We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fienile

Il Fienile
C/Da Rosara S.N,, 72017 Ostuni, Italy
08311982382
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 165 Restaurants in Ostuni
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
West Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Decide to try an Ostuni restaurant outside the city.
This restaurant didn't disappoint the antipasti was excellent-cooked as opposed to hams and cheeses that anyone could source.Our mains were very good too and we splashed out a little on a bottle of Le Braci which is my favourite red of they area.
Great setting too and attentive staff

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    54
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Lovely food and views on the edge of Ostuni”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Il Fienile is easy to find and has a good sized car park, we had a long lunch there (it opens at 1.15pm for lunch), before checking in to our accommodation nearby. Our table was outside on the lovely terrace under an awning and we sat near a very animated and entertaining group of Italian couples, with gentle background music playing.
Our meal included a delicious shared antipasti of multiple tasty dishes, fish primi and meat secondi, with a local red wine plus complimentary aperitif and the restaurant's own fennel digestif, (strong and unusual but fine). Service was professional and friendly throughout, with several staff taking time to explain the food in detail in English, we were made very welcome and promised to return. However, when we decided to try it for dinner later in the week they were not able to accommodate us, so best book if you plan to visit in the evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A romantic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Really lovely restaurant with a nice outdoor seating area perfect for a romantic dinner . Food and wine was really good and very tasty . We were pleased and wellcome drink . We really enjoyed it .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindisi, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Discovered this restaurant recently. Il Fienile is on the outskirts of Ostuni, outside dining available with views of Ostuni and the sea. Complimentary aperitif upon arrival (nice touch), assortment of very good antipasti x 2 just 10 euros, good wine list, food is fresh and cooked to perfection. The waiters very professional (their English very good). If you're looking for good fresh food in a great location with very reasonable prices go to Il Fienile!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostuni
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A lovely place with unique atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had driven past Il Fienile many times and had been put off trying it as the sign outside advertised a restaurant and music hall. We had visions of Italian traditional music or popular songs being belted out with the usual enthusiasm - Fine sometimes, but not particularly welcome with dinner.
However, having read all the rave reviews here on Trip Adviser we decided to try it.
We were initially surprised and delighted by its position - tucked away below Ostuni Old Town, surrounded by countryside and with distant views to the sea.
The outside seating gave us a splendid place from which to view the setting sun, unobtrusive cool jazz playing quietly in the background and friendly and attentive service made the setting for excellent Italian food and reasonably priced wines.
The primo of fish filled ravioli with a pistachio sauce was particularly inventive and good, but all the food was perfectly cooked and pleasantly and simply presented.
We shall be returning for the promised 'Live Music' which is performed every Friday night - I wish it started earlier than 10.0-p.m but most entertainment is pretty late on warm summer evenings.
We enthusiastically recommend this restaurant - excellent on all counts.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fienile also viewed

Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 

Been to Il Fienile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Fienile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.