We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to have rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Leon to your Saves list
Hotel Leon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tratturo delle Corse, 71013 San Giovanni Rotondo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“The best place to have rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel Leon is the best place to have rest in San Giovanni Rotondo. Staff is very kind and ready to help you for any kind of request. Me and my family felt like at home. Rooms are large and comfortable, bathroom is large and everything is extremely clean. Free wifi, execellent restaurant, quite atmosphere and a lot of relax. With a very low budget (15 euros) you can have lunch, or dinner, or if you prefere, you can order a la carte. Hotel Leon is not near the church, but in the hotel there is a free bus shuttle always ready for its guests.
I think that next time I will come back in Hotel Leon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hotel Leon may not have the best location and best interior but what they lack in those they make up with their friendly and great hospitality. You can feel at home with these people. They go the extra mile than your ordinary hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Plus: very clean hotel on all fronts, hotel has own restaurant , rooms are clean. Personell (family) very helpfull. Offers to bring you to shrine. Less positive: very small shower cabine, which desparetely do needs to be replaced and does not give a very hygienic appaerance. Window (room at street side) did not close properly and street was quit busy every morning from 06:30 AM with trucks passing. Distance hotel to center a couple of kilometers (uphill). Overall if shower cabine would be replaced an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We had travelled to St Giovanni Rotondo as pilgrims to visit the Shrine of St Padre Pio and the public exhibition of his body. There we stayed at Hotel Leon which is located on the main road from Foggia to the town. We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Leon as it is run by a family. We were given a warm welcome and personalised treatment by two brothers Donanto and Luciano. They had driven us to the shrine, introduced us to the most delicious Pizza in town and provided a background of the town. Hotel Leon is a clean and comfortable hotel and has its own restaurant. Our stay included bed and breakfast with a limited spread. In conclusion we had a memorable stay at St Giovanni and at Hotel Leon

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

Hotel Leon .
We stayed in Hotel leon in March 2009. The purpose of our visit was to see the man himself San Pio. The hotel was recommended as number 1 in San Giovanni by tripadvisor, I dare not think what the others are like. Don't get me wrong the hotel was clean, reasonably priced and food was good. Breakfast was only juice coffee bread and pastries. No cereal, eggs or anything else. Dinner at 11 euro each was better for 3 courses. In March i think we were the only people staying. Hotel staff were friendly and would drop you free of charge to the shrine 3km away in their shuttle bus. If you ring they would also pick you up. The hotel was a bit on the cold side as it was still freezing outside. Apart from Padre Pio San Giovanni is a large sprawling town with not much else to it. A trip to Mount St Angelo is worth a visit to see the Church of St Michael Archangel and the scenery on the way. However it was all worth it to see San Pio.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon

Address: Via Tratturo delle Corse, 71013 San Giovanni Rotondo, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > San Giovanni Rotondo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Giovanni Rotondo
#2 Family Hotel in San Giovanni Rotondo
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Giovanni Rotondo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leon 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leon Hotel San Giovanni Rotondo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.