We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service at Villa Cardeto!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Villa Cardeto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anghiari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Villa Cardeto
Loc. Scoiano 103, 52031 Anghiari, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Anghiari B&B and Inns
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic service at Villa Cardeto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had the opportunity of staying at Villa Cardeto on our way from Rome to Florence. The place is charming and very well maintained. The location excellent, right in the middle of the Tuscan countryside and very close to Anghiari, a hidden medieval gem. Our bedroom was very ample and perfectly clean. Breakfast simply delicious.

Special kudos to Ilona and Rolf, our hosts. We arrived late at night to Anghiari and without a GPS or a good map we got lost! With the help of a local resident, we contacted Ilona who met us in town and helped us get to Villa Cardeto!!

We highly recommend Villa Cardeto and only regret not having planned to extend our stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
67
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Villa Cardeto is a beautiful stone country home nestled in the picturesque Tuscan hills 10 minutes from the quaint, and relatively tourist-free, mediaeval village of Anghiari, and approximaly an hour from Florence and Siena. The rooms are spacious, tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. Screens on the windows prevent insects from coming into the rooms, the washroom was brand new and equipped with a good hairdryer and the rooms even had adapters for international plugs! Umbrellas were available for all the guests, there was a library with a wide variety of international books, magazines and CDs for guests to enjoy. The swimming pool and sauna were sparkling clean, deck chairs and bathing towels were new. The breakfast buffet was to die for: homemade breads and marmelades, a variety of local cold cuts and cheeses, freshly prepared eggs, a selection of cereals, yoghurts and dried fruits and fruit juices, outstanding coffee and freshly picked fruits and tomatoes from the garden. Cold drinks are available for purchase at all times of the day. The patios and stairwells are lit with candles in the evening and there are homemade products to buy and take home if guests wish to do so. Ilona and Rolf are the sweetest, friendliest and most helpful hosts one could ever hope for. I guarantee you will be impressed and will want to return! Make sure you ask Ilona and Rolf to organize an olive oil tasting evening at a nearby 600-year-old Tuscan family-run farm. Great fun!
Thomas and Alison from Frankfurt, Germany

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just returned from one of the best holidays ever.
The Villa Cardeto is a complete delight, charming hosts, good food, beautiful setting, great pool and relaxed atmosphere make a most relaxing holiday. We enjoyed visiting the many beautiful attractions in the area and returned each day to this welcoming villa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We just spent March14-19 at this great B&B and are still talking about it. The accomodation is a charming authentic and spacious Villa, perched on a hill with all the comforts of home and more. Located minutes from the village it provides both easy access to Anghiari and an escape to the peaceful calm of the Tuscan hills. The hosts are generous and welcoming with lots of tips on what to see and do in the area. The food and wine is excellent, the place is great, and the people are better. This is a place where you can comfortably relax and enjoy the surroundings and/or use as a base for day trips to explore Anghiari and surrounding Tuscany. Come as a guest, and you'll leave as a friend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort walton beach, florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We (and friends) spent two days in January. Spotlessly clean, nice rooms, pretty views. Ilona is not only a charming host (quadrilingual, knowledgeable about the area) but an excellent cook. We had reserved a dinner the first night, which was an excellent 5 courses with good local wines. The second day we got back late and didn't feel like going out. Ilona produced yet another superb meal with local ingredients with no warning.
We - and our friends - would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fano, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Villa Cardeto is a beautiful facility, conveniently located in the country around Anghiari. You can reach Anghiari in 5 minutes and Arezzo in 20 minutes by car. I spent here a very nice weekend, also including the new year's eve 2012, with my family (wife and a two years old kid) and some friends. I found rooms clean and homely, the common areas lovely and the atmosphere in general very relaxing. I traveled in Winter, but this facilities should be even more pleasant in Spring and Summer. Mr. Rolf and Mrs. Ilona are very kind and friendly people. They did their best to satisfy any request. Overall, I would recommend it.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinhausen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Ilona und Rolf Weber sind keine gelernte Hoteliers! Dafür sind sie wirklich gute, mit viel Herzblut, grosser Wärme und ganz viel Charme. Vor zwei Jahren haben die beiden die Schweiz verlassen und die Villa Cardeto wieder auf vordermann gebracht. Rolf blickte dabei auf eine über 30jährige Karriere als Spitzentrainer in der Leichtathletik zurück, zuletzt als Nationaltrainer Sprint/Hürden.
Vielleicht sind Eigenschaften aus dem Spitzensport (Streben nach Höchstleistung, Beharrlichkeit, Präzision, etc.) ja auch in der Gastronomie und Hotellerie gefragt. Auf jeden Fall war unser Aufenhalt ganz wundervoll. Der Tag fing jeweils mit einem herrlichen Frühstücksbuffet an und ging dann mit Sport (Wandern, Biken) oder dem Besuch der vielen sich in der Nähe befindlichen toskanischen Sehenswürdigkeiten (Sansepolcro, Assisi, Arezzo, Cortona...) weiter. Auch Siena und Florenz sind nur eine gute Autostunde entfernt.
Anschliessend darf man die kleine und sehr feine Sauna ganz für sich alleine aufheizen lassen und erholt sich angenehm, bevor es zu den kulinarischen Abend-Abenteuern geht.
Denn dann kommt der lukullische Abend! In der Nähe der Villa gibt es zahlreiche kleine "Geheimlokale", die man nie finden würde ohne die Hilfe der Gastgeber, die sich wohl durch hunderte von Restaurants "durchgegessen" haben. Auf jeden Fall herrscht akute Suchtgefahr nach diesen lokalen, die für Schweizer Verhältnisse schon fast unverschämt günstig sind.

Wir kommen auf jeden Fall wieder!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B&B Villa Cardeto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Villa Cardeto

Address: Loc. Scoiano 103, 52031 Anghiari, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Anghiari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Anghiari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Cardeto is a magnificent Tuscan Villa on top of a hill near Anghiari in the Province of Arezzo. The spacious area offers you many different possibilities to retire from the world or to simply enjoy the gorgeous view into the Tiber-valley!The Villa consists of 6 rooms (3 rooms with full-size beds and 3 rooms with two individual beds) and 5 bathrooms (shower/lavatory). The comfortable rooms offer an amazing view into nature. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Villa Cardeto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added B&B Villa Cardeto to your Saves list