We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eligible hotel, but poor location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pyrgaki Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pyrgaki Hotel to your Saves list
Pyrgaki Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800m from Livadia Beach | 1.5 km from Parikia, Parikia 844 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Parikia
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Eligible hotel, but poor location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was ok even though three stars would be more suitable class for it. Sea view was astonishing and was really worth of pay 10€ extra for that. Service was ok, breakfast quite poor. There wasn't any vegetables in breakfast buffet and we would have expected a little bit more variety for four stars hotel. Location could be better. We advice you to rent a moto to move around Parikia. Swimming pool was small but it was anyway a pool.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    30
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
27
37
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We booked three nights, but enjoyed the stay and the island so much, we had to book another night. Our room was spacious and clean with a wonderful view over the town and harbour. (we loved the way our pajamas were arranged on our clean and freshly made beds!)
We hired bicyles to see the island and that solved the problem with the distance to town. We even had a lovely ride with the owner in his car to the other side of the island. We felt like V.I.P's!
The staff was always friendly and welcoming with a glass of orange juice when we first arrived on a hot summer day! After every joyful day, we came back to have a swim in the sparkling blue pool, right underneath our room's balcony. We enjoyed a 'self-made' sundowner on our balcony with the view of the son setting over the harbour underneath - a picture to remember for ever in our minds. After a busy day down in town, it was nice to have distance and quietness in the evenings - the up-side of the hotel's location.
We are always greatful for having food to eat - so we enjoyed the breakfast every morning and had plenty to eat. The view added flair to our joyful breakfasts!
When the end of our holiday on lovely Paros arrived, we were taken to the harbour with a warm greeting by the owner!!
We fell in love with Paros and we tell all our friends about the ONE place to stay - the Pyrgaki Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent four days here at the end of May, it's a nice place, very clean and good facilities. Very nice pool area with lounging chairs and a good view of Parikia. The only thing we didn't like was the location is a little bit removed from the town, it's about a 15 - 20 minute walk into town but a very steep uphill climb walking back, we took the taxi a few times, cost 5 euros. Also, there is no free "shuttle" service as the hotel advertises, the owner offered us a ride to the port but wanted five euros to do so. If we visited Paros again we would probably choose a place closer to Parikia and with friendlier owners.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel on the upper level, they have a very nice view of Parikia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Rudeness, rudeness and rudeness. I've been to many places around the world but it's the first time we had this type of treatment. Avoid at all costs!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korydallos
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I visited Paros with some friends earlier this month. I had been longing to go to Paros for years now and I regret not having done so earlier. The island is really beautiful, as most of the Greek islands. We stayed in Pyrgaki and I must admit that at first I was a bit worried over some reviews I read. However it turned out I had no reasons to worry. The hotel was really nice and clean and the staff treated as like family. They were very helpful with directions and suggestions as to where we could go out at night. A great plus would be the great view over the sea that we got to enjoy from our room. I'm planning to visit Paros again this summer and it's certainly going to be Pyrgaki hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I have been to Paros a lot of times before and this was my first time in Pyrgaki Hotel. I stayed there for a whole week from 15 to 22 September with my boyfriend. First, there is a big difference among hotels in Paros in how the stuff conduct to gay people. In some of them and particular in this one we never felt to be embarrassed or to be judged negative by the owner. Instead they make us to feel comfortable and I liked the hospitality and the friendly atmosphere. Although the hotel was 10 minutes away walk from the port ,we were compensated by the the view which was absolutely beautiful and we didn't thing in any case to change it in order to be near the harbor. In addition, the room was well ventilated, clean with all comfort, such us TV and air-condition.The service was excellent, quick and left us with the best impressions. As a result I recommend it to everyone and special to gay and lesbian...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

i 've been to paros from 11 until 16 of October with my family and some friends and we stayed at Pyrgaki hotel..
We had a nice time, we found exactly what we expected to. The hotel was really nice, reminding me the Greek way of living, the people are warm and ready to satisfy your demands. I don't have any complaints about the rooms , it was a typical cozy room and we didn't find something unexpected. Some days the weather was cold and we didn't face any problem with the heating..
The view from our balcony was stunning , we spend two nights chilling out at the balcony looking the beautiful sea, really relaxing experience..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pyrgaki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyrgaki Hotel

Address: 800m from Livadia Beach | 1.5 km from Parikia, Parikia 844 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Paros > Parikia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Parikia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pyrgaki Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the port of Parikia, Pyrgaki hotel in Paros, Greece is a 4 star category with Aegean architecture blending wonderfully with the landscape along one of the most beautiful places in Paros island. Warm hospitality, suburb cuisine and complete peace in the most convenient location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pyrgaki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyrgaki Hotel Parikia
Pyrgaki Hotel Paros/Parikia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pyrgaki Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.