We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extraordinary place, one would like to stay forever...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Therasia Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Therasia Resort to your Saves list
Therasia Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Vulcanello | Isola di Vulcano, 98050 Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Isola Vulcano
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“An extraordinary place, one would like to stay forever...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

What a wonderful place! a white-and-blue pearl gently deposited on the cliff facing Lipari, in the area called "Vulcanello"!
The architecture is magnificent! mediterranean style, somehow recalling arabian style too. Two infinite pools overseeing the channel and Lipari, bars here and there, a little path going down to the sea, nice rooms, silence, the wind...
I appreciated the excellent cuisine in the hotel too (with very good selection of wines), its wide breakfast buffets, and I was really living in a fairy tale while staying in this most extraordinary hotel: I did not want to leave and come back to the world!!!
I will be back! thank you!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    78
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
71
308
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, Essex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A glorious place to be in June when the high season hasn't started and there is plenty of room everywhere in the hotel and the cafes and restaurants. We were upgraded to a beautiful room with a huge terrace overlooking the sea and the view was just wonderful.

The senior staff are delightful, honestly doing their best to give you a wonderful stay, but some of the junior staff are a little sullen, particularly in the restaurant where there seemed to a war of attrition going on. One night guests were complaining while waiters were running around trying to find the right guest for the right meal yet our courses were served up so quickly we hardly had time to breathe and didn't get our wine till we had nearly finished our main course! The food was ok but nothing special. Breakfast was certainly hit and miss. There just weren't enough staff to take the orders and when we did order something it sometimes didnt come at all. On our last morning around 9 am the buffet looked very depleted- no one was taking the trouble to top things up or replace things or tidy up. On our final night the restaurant was opened by the pool in the evening for the first time and that was really lovely. We had fabulous grilled fish as we watched the sunset and the staff were great even if the chefs by the pizza oven looked fed up!

We had a wonderful boat trip around the island while we were there that the hotel organised and also visited Lipari which was well worth a visit. We would certainly go back to the Therasia for the rooms, the views, the pool and the peace and tranquility and certainly in June. Finally an especial big thank you to Nancy and Valentina who are two lovely staff members.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a terrace, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Therasia is extremely beautiful, clean, elegant, relaxing, and comfortable. The staff was friendly, attentive, and accommodating. The food was quite good, the views are magnificent, the decor charming without trying too hard. It was very easy to coordinate our travel to and from the hotel with the hospitality staff, the hike up the Volcano and driving around the island are of course not to be missed. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a romantic getaway or even just a sweet time with friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Outstanding service with best quality. We were quite surprised to see the welcoming and extremely attentive and very obliging way of the personal. Rooms were very nice and food was authentic and very good. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Truly outstanding resort, with service to match in charming location

Pool was superb, rooms were very comfortable. Great staff.
Bus transfer to town, beaches and ferry was a delight.
Good range of whiskers, grappa et al in the bar

Room Tip: Sea views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Occasionally there are hotels and places where you are in a quandary about whether you should review them or not. This is one. The selfish part of me would prefer people not to know so that we can keep it to ourselves. Unfortunately that would be unfair to the staff of the Therasia.
This place is quite simply perfection. The staff cannot do enough for you, the rooms are exquisite in their Italian simplicity and the views are just perfect. You will find it hard to find sunsets like these almost anywhere in the world.
If you want to simply relax and escape from the world plus climb a volcano and eat in one of the best restaurants that we have come across then this is the place for you (the Lobster Cappuccino at the Il Cappero is to die for!). if you want nightlife, bustle and state of the art boutique rooms then then do not come here.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room with terrace for amazing views and sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

After the stress of planning an Italian wedding we wanted a peaceful stylish resort where we could do nothing for 3 days and that is exactly what we got! From the second we arrived at the port the hotel were taking care of us. We were met by the courtesy shuttle bus and a guest liaison lady who made our arrival special by a free welcome drink and taking us straight to our room without any lengthy check in process. It was smooth! The facilities are great. The outdoor pool was too cold for me but my hubby enjoyed a dip. The indoor spa was very well thought out though. We had a great couples massage (a first for my other half but he really enjoyed it). The cocktails on an evening before dinner on the terrace were a little pricey but worth it as the nibbles that accompany them are basically a starter and the sunsets are priceless in their own right. Not that this stopped us enjoying the 2 wonderful restaurants. We had the chefs tasting menu the first night - the food was beautiful and the presentation very clever. One slight niggle was that we didn't seem to get any time alone to enjoy our first romantic meal, the staff were so attentive they wanted to discuss practically each mouthful of food and each drop of carefully selected wine to go with each dish. Some may enjoy this kind of attention however it was too much for us. Our room was beautiful with 2 terraces (one sunny and one in the shade) over looking the sea and other islands. All in all a honeymoon treat - 3 days was enough for us though, a week may have been too long to do nothing. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Therasia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Therasia Resort

Address: Localita Vulcanello | Isola di Vulcano, 98050 Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola Vulcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isola Vulcano
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isola Vulcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Therasia Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the island of Vulcano, surrounded by unspoilt nature with the open horizon of the Mediterranean sea, lies Therasia Resort.The hotel is perched at the top of a promontory, overlooking the faraglioni of Lipari in the enchanting tranquillity the Aeolian Islands. The hotel’s light shades superbly contrast with the black volcanic stone, while the harmonious décor united with elegant furnishings give the hotel a welcoming, warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Therasia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Therasia Hotel Isola Vulcano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Therasia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.