We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural sophistication” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vecchia Osteria La Pergola

Vecchia Osteria La Pergola
Tavernelle di Anghiari | Via Libbia N. 11, 52031 Anghiari, Italy
0575 723330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Anghiari
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Rural sophistication”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a delighful family run restaurant in a little village called Tavernelle just outside Anghiari, one of the loveliest Italian small towns perched on an amazing hill. Good food, friendly atmosphere, lots of parking space, and a nicely chosen menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    25
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent service and authentic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The waiter was extremely kind and helpful in both English and Italian.He made excellent suggestions for food as i went there with an open mind to taste whatever was on the menu that day. The appetizers were varied and the best I'd tasted of each thing : pecorini in oil, pepper salami, mini omelette, sun-dried tomates, sausage,olives and roasted bread. Then tagliatelle with duck sauce. Did I want meat ? I skipped to the dessert but as I was unable to choose the waiter brought me a selection of the 5 home-made desserts on offer. mmmmmmmmmmmm. I ate alone but felt no discomfort and enjoyed the view, the attention and the rustic decor of the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anghiari, Italy
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Authentic Tuscan Meals made to order at reasonable prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We love this place that is only 5 km from our Villa, Il Pozzeto. We send many guests to this Osteria, as we love the food and the prices are very reasonable. Do not expect a big menu. The cook will make two things that evening and you will have your choice of those two main dishes, as well as a pasta and a prima course. I think we spent 50 euros for the two of us with vino incluso.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Highly recommended for anyone wanting to experience a range of seasonal, local specialties. We visited as a group of 14 adults and 2 children several times for dinner and each time left stuffed and clutching leftovers, having spent less than 25 Euros per head (this despite copious quantities of house wine and mineral water, and being quoted 27 Euros for food alone!)
Notwithstanding the interesting female artwork, this is a family-run establishment in tiny Tavernelle, where you’re as likely to be served by one of the sisters, brother Giuseppe or a younger relative. And don’t forget to drag Mama, Doretta Calchetti, out of the kitchen to thank her for overseeing your feast.
With no written menu, if your Italian language isn’t great you may want to bring a dictionary for when Francesca stands at the head of your table and sings out the day’s selections. Stand-out entrees for us were the mixed crostini and panzanella (bread salad – delicious). All the Primi pastas were home-made, fresh and tasty – find your own favourite from amongst the raviolis, fettucines and sauces ranging from ragu to creamy porcini to sage & butter. You’ll probably need a pause to do justice to your Secondi meat dishes – hare, duck, kid, wild boar or whatever elsewhere was shot that morning! With notice, they catered admirably for our vegetarian and non-dairy diners. Exquisitely smooth and creamy panna cotta with a choice of toppings was our preferred dessert.
The adjoining coffee shop /bar /tabacchi has a couple of indoor tables, while the small terrace outside has views across the car park to the hillside opposite, a pleasant spot to enjoy an espresso and crostata di marmellata tart.
Usually closed Tuesdays.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vecchia Osteria La Pergola also viewed

Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
 
Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Vecchia Osteria La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vecchia Osteria La Pergola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.