We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fienile

Il Fienile
C/Da Rosara S.N,, 72017 Ostuni, Italy
08311982382
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 165 Restaurants in Ostuni
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Brindisi, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Discovered this restaurant recently. Il Fienile is on the outskirts of Ostuni, outside dining available with views of Ostuni and the sea. Complimentary aperitif upon arrival (nice touch), assortment of very good antipasti x 2 just 10 euros, good wine list, food is fresh and cooked to perfection. The waiters very professional (their English very good). If you're looking for good fresh food in a great location with very reasonable prices go to Il Fienile!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    54
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ostuni
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A lovely place with unique atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had driven past Il Fienile many times and had been put off trying it as the sign outside advertised a restaurant and music hall. We had visions of Italian traditional music or popular songs being belted out with the usual enthusiasm - Fine sometimes, but not particularly welcome with dinner.
However, having read all the rave reviews here on Trip Adviser we decided to try it.
We were initially surprised and delighted by its position - tucked away below Ostuni Old Town, surrounded by countryside and with distant views to the sea.
The outside seating gave us a splendid place from which to view the setting sun, unobtrusive cool jazz playing quietly in the background and friendly and attentive service made the setting for excellent Italian food and reasonably priced wines.
The primo of fish filled ravioli with a pistachio sauce was particularly inventive and good, but all the food was perfectly cooked and pleasantly and simply presented.
We shall be returning for the promised 'Live Music' which is performed every Friday night - I wish it started earlier than 10.0-p.m but most entertainment is pretty late on warm summer evenings.
We enthusiastically recommend this restaurant - excellent on all counts.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food in Ostuni”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, great setting, beautiful premises and setting - it's a must try in Ostuni with lovely Jazz music playing in the background. Love love love

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clean amazing food, great service, lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent 2 weeks in the Apulia region of Italy as well as the day of our recent wedding. We tried a few restaurants in Ostuni and this was definitely the best. We went there due to a reading a review on here and can say that we were not disappointed.

The restaurant is signposted from the main road but not easy to find, once found, the menu is select and all in Italian, but what comes out is superb. The owner did a great job of helping us with the translation.

The owner did not try to rip us off, said that one order of the antipasti would be enough, and it was. All other courses were simple but delicious, as Italian food should be. The house wine was perfect as well.

We even got to try a fennel digestif which was interesting.

All in all a fantastic place and definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Hidden, but surely worth to find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by the host of our masseria. It is outside the centre of Ostuni, about 1 km, but I would not recommend to walk over there. So go by car or taxi(?) As you can see by the reviews, it is mostly visited by Italians. We loved the pure food. And also the wine! The staff is very friendly and tries to explain everything in english (our Italian is not so good, and the menu was in Italian). Like at most places in Puglia, the portions are more then enough, so we shared the antipasti (which tasted great by the way!). It is that we never visit the same place twice when we are on holiday, but we were really tempted this time. Yes, the music is jazz, but this evening it was not loud and not disturbing at all. We would really recommend this restaurant when you visit Ostuni. There is a sign to the restaurant when you are on SP21 from Ostuni, but you can miss it easily when it is dark. So if you have navigation, it is wise to use it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fienile also viewed

Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 

Been to Il Fienile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Fienile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.