We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food with beautiful view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Life "Caffe Fanelli"

New Life "Caffe Fanelli"
Piazza della Liberta n.30 OSTUNI, 72017 Ostuni, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 165 Restaurants in Ostuni
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fresh food with beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were visiting Ostuni for only a few hours and wanted to eat dinner. We happened upon this cafe that was right off the main square. Not speaking much Italian, Pasqualye, the owner, spoke excellent English. His extensive menu had pictures and descriptions to match. While our meal was being freshly prepared, we sat out on the square under a tent with a BEAUTIFUL view of the town and ocean, people watching. Pasquale's prices are very reasonable and the portions were large. Pasquale gave us good advice on where to shop for wine, and made our short stay in Ostuni memorable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicestet
1 review
“Great food , great service, great position!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We were like lost sheep in Ostuni! No car and no idea. Pasqualye fed us great food and rescued our holiday by helping to plan our itinary using buses, trains and taxis so we could enjoy the delights of the area!
His pasta dish is amazing!
God bless you Pasqualye ! We will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best coffee and friendliest atmosphere in Ostuni”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I made Caffe Fanelli our second home during the week in June when we rented an apt. just off the main square in Ostuni. It was our first stop in the morning and our last stop at night before heading back to our apt. to sleep. In the morning we had latte and in the evening after dinner we had espresso - the best we've ever had! This is not said lightly since in our travels we are always seeking the "best espresso" and finally we can say we found it. Not only do they have the best coffee, but the food they serve, while simple, is very fresh and tasty. It's also a great place to relax and have a drink in the late afternoon. Last but not least, there is Pasquale, the owner. He goes out of his way to welcome his guests and gives the friendliest service imaginable.
He made our trip to Ostuni memorable. We hope to return to Ostuni soon and our first stop will be Cafe Fanelli.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Pasquale is the bomb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you're in Ostuni stop into new life for a coffee or snack and see Pasquale, the owner, smiling and talking with all of his customers like they are old friends. We were in Ostuni for a few days and he was so helpful in giving us info on what to do in town and in the region. Cappuccino is cappuccino, so you might as well get it somewhere where the experience is made awesome by the person making the coffee. He is fluent in English too. Yummy gelato and outside seating in the square. Thanks Pasquale! Your american friends, Lauren and Moe

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostuni
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best bar in Ostuni”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This cafe bar is run by a married couple, Pasquale and Mariella who work extremely hard and for whom nothing is too much trouble. The "snack" food is so well cooked and generous it more than satisfies as a full meal. The couple are very particular about their house wines and their coffees are, I believe, the best in town. They also serve home-made biscotti with the coffee and the selection of "nibbles" they present you with your glass of wine, all at no extra charge, are almost embarrassingly generous. The couple both speak excellent English and have proved an invaluable help to tourists seeking information or help in the 18 months or so since taking the business over and giving it . . .new life.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Life "Caffe Fanelli" also viewed

Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 

Been to New Life "Caffe Fanelli"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Life "Caffe Fanelli", register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.