We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unrivaled stay in the Aeolian Islands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Therasia Resort

Save Saved
You added Therasia Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Therasia Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Vulcanello | Isola di Vulcano, 98050 Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Isola Vulcano
Province of Pisa, Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Unrivaled stay in the Aeolian Islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

If you are even thinking about staying at Therasia, do it now! It was by far the best decision made on our two week Sicilian adventure to stay at this hotel. There are rooms for every level of financial readiness you may be at for a special time, but a sea view terrace is ideal! Everything about our stay was perfect... from the food to the service finishing up with our view! Every member of the staff went out of their way to assist us on every need. We travelled with two small children and the hotel assisted us in getting a babysitter to enjoy our anniversary evening to ourselves. The staff was great to our children and they both became familiar enough to remember some staff by name (Our children are 3 and 1). There are three different restaurants available poolside, mid-range and gourmet. It was awesome to sit out by the pool to enjoy a grilled lunch...pizzas, fish or burgers were all awesome! We had room service on our terrace for the spectacular sunset and the food was excellent. The gourmet restaurant was easily the best dinner we experienced in all of Sicily, and the service was impeccable! Breakfast is world's away one of the best we have experienced in Europe after living in Italy for 4 years now. I just can-not express the breadth of choices and availability of local everything from cannoli to jams on to the shrimp skewers to the omelets all fresh! Bravo! The spa was very good with unique local products, and above average services (pool, sauna... etc.) There is ample parking if you bring a car, but you do not need it as there is a shuttle service into town (the hotel is in its own corner of the island). There is access to the sea via a nice stairway and plenty of places along the way to find your own spot to lie around taking in the wonderful views of the sea and Lipari. The only issue we had was that we only could stay 3 nights! We would certainly visit here again and could not recommend this place more! I wish we lived there! Room 128 was just perfect!

Room Tip: Room 128 for excellent sunsets and moon sets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    70
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
70
287
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I vacationed at Therasia for our honeymoon. It was AMAZING! The Aeolian Islands are like the Hawaii of Italy. Absolutely gorgeous! We were greeted at the Vulcano port by the hotel shuttle and a very wam, lovely woman. Don't be put off by the smells of sulphur- you can't smell them at the resort. We were a little nervous, as Vulcano seems very desolate but as soon as we arrived at the resort we knew we were in good hands. Nancy, the customer relations specialist, was amazing. She showed us around and made us feel so welcome, checking in on us throughout our stay. We had a beautiful room overlooking the ocean. The rooms are huge, very rare in Italy. They are nicely appointed and comfortable. The swimming pool is absoltuely breathtaking and because the hotel is so small, it never seemed to be busy or crowded. We spend luxurious days lounging pool side and enjoying the breathtaking views. The food at Therasia is delicious! We ate delicious pizzas and bruschetta for lunch and had elaborate Sicilian dinners. The portions are BIG and the pricecs are reasonable. Every meal we ate there was interesting, and delicious! The tasting menu at the fancy restaurant was a true experience and Salvio, the head catering manager, is wonderful and so accommodating. The staff at Therasia was truly lovely. Everyone was friendly and would greet you by name when they saw you. The resort was clean, and well maintained with grorgeous grounds. We used the spa, and each had 2 massages. The spa is co-ed, huge, very relaxing, very nice and reasonable. We loved every minute of our time at Therasia. The staff, food, service, accommodations, and prices, were all EXCELLENT. We were thrilled when we received our bill and it was MUCH lower than we had anticipated.

Just beware- boats going TO and FROM Vulcano leave about 5 minutes EARLY! We missed our boat off the island but the hotel took care of it, found us a new route to our next desitnation, paid for the travel cost difference and helped us out along the way.

I HIGHLY recommend this resort. 5 star all the way. The sunsets are truly breathtaking!!!!!! The food is delicious, with a wide selection and accommodating staff. The room was beautiful and comfortable. They made our honeymoon so special and wonderful.

Room Tip: chose a room with an ocean view, we had a large corner suite which was spectacular, with an enourmou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I attended a small international conference for a week at this lovely spa hotel. The accommodations were outstanding, whether people chose the least expensive rooms where they enjoyed a variety of public verandas or the deluxe sea view rooms with private sun and shade terraces. We all had "full board" so from the astonishing breakfast buffet (how about a dozen choices of local honeys identified by the flowers or trees that the bees fed on to top house-made yogurt?) through the multi-course lunch to the sumptuous dinners featuring local seafoods, we enjoyed excellent cuisine. The wait staff did their best to meet the demands of children, vegetarians, and just plain picky eaters in every possible way. Beds were extra comfortable; housekeeping was prompt and discrete. The free hydrotherapy pool was a true treat for exercise. The spa massage (aromatherapy) was a joy with reasonable pricing. Many staff members are multi-lingual and every one we interacted with from the greeter at the ferry dock to the shuttle chauffeur to the front desk and restaurant and spa staff were smiling and very helpful. There are charming walks and paths on the hotel's property. The one with cacti and succulents meanders around, giving views up to the simmering vulcanello. Excursions and boat tours around the other Aeolian Islands were arranged for a fee. Although Vulcano island is famous for its sulfur mud baths, this hotel is located well away from that odorous area.

Room Tip: We took a deluxe room with views to the island of Lipari and also sunsets. The less pricey rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

What a wonderful place! a white-and-blue pearl gently deposited on the cliff facing Lipari, in the area called "Vulcanello"!
The architecture is magnificent! mediterranean style, somehow recalling arabian style too. Two infinite pools overseeing the channel and Lipari, bars here and there, a little path going down to the sea, nice rooms, silence, the wind...
I appreciated the excellent cuisine in the hotel too (with very good selection of wines), its wide breakfast buffets, and I was really living in a fairy tale while staying in this most extraordinary hotel: I did not want to leave and come back to the world!!!
I will be back! thank you!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Essex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A glorious place to be in June when the high season hasn't started and there is plenty of room everywhere in the hotel and the cafes and restaurants. We were upgraded to a beautiful room with a huge terrace overlooking the sea and the view was just wonderful.

The senior staff are delightful, honestly doing their best to give you a wonderful stay, but some of the junior staff are a little sullen, particularly in the restaurant where there seemed to a war of attrition going on. One night guests were complaining while waiters were running around trying to find the right guest for the right meal yet our courses were served up so quickly we hardly had time to breathe and didn't get our wine till we had nearly finished our main course! The food was ok but nothing special. Breakfast was certainly hit and miss. There just weren't enough staff to take the orders and when we did order something it sometimes didnt come at all. On our last morning around 9 am the buffet looked very depleted- no one was taking the trouble to top things up or replace things or tidy up. On our final night the restaurant was opened by the pool in the evening for the first time and that was really lovely. We had fabulous grilled fish as we watched the sunset and the staff were great even if the chefs by the pizza oven looked fed up!

We had a wonderful boat trip around the island while we were there that the hotel organised and also visited Lipari which was well worth a visit. We would certainly go back to the Therasia for the rooms, the views, the pool and the peace and tranquility and certainly in June. Finally an especial big thank you to Nancy and Valentina who are two lovely staff members.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a terrace, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Therasia is extremely beautiful, clean, elegant, relaxing, and comfortable. The staff was friendly, attentive, and accommodating. The food was quite good, the views are magnificent, the decor charming without trying too hard. It was very easy to coordinate our travel to and from the hotel with the hospitality staff, the hike up the Volcano and driving around the island are of course not to be missed. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a romantic getaway or even just a sweet time with friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Outstanding service with best quality. We were quite surprised to see the welcoming and extremely attentive and very obliging way of the personal. Rooms were very nice and food was authentic and very good. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Therasia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Therasia Resort

Address: Localita Vulcanello | Isola di Vulcano, 98050 Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola Vulcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isola Vulcano
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isola Vulcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Therasia Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the island of Vulcano, surrounded by unspoilt nature with the open horizon of the Mediterranean sea, lies Therasia Resort.The hotel is perched at the top of a promontory, overlooking the faraglioni of Lipari in the enchanting tranquillity the Aeolian Islands. The hotel’s light shades superbly contrast with the black volcanic stone, while the harmonious décor united with elegant furnishings give the hotel a welcoming, warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Escapio, Odigeo, Otel, Venere, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Therasia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Therasia Hotel Isola Vulcano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Therasia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.