We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Therasia Resort

Save Saved
You added Therasia Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Therasia Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Vulcanello | Isola di Vulcano, 98050 Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Isola Vulcano
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We visited Therasia resort in July, 2012. And all I can it was unforgettable. The hotel is placed in a very scenic part of the Vulcano island, so it was a pleasure to watch the views of the sea and Lipary. Another feature of the Therasia location is very quiet sea. No waves made it easy to swim. That's a really wonderful place. Breathtaking views, good cuisine, friendly staff, jacuzy in the rooms were so important to spend the holidays as we wanted. Thanks a lot !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    65
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
63
262
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trieste, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Wonderful hotel, perfect location. The service was superb the staff is very professional and accommodating. Worth getting sea view room because the view is incredible. The pool overlooks the sea and so does the beautiful restaurant. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is visiting the island. It is perfect for a romantic vacation but also for a family. I suggest also rending a boat for the day, it is worth it!I have travelled the world and this place is high on my list of the best I have experienced. 10/10.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therasia1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Therasia Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Marco,
thank you for the review!
It was really a pleasure for us to have you here! We are very glad to know that you like everything of our Resort and that you appreciated our staff and all our services and facilities.
All the staff really thank you very much and hope to see you again next year!
Warm regards,
The manager and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Therasia for a week in August 2012. It was our first time at this resort and we were supposed to only stay for five days before departing for Capo Vaticano. In the end, we decided to cancel our on-land trip, and instead we remained at Therasia. We did not want to leave! We discovered a truly special place: the natural surrounding is breathtaking, the sunsets overlooking Lipari is indescribable and from the hotel swimming pool you can see the shape of all the other Aeolian Islands. The rooms (wi-fi, mini-bar and satellite tv) and the whole hotel is furnished in the typical Sicilian “country side” style, and it feels more like a country home rather than a hotel: every detail however is curated to the maximum attention.
One of the greatest strength of the hotel is the food: regardless of the meal, being it breakfast, lunch or dinner, the food is delicious and the variety and freshness of the products superb. There are two main restaurants, l’Arcipelago and il Cappero, plus a pool bar which does all-day food and drinks including lunch. Each restaurant enjoys the spectacular view over the other islands: not only a mouthwatering experience but a treat for the eyes as well. At breakfast, you can choose from typical eggs and bacon, to ice-cream and “brioche” the typical Sicilian breakfast. While the Arcipelago serves more simple but tasty dishes (perfect for family with children), Il Cappero is more refined: the chef creates a more modern type of traditional Sicilian cuisine…. the lobster cappuccino is a must-try!!
The Spa: I have had a relaxing massage and it was superb. The spa is also (not difficult to believe) kept to a very high standard of cleanliness and organization. The sea water swimming pool is a treat for the bones and a perfect place to escape the heat of the early summer afternoons.
Last but not least, the incredibly helpful, kind and fun staffs (by the end of the 2nd day, we already were friends and chatting to basically everyone!) who ensure that everything runs smoothly for guests, from arrival to departure. The super energetic Nancy, the guest relationship manager who welcomed us at the ferry port is always around, cheerful and happy and always prepared to help with any possible requests or issues. She is supported by Sonia and Anna at Reception, two lovely girls, whom, together with the rest of the staff, make a genuine dream-team! We could not have had a better seven days and we are already dreaming about our holiday next year, at this gem in the Aeolian Islands.
Giulia&Luca

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therasia1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Therasia Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Giulia,
thank you for the amazing review!
It was really a pleasure for us to have you here as our guests and friends and to cater for you and your needs! We are very glad to know that you appreciated our Resort, our staff and all our servicies and facilities.
Crescenzo, the chef, really thank you for considering the food and his dishes one of the greatest strength of the hotel and Nancy who is looking forwards to seeing you soon here or in London, as discussed , wants to give you her special and warm thanks for everything.
Finally, all the staff including Sonia and Anna really thank you very much for your review and hope to look after you again next year!
Warm regards,
The manager and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My partner and I spent part of our Honeymoon here and absolutely loved it. Everything about the Hotel was top notch from the room to the pool, bar and restaurants. The staff were incredibly friendly and the price of food and drinks were very reasonable considering the surrounding. This was the perfect place to relax for 4 days after a more strenuous holiday. The only thing that we didn't like about this resort is that every hotel from now on will be a disappointment.

Room Tip: We didn't pay for any sort of upgrade and our room was still brilliant. we had a balcony facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therasia1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Therasia Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Feeley,
Really thank you for the amazing review!
It was really a pleasure for us to have you here as our guest and to spend with you this special moment of your life as the Honeymoon is. We are very glad to know that you like everything of our Hotel and since you say that the only thing you didn’t like about this resort is that every hotel from now on will be a disappointment we just hope to see you soon again.
Kind regards,
The manager and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublim
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Just back from spending a week in Therasia with my partner. This was the most relaxing week I've spent in a hotel, thanks largely to the staff who effectively catered for our every need. I don't really understand some of the comments regarding the service - we found it to be 100% Five Star service. When we booked the trip, we had an email from Nancy who organised the transfer from Catania airport, to the port and then onto Vulcano - this took a huge amount of stress out of the trip knowing it was looked after. On arrival we were given some drinks on the house whilst the bags were brought to our rooms. Nancy booked us in for dinner in downstairs restaurant - It should be noted that 95% of the menu is fish-based. We chose The Archipelago Restaurant where a dress code is inforced (no shorts/flip-flops etc) where a more standard menu is available (about €50/person).

The rest of the week was spent lounging by the pool and using the spa, punctuated by nightly trips down to the port for dinner - the shuttle bus to the town was a really nice touch.

The only real issue we came across was a photo shoot which was occurring in the swimming pool over the course of 2 days - some of the shots/models poses were a little 'risque' and not appropriate for children. I don't think many of the guests felt comfortable using the pool during this time either. I guess this was a complete once off and not a regular event to be fair fantastic week of great food, R&R, sunshine and plenty of peace and quiet. Perfect for couples, honeymooners etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Therasia Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Steve,
thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure for us to cater for you and your needs. We are very happy to know that your week with us was a positive experience and you felt looked after since our mission is to take care of our guests and to make them feel at home. Nancy and all the staff were very happy to take stress out of your trip and to make you feel looked after. We are very happy to know that you appreciated our services and we apologize for the photo shoot and we make sure that as you said it was just once off and not a regual event. Finally, we really than you for your review and we hope to see you again for another relaxing stay at the therasia resort sea & spa.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Our daughter and son-in-law wanted to have their wedding reception at The Therasia following their marriage in a wonderful hill-top church on Vulcano island. The hotel helped them plan everything beautifully and the wedding itself was stunning from start to finish. Our English guests who stayed at the hotel were stunned by the beauty of the location, the excellence of the rooms and the kindness of the staff. The food at the reception was of Michelin-starred quality although most of the guests went to dine in the port on other nights.
It is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday and especially for a honeymoon. Although most of our guests were adults, there were four children under 8 and much was done to cater for their needs. However, evening meals with small children are not advisable except if it is a particular reception such as ours.The mini-bus service to and from the port is excellent. In particular, Nancy, was of outstanding help as were the two young men who worked with our son-in-law to plan the wedding. We felt very well looked after. Thank you/ Grazie!

Room Tip: Obviously, the most stunning rooms have sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Therasia Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Rina,
we are very glad to thank you for everything. We are really happy to know you appreciated what the hotel did for the wedding of you daughter and son –in-law since it was really a pleasure for us and everybody really enjoyed planning and living it. You, your family, the newlyweds and all the guests were very kind and helpful too. It was a very great pleasure for us to receive this review and all the staff and in particular Nancy and the two managers really thank you very much.
Looking forward to seeing you soon at the Therasia Resort sea & spa and to have the opportunity to look you after again,
Best regards
The manager and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Beautiful setting, fantastic views over the sea and the neighboring island of Lipari, reasonable food (but it is more fun to have dinner in town) a good swimming pool and access to sea. It also has a very enjoyable spa. You can spend a couple of enjoyable days here or use it as a basis for visiting other islands.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Therasia Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear James,
thank you for your review . We are very happy you had a good experience with us.
Looking forward to seeing you again,
Kind regards,
The manager and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Therasia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Therasia Resort

Address: Localita Vulcanello | Isola di Vulcano, 98050 Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola Vulcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isola Vulcano
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isola Vulcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Therasia Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the island of Vulcano, surrounded by unspoilt nature with the open horizon of the Mediterranean sea, lies Therasia Resort.The hotel is perched at the top of a promontory, overlooking the faraglioni of Lipari in the enchanting tranquillity the Aeolian Islands. The hotel’s light shades superbly contrast with the black volcanic stone, while the harmonious décor united with elegant furnishings give the hotel a welcoming, warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Therasia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Therasia Hotel Isola Vulcano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Therasia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.