We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food and very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sapere & Sapori

Sapere & Sapori
Cantore Incalzi 10 | Vicinanze Cattedrale, 72017 Ostuni, Italy
334.1243223
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 159 restaurants in Ostuni
Price range: $27 - $33
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are delighted at Sapere e Sapori to present you the best local products from the Salento region. Tasting these dishes you will discover the traditional flavours. In our delicatessen showroom you will also be able to experience the habits and traditions of the people of our region. They were simple country folk who did hard but honest and dignified work on the land and who were full of life and goodwill.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent food and very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lovley little restaurant in great location. I had the fried courgettes and they were beautiful - and you can get a little glass of wine and a burschetta for less than 4 euros ....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    47
    53
    25
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Small restaurant near Cathedral”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

As the last reviewer put it, I would call this average. Nice restaurant inside reasonably authentic but with quite a small choice. Staff friendly but the wine was quite pricey for the local area. We have been to Ostuni for many years and have never eaten here before. Unfortunately Ostuni lives on its merits as a tourist town, particularly in summer and a lot of the eating places are only very average. This is one of them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A nice little restaurant just away from the cathedral”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a typical trattoria just around the corner from the pretty cathedral. It's there to attract the tourists and if Tripadvisor had a "good" category rather than a jump from average to very good, then that's where I would place it.

We weren't that hungry so we had a plate of meat, mixed salad, fried zucchini and a bottle of water which just hit the spot. The service was good and it was rather nice sitting outside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostuni, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“excellent food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We live here in Ostuni and had not discovered this restaurant before even though we've visited many times.

We visited Sapere e Sapori during November and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food, service and indoor dining area.

There were four of us eating and as we couldn't decide what to order we decided to share four different meals. They were good portions allowing us all a decent amount to sample. We were also given a very large dish of dried figs at the end of the meal which were complimentary. We also felt that the prices were reasonable considering they are at the top of the old city near to the cathedral, we paid approx 10 euros each and this included beers and a bottle of water.

Overall we were very pleased and will be using this restaurant again and will be recommending it to our guests.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor quality, small serving”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

This restaurants was open at lunch when most of the other restaurants were closed. And it's location is nicely sqeezed between narrow white streets.
We had local appetizers, 2 pastas, water and wine. Servings were very small, considering Pugliese habits. The appetizers were definitely of low quality (old ham and salami, half mozzarella), the pastas were very average. The service poor - the waiters were underage kids (the owner's kIds?)
The bill was high, too much for what they offer.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapere & Sapori also viewed

Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 

Been to Sapere & Sapori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapere & Sapori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.