We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alison B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Poggio di Gaville

Save Saved
You added Villa Poggio di Gaville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Poggio di Gaville
Loc. Casellina, 28 | Meleto, 52022 Cavriglia, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Alison B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

wonderful stay with imaginative and refreshing dining, excellent wine and fabulous resort standard pool with tranquil surrounds. Interesting other guests to meet and share a drink on the lovely terrace after the day's excitement.
warm and welcoming hosts with all the help one might need.
A truly excellent bijoux villa in the heart of Tuscany

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    83
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
93
175
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

What a fantastic experience. The property is gorgeous and the owners are exceptionally friendly. The location is beautiful, and of course, the pool is fabulous. Breakfast consisted of a warm beverage of your choice, along with hot coronets, toast, yogurts and cereals. Do treat yourself to one of Jamal's homemade dinners. It was a 5 course experience as we tasted traditional Tuscan specialties and befriended the table next to us. We concluded the evening sharing wine and telling stories. It was like something out of a film.
The location is great for exploring the Chianti road and neat towns along the way. The owners took the time to show us some great stops on the map and even help us plan our days. It is so evident that Jamal is doing what he loves, as he was patient and helpful when my bank messed up the wire transfer, and he took the time to chat with us throughout our stay. I hope we get the chance to return!

Room Tip: As it was warm, we slept with windows open and woke up to the sound of birds chirping. It was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

What a great stay! We went for a family reunion to Poggio di Gaville and couldn’t have asked for a better place. The surroundings and setting is stunning yet close enough to visit some of the beautiful nearby towns.
We were greeted by Jamal, the charming owner of the hotel upon arrival and were made to feel very at home and welcome. We then settled into our lovely rooms which were very well furnished, bright and stylish.
Jamal cooked the meals we ate at the hotel restaurant and the food was fantastic, a mixture of Italain fusion dishes that pleased the whole family.
Overall the stay was very relaxing and had a very personal touch, I would be very happy to go back again and would recommend it to everyone else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the Villa Poggio di Gaville for 4 days when we recently visited Italy. This was our first stop from four destinations. My daughters were very excited that there was a pool and the moment we arrived, they jumped right in. The pool was very clean, our room was lovely, as well as the hospitality we received. Jamal was great, very helpful. Breakfast in the morning was lovely out in the terrace with beautiful views of rolling hills surrounding us. Everyone was so attentive to our needs. They also have wild horses in the barn and this was a real treat for my older daughter who happens to be crazy about horses. Overall our experience staying here was excellent. It felt very warm, personable, just as if we were staying with family. I would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Tuscany!

Syed and Zehra Rizvi

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I visited Poggio di Gaville with my sister for a Tuscan getaway. I could not have been more pleased with my stay. The owner, Jamal, is one of the kindest human beings I have ever met. I truly felt as if I was visiting a close relative and instantly felt comfortable and at home! If you do have the pleasure of staying at this beautiful place, I strongly recommend staying for dinner. The food was delicious and the ambiance is absolutely perfect. I hope I have the pleasure of staying at Poggio di Gavile again very soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Seven nights at Villa Poggio di Gaville flew by so fast that I could hardly believe it was time to leave. The owner told me, “I want people to feel like this is their home, not a hotel”. He totally succeeds. Comfortable and relaxing are the watchwords for Jamal’s Tuscan villa. Looking for tourist advice or have special needs? Jamal is always there to give personal assistance.

Nestled in a quiet countryside location between the amazing towns of Florence and Sienna in the Chianti wine-growing region, the villa is decorated with relics lovingly collected from 31 countries. Wild horses live in the adjoining pasture. A giant pristine swimming pool provides respite from hot days. And the four-course dinners are a very special treat thanks to Jamal’s gourmet cooking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We found this Tuscan villa delightful from the surroundings and decor to the staff and service. The owner Jamal made us feel right at home and we enjoyed the dinner he cooked immensely . It is a must as is the cooking classes he hosts. He is only to happy to assist with tourist information and directions. IWe would definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Poggio di Gaville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Poggio di Gaville

Address: Loc. Casellina, 28 | Meleto, 52022 Cavriglia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cavriglia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty lodging in Cavriglia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Poggio di Gaville is a wonderful 18th century villa set in idyllic surroundings of woods, vineyards and olive groves in the hills of Florence, close to Chianti. The farmhouse was restored to its original splendour in 2004 and is furnished with charming Tuscan style furniture and exotic world pieces from 30 different countries in the world - a reflection of the owner's intercultural spirit. An additional attraction of the Villa are the 10 free-range horses at pasture on the farmland of the property. We can offer you: - a large 170mq swimming-pool and a little lake with 2 herons. - 11 rooms with private bathroom. - courses in Mediterranean and Middle-Eastern cooking. - team building courses - 'learning by cooking'.-horse-riding at the 'Vecchio Texas'. - hot-air ballooning over the hills of Chianti. - shopping at 'The Mall', the biggest Designer Outlet in Italy. The cuisine at Villa Poggio di Gaville offers both traditional Tuscany recipes as well as creative Mediterranean dishes served in a lovely dining-room with large-arched windows overlooking the wonderful grounds of the Villa, all accompanied with an excellent selection wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Poggio di Gaville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Poggio Di Gaville Italy/Cavriglia, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Poggio di Gaville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.