We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Hotel Aurora
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S. Antonio 19, 24020 Castione della Presolana, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We booked a room through booking.com in December in hope there would be snow for skiing, but there was no snow. The hotel allowed us to reschedule the booking even though we had chosen a non cancellable booking. They gave us no problem when we took several weeks to choose a new date. Castione Della Presolana and the surrounding area are beautiful. The hotel very welcoming, we had a room with a double bed and a single bed in a separate room. The bathroom was big by European standards and everything was very well maintained. The balcony faced the street in front, but had a good view and there was not a lot of traffic. In the morning we got personal service for breakfast with pancakes, boiled eggs, juice, yogurt, and more available. Unfortunately, the day we could have gone skiing in February was also warm and raining so we did not get to ski. Monte Pora ski area is about 20 minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    7
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Excelent, cosy, family run hotel in Presolana . We have been there with our friend for a short skiing stay for 3 nights. We chose the hotel based on TripAdvisor good rating and we were not disappointed. Clean, nice, comfortable rooms (well equiped bathroom), great (really great!!!) cousine: we asked for HB - the dinner was far, far better that we expected - it was spectacular! The hotel itself has a good location in Presolana. The owners are really caring and taking care of all the details, helping in all, even the smallest issues and questions we had. We will surely return back to Aurora next year for a short skiing break. Thank you Arurora:). You made this stay an excellent relaxing break:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I have been for food in the Aurora on a number of occasions, and had the pleasure of staying there with my girlfriend for a week late in the ski season a couple of years ago. The food is exceptionally considered, prepared and delivered with real thought going into the experience. We were lucky enough to be the only people staying in the hotel when we stayed there, and were treated like kings, with the different menu options being offered to us on the way out to a days skiiing in the morning... which, had the effect of leaving us salivating at the thought of the dinner that was being prepared. Lovely warm hosts too and exceptional value. Once again Italy undersells itself!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Me and my friends went to ski to Alps and did not expect much, but we were amused. You will get nice breakfest and perfect, really amazing 4-5 course dinners. Every dish was prepared and served with attention to detail and most food was local Lombardian/North Italian recipes. When we wanted to know more about food, wine or anything else, Fabio was always ready to explain. Aurora is very nice, all clean and well managed, family owned business. If you plan to go ski to Monte Pora or Presolana Hotel Aurora is very good choice. if you need more flexibility for transfers from hotel to ski area you might need a car, otherwise hotel will arrange transfer for you at agreed time and prices.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Myself my wife and our 9 year old daughter stayed at the Aurora for 5 nights over Christmas. It is very easy to find we drove from Orio De Serio airport (Bergamo) and the drive was 45 minutes very easy.
We arrived at dinner time. The food was very good and typical of the region. It was prepared by the owner/chef Signor Massimo.
Our room was very comfortable. Plenty of storage space and hooks etc. Very nice bathroom with all mod cons. Hairdryer lighted mirror, spa bathtub. Big beds. Wonderful views from large balcony and safe free of charge. We ate every evening at the hotel and food was very varied and typical of the region and well presented by diligent and helpful waiters. Christmas day feast was amazing.
Close to ski in Passo De Presolana only 10 minutes drive or 10 minutes to Monte Pora for advanced ski. Pleasant safe skiing ideal for beginners or rusty intermediates. Nice little bar in hotel. Lovely village 2/3 minutes walk. Nice cafe and nice little shops. All in all this was a wonderful stay. All of us enjoyed the area and having a cosy friendly hotel to come to each evening was fantastic. English is spoken at this hotel by owner and staff they explain food and menu very well. We would recommend this hotel for couples or family for serenity security and comfort.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Via S. Antonio 19, 24020 Castione della Presolana, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Castione della Presolana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Castione della Presolana
#2 Family Hotel in Castione della Presolana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aurora 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Castione Della Presolana, Italy - Province Of Bergamo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.