We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only Ostuni food experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Spessite

Ristorante Spessite
Via Clemente Brancasi, 43, 72017 Ostuni, Italy
0831.302866
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 165 Restaurants in Ostuni
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lecce, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The only Ostuni food experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Looking for typical food from Ostuni and Puglia? This is the place to be. Abundant portions, nice staff, cosy location, and excellent service. Don't miss it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    33
    17
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food, welcoming atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stumbled upon Ristorante Spessite on a business trip, and was delighted! The place itself is cosy and homely, which ties in with the typical local 'down-to-earth' feel of the menu. Perfect, friendly service that easily managed to accommodate my 'meat-free' request. It was not very busy on the night I visited (December is quiet in Ostuni), but nevertheless, the food stood out for being fresh, generously portioned, and absolutely delicious, with surprising little touches like pieces of roasted garlic added to the orecchiette dish I had. The house wine, too, was very good. I paid less than 20 Euros for 2 courses and wine, which I think is excellent value for what you get.

Highly recommended for its friendly atmosphere, good prices and delicious local food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Evocative location, great owners, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The restaurant is placed in the real centre of the town in a very characteristic and old building. The owners were really nice and the food good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Regional Dishes in Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a fantastic small restaurant which serves traditional dishes from the area.

The restaurant has fix menu, which comes with a perfect price; so you can taste lots of antipasti and nice dishes. Orecchietti with "cime di rapa" is excellent, which made with fresh pasta. Ordering a nice bottle of "Primitivo di Manduria" would be excellent, since the wine of house may not match your taste.

Waitress told that it's the first the restaurant of the Ostuni.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere, excellent yet simple food made with high quality ingredients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011 via mobile

We had lunch here on a very warm Ostuni day. Our party of 4 adults and 5 children (aged 8-12) were made to feel very welcome. The mixed antipasti was excellent, particularly the local cheese. The pasta dishes were superb. All in all excellent value. I suspect that it was an advantage having an Italian with us as this enabled us to gain full advantage of the staff's recommendations and steered us away from standard tourist fare.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Spessite also viewed

Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 

Been to Ristorante Spessite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Spessite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.