We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So impressed with quality of venue and service and incredible attention to details, making our stay most memorable and delightfu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Villa Cardeto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anghiari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Villa Cardeto
Save Saved
You added B&B Villa Cardeto to your Saves list
Loc. Scoiano 103, 52031 Anghiari, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Anghiari B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So impressed with quality of venue and service and incredible attention to details, making our stay most memorable and delightfu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Villa Cardeto is a beautiful stone country home nestled in the picturesque Tuscan hills 10 minutes from the quaint, and relatively tourist-free, mediaeval village of Anghiari, and approximaly an hour from Florence and Siena. The rooms are spacious, tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. Screens on the windows prevent insects from coming into the rooms, the washroom was brand new and equipped with a good hairdryer and the rooms even had adapters for international plugs! Umbrellas were available for all the guests, there was a library with a wide variety of international books, magazines and CDs for guests to enjoy. The swimming pool and sauna were sparkling clean, deck chairs and bathing towels were new. The breakfast buffet was to die for: homemade breads and marmelades, a variety of local cold cuts and cheeses, freshly prepared eggs, a selection of cereals, yoghurts and dried fruits and fruit juices, outstanding coffee and freshly picked fruits and tomatoes from the garden. Cold drinks are available for purchase at all times of the day. The patios and stairwells are lit with candles in the evening and there are homemade products to buy and take home if guests wish to do so. Ilona and Rolf are the sweetest, friendliest and most helpful hosts one could ever hope for. I guarantee you will be impressed and will want to return! Make sure you ask Ilona and Rolf to organize an olive oil tasting evening at a nearby 600-year-old Tuscan family-run farm. Great fun!
Thomas and Alison from Frankfurt, Germany

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
67
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just returned from one of the best holidays ever.
The Villa Cardeto is a complete delight, charming hosts, good food, beautiful setting, great pool and relaxed atmosphere make a most relaxing holiday. We enjoyed visiting the many beautiful attractions in the area and returned each day to this welcoming villa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We just spent March14-19 at this great B&B and are still talking about it. The accomodation is a charming authentic and spacious Villa, perched on a hill with all the comforts of home and more. Located minutes from the village it provides both easy access to Anghiari and an escape to the peaceful calm of the Tuscan hills. The hosts are generous and welcoming with lots of tips on what to see and do in the area. The food and wine is excellent, the place is great, and the people are better. This is a place where you can comfortably relax and enjoy the surroundings and/or use as a base for day trips to explore Anghiari and surrounding Tuscany. Come as a guest, and you'll leave as a friend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort walton beach, florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We (and friends) spent two days in January. Spotlessly clean, nice rooms, pretty views. Ilona is not only a charming host (quadrilingual, knowledgeable about the area) but an excellent cook. We had reserved a dinner the first night, which was an excellent 5 courses with good local wines. The second day we got back late and didn't feel like going out. Ilona produced yet another superb meal with local ingredients with no warning.
We - and our friends - would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fano, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Villa Cardeto is a beautiful facility, conveniently located in the country around Anghiari. You can reach Anghiari in 5 minutes and Arezzo in 20 minutes by car. I spent here a very nice weekend, also including the new year's eve 2012, with my family (wife and a two years old kid) and some friends. I found rooms clean and homely, the common areas lovely and the atmosphere in general very relaxing. I traveled in Winter, but this facilities should be even more pleasant in Spring and Summer. Mr. Rolf and Mrs. Ilona are very kind and friendly people. They did their best to satisfy any request. Overall, I would recommend it.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinhausen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Ilona und Rolf Weber sind keine gelernte Hoteliers! Dafür sind sie wirklich gute, mit viel Herzblut, grosser Wärme und ganz viel Charme. Vor zwei Jahren haben die beiden die Schweiz verlassen und die Villa Cardeto wieder auf vordermann gebracht. Rolf blickte dabei auf eine über 30jährige Karriere als Spitzentrainer in der Leichtathletik zurück, zuletzt als Nationaltrainer Sprint/Hürden.
Vielleicht sind Eigenschaften aus dem Spitzensport (Streben nach Höchstleistung, Beharrlichkeit, Präzision, etc.) ja auch in der Gastronomie und Hotellerie gefragt. Auf jeden Fall war unser Aufenhalt ganz wundervoll. Der Tag fing jeweils mit einem herrlichen Frühstücksbuffet an und ging dann mit Sport (Wandern, Biken) oder dem Besuch der vielen sich in der Nähe befindlichen toskanischen Sehenswürdigkeiten (Sansepolcro, Assisi, Arezzo, Cortona...) weiter. Auch Siena und Florenz sind nur eine gute Autostunde entfernt.
Anschliessend darf man die kleine und sehr feine Sauna ganz für sich alleine aufheizen lassen und erholt sich angenehm, bevor es zu den kulinarischen Abend-Abenteuern geht.
Denn dann kommt der lukullische Abend! In der Nähe der Villa gibt es zahlreiche kleine "Geheimlokale", die man nie finden würde ohne die Hilfe der Gastgeber, die sich wohl durch hunderte von Restaurants "durchgegessen" haben. Auf jeden Fall herrscht akute Suchtgefahr nach diesen lokalen, die für Schweizer Verhältnisse schon fast unverschämt günstig sind.

Wir kommen auf jeden Fall wieder!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

A hidden gem in the Anghiari countryside.
We have just returned from two weeks at the beautiful Villa Cardeto where Rolf & Ilona played hosts to our large wedding party.
The villa is a gem set in the countryside within easy reach of the beautiful town of Anghiari and Rolf and Ilona are the perfect hosts. Not only did they help us with the organisation of everything for our wedding, they also sourced local suppliers from Anghiari, including florist, hairdresser etc. nothing was too much trouble, as Ilona constantly said to our requests “no problem”. Catering for our 30+ guests on the evening of the great day, they both worked tirelessly to provide the perfect venue and ambience for all of our many guests who stayed at the villa. The villa functions as what could be described as a boutique B&B establishment offering individual rooms and family apartments. It proved to be an absolutely perfect venue for our large wedding party which booked out the whole villa! With the grounds gated, no one had to worry about the children; they could discover and play to their hearts content in safety.
Villa Cardeto is set in its own beautiful grounds with a magnificent swimming pool overlooking the the valley, filled with sunflowers and with views across to the distant mountains. Guests have the run of the villa including all the amenities including lounges (2), bar, internet access, mountain bikes etc. (except Ilona’s stunning kitchen, a beautiful Italian classic that we all drooled over!) The rooms / apartments are furnished simply but tastefully and most have wonderful views. The charming Tuscan character of the old villa has been retained throughout and the bedrooms with en suite bathrooms provide modern facilities. Ilona’s perfectionism and attention to detail shows in the cleanliness of the rooms and the way in which she presents them – small details like mineral water in the rooms, complimentary toiletries and a small chocolate on the turned down bed! An experienced and expert chef, she provides an exquisite breakfast and will cook evening meals on request at a very reasonable price which includes drinks. To stay at Villa Cardeto and not sample Ilona’s cooking and Rolf’s wines and Grappa would be a sin!
The gardens and the villa are maintained to the highest standard and Rolf and Ilona have totally mastered the art of being attentive to guests but never intrusive. You can always find a quiet, comfortable and shaded spot to relax away from other guests if you want to, but the hosts will respond immediately to your every request.
For Sara and I the hilltop town of Anghiari (with its stunning mediaeval architecture and friendly locals) is a destination in itself, but guests staying here can reach Arezzo, Firenze, Sienna, Assissi, Cortona and Perugia easily together with other tourist destinations such as, San Giminano and Montipulciano possible also.
Nothing is too much trouble for these charming multilingual Swiss hosts; they will do everything and more to make your stay perfect. To sum up our stay, if you want a relaxing holiday in a beautiful ‘non-tourist filled’ part of Tuscany that remains truly Italian, then Villa Cardeto represents excellent value in magnificent surroundings.
We recommend it very reluctantly because it is so special that we would really like to keep it as our very own private secret!!
.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Villa Cardeto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Villa Cardeto

Address: Loc. Scoiano 103, 52031 Anghiari, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Anghiari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Anghiari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Cardeto is a magnificent Tuscan Villa on top of a hill near Anghiari in the Province of Arezzo. The spacious area offers you many different possibilities to retire from the world or to simply enjoy the gorgeous view into the Tiber-valley!The Villa consists of 6 rooms (3 rooms with full-size beds and 3 rooms with two individual beds) and 5 bathrooms (shower/lavatory). The comfortable rooms offer an amazing view into nature. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Villa Cardeto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.