We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Da Alighiero

Da Alighiero
Via Garibaldi 8, 52031 Anghiari, Italy
0575/788040
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Anghiari
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overrated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Mediocre food and terrible service, I really don't understand how this restaurant got all these Michelin and other recognitions.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    50
    19
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anghiari, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tucked away from the sqare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Lovely food and wine - just a little bit pricey, more appropriate for a special occasion. Very friendly service and some nice complimentary touches.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

You have to go to this restaurant. A visit to Alighieri is not complete without eating here. The service is amazing and the food is even better. This is without a doubt the bat restaurant I ate at in Tuscany and has now become one of my favourite in the world.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Welcoming Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Run by a German lady, this Tuscan restaurant serves traditional dishes with Sylvia's spin on them.

We took some of her suggestions and added a few of our own to have a very tasty meal. She served a beet aspic starter that was the first time I have ever eaten beets and enjoyed them.

The chocolate mascarpone was to die for. Sylvia wasn't very busy at the beginning of our meal so we were able to talk to her and get better understanding of the history and culture of the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, superb service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited this restaurant twice and would happily have gone there every night. The food was fresh and delicious, the service attentive and friendly and their knowledge of local wines to complement our dishes was a real treat. Run by a wonderful and warm couple, you get a real sense of family when you dine there that really accentuates the experience. My favourite dishes were the pasta trio for primi and mascarpone for dessert – the best I have ever eaten. They do a wonderful and varied selection of meats too; I highly recommend the beef fillet with olive oil – it was outstanding. If you don’t go there during your visit to Anghiari then you’re truly missing out.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Alighiero also viewed

Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
 
Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Da Alighiero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Alighiero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.