We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Nena

La Nena
Via Giacomo Matteotti, 10/14, 52031 Anghiari, Italy
http://www.ristorantenena.it/
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Anghiari
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cedar Grove, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in a villa near Anghiari in June 2013, and this restaurant was recommended by a few locals. WE actually ate here twice and found the food to be excellent. We shared a platter of stuffed zucchini flowers (not on the menu but we saw another table get them so we just asked!). My husband loves these so he was in heaven! I had papperdelle with wild boar--homemade pasta of course. Friendly staff, outdoor seating although right on the street which can get a little noisy. Nicely decorated inside and cool!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    89
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Food was lovely - well worth the visit and really nice setting. We had 3 main courses (tortelloni with truffle - AMAZING, Italian sausage and beans and gnocci in tomato sauce - all very good)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went to La Nena on our last night in Italy and we really enjoyed ourselves. The Tuscan bean soup was the best I had during the holiday, rich, tasty and a good portion. My wife had the smoked duck to start, I tried a bit and it was absolutely delicious too. We then shared a plate of pappardelle with wild boar and it was again a decent portion although not as outstanding as the other dishes. I finished with the Florentine steak which was mind-blowing (and very large), the Mrs had fillet steak, very tender. We stuck with the house wine and it was a decent drop. Friends tell us it is not worth sitting outside at this restaurant unless the main street is closed due to noise and fumes. Also it is sensible to at least try to speak Italian here, it is popular with locals and we got the feeling that the waiter appreciated our efforts (unlike a nearby table who ordered entirely in English and seemed outraged that he was not fluent!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants.uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this place by a local in a wine bar. It's was in walking distance from our apartment. So we popped in and got a table. Stunning building. Very helpful and friendly waiter and staff. Tomato soup to start was really good, the mains were amazing. The vino della Casa ( house) so smooth and fruity and for €8!! Would recommend to everyone. :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food and service!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stopped for dinner in this charming restaurant in Anghiari. Food and wine were excellent and so was the service.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Nena also viewed

Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
 
Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to La Nena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Nena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.