains to Florence from the Lastra a Signa train station. The train takes about 15 min to reach Firenze SMN. Train tickets can be bought at a coffee shop near the Lastra a Signa train station.

The house is as beautiful as presented in the website. Rooms are decorated with old world charm with modern updates to cater for modern travellers. All rooms have individually controlled A/C and flat screen TVs. All rooms were spotless. Free Wi-Fi is available in the common areas.

But the main item that differentiates this place from other B&Bs is the service. From booking to check-out, everything was done without a hitch and with a smile. Nothing is a problem or too much of an ask.

Note that they offer a service to prepare dinner at an additional fee. Our family took advantage of this service and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The homemade meal included some traditional tuscan dishes, a pasta dish, dessert and wine. We even asked Graziella for the recipes which she provided to us.

As noted in other reviews Valdirose is located in a hill. Most people in our group had no problems and actually enjoyed this walk everyday. However, the hosts offer a service to pick you up from the train station. You just have to give them a call. This service was also provided for grocery shopping, doing laundry and picking up pizzas at the local restaurant.

Giovanni made reservations for us at Da Bertoni (they also have take away pizza) and Sanesi (for bistecca) both reasonable price and with excellent food. Also we had a problem with our reservation to see the David, Giovanni fixed it with one call.

There is a genuine sense of hospitality from Giovanni, Graziella, Paolo, Irene and Beatrice. This was our best pick for our family reunion. When we are back in Florence, we will stay again at Valdirose

Few tips:

- The kitchen is a bit small to make a big meal. Take advantage of the breakfast table for your cooking. If any pots or pans are missing, just ask Giovanni and he will provide you with the required items. There is a dishwasher.
- Train tickets from Lastra a Signa to Pisa run out early in the morning (not sure why). Purchase them in advance or leave early.
- The Coop (grocery store) is closed on most Sundays.

Room Tip: Have your coffee in the upstairs terrace. Great view and nice breeze Upstair rooms have larger bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Traveling solo I appreciated the warmth and caring of this bed and breakfast. An easy 10 minute train ride from this "suburb" into the frenetic pace of Florence was close enough for me. I could see the city from the upstairs terrace and liked being out of the crowds of tourists for part of my day! The offer of a drive to the train was graciously accepted but isn't a necessity-it's a calm 10 minute walk to the station. The B&B is quiet, beautifully furnished and has a lovely garden for a delicious breakfast. The 3 generations of this family are charming, speak multiple languages and made we feel very welcomed. Only caution...don't make my mistake and stop on the same street at the ValdiRose B&B..keep driving til you see a driveway marked ValdiRose Charming Rooms. (My hosts actually walked down the road to get me when i called them)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valdirose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valdirose

Address: Via Val Di Rose, 35, 50055 Lastra a Signa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Lastra a Signa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lastra a Signa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valdirose is a villa of the second half of '800 situated in the hills of Lastra a Signa, Florence. The villa was completely renovated in 2007. Just 18 minutes from downtown you can enjoy a 'quiet and homely atmosphere. From here you can admire the view of Florence while enjoying homemade cakes breakfast or while sipping wine from our selection. Hospitality, helpfulness and good humor have always been a source of pride of our family.We will be happy to help you discover Florence and Tuscany, taking advantage of the strategic location of our villa.  ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valdirose Lastra a Signa, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valdirose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.