We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but not much more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asterias

Save Saved
You added Hotel Asterias to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Asterias
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Naoussa, Parikia 84400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 46 hotels in Parikia
Exeter, NH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, but not much more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

Hotel Asterias is a great location for arriving by ferry, it is just a short walk away. If you stay there, ask for the odd number rooms, those are the rooms that face the bay and the rooms have balconies with a table and chairs. The breakfast was pretty basic but if they had anything special of note, once it ran out, it was not replaced. The breakfast room overlooks the bay so you do have nice water views there also.

The hotel was just a short walk from the main part of town with the shops and restaurants. It was quiet when we were there, but it is on a main road to the other beACH resorts so could be busy with traffic noise during the summer.

The room was very basic, lino floor, small bath with shower and the doors all closed with a clang and a great deal of echoing at night. Bring earplugs.

One complaint was the bathroom shower had small bugs in it, I asked the staff to please spray it, but they never did. We were there for 3 nights and I just dealt with it. I think they came up from the shower drain.

They were not the most friendly or helpful, just very business like. Our ferry on the last day was cancelled due to high wind and we were going to have to get a night ferry out. The hotel was no where near full and we asked if we could have a late check out due to our unforseen circumstances and they told us we would have to pay for another day if we used the room past 12:00. That was a little annoying.

It was great to have the ocean view, but I might check around for another location if I returned.

  • Liked — location to town and water views from bedroom
  • Disliked — cleanliness and helpfulness of staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
4
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knokke-Heist Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

Booked hotel from 15 till 19 September via internet with 24hours travel agency in Athens. A perfect location close to the center of Parikia on the seaside boulevard, looking out on the bay & port.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

The location is great and the price was good. Our room had a terrace overlooking a pretty garden (which helped camouflage the main road) and the sea. The room itself was basic, the bath room a bit dated and worn and breakfast was simple. Cleanliness was average but the pool was a bit scummy. The staff was very nice. The center of Parikia is within walking distance, as are the ferries, and there are many tavernas near by. All in all, I would say the place is pretty average.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

Great small pool, located across the street from the beach and down the street from the town center. Very clean rooms and very helpful owners. Breakfast could offer a little more.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Lambert, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

Great staff, very helpfull. Rooms are average, but clean.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — squeeky bed
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

We have just returned from a trip to four Greek Islands. The first one was Paros. We spent 5 days at the Asterias Hotel. The owners were wonderful, picked us up at the ferry and helped us with directions and suggestions of places to visit. We always got a cheerful hello as we left for the day and a warm, welcome back when we returned. It was a very friendly, family feeling. The room was nice, with a view of the sea and a lovely balcony. The breakfast room was charming. The location was perfect for walking to town or port. there was an internet cafe nearby and a place to rent a scooter. I would recommend this property very highly.

  • Liked — OWNERS, LOCATION
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2007

My Mother and I took the Island Hopping Sigma through Transat Holidays. We have no complaints regarding this agency. The representatives were all very nice, and all except one were very knowledgeable in their area (islands).
The hotel is situated on the main drag. About a 10-15 minute walk from the big shopping area and just across the street from the docks. Not a bad location – if you’re into the party scene and the beach is only a minute’s walk away.
I think I am very happy to have been there in May because I am confident that it would be wild and loud during the summer months. We did find it quiet at night while we were there.
Our receptionist in the hotel was the very nice and a talking parrot that spoke mostly in Greek greeted us. Cute.
Our view off the balcony was looking at the nice garden in the front of the hotel and we were able to see the water and main drag.
The beds were not at all comfortable, but again, we were extremely tired from all the walking and shopping. Which is the case in most hotels that I’ve read and heard about.
There was no one to take our bags here.
The size of our room was very tiny and it was not the cleanest. Someone killed a mosquito on the wall and the evidence was still there. Yuk.
The bathroom was very, and I mean very tiny. It did have enough towels.
Our Do Not Disturb sign was respected here.
My opinion of breakfast was not the best, however, my Mother enjoyed it.
I would only recommend this hotel if I were into the party scene. But I must admit, I did sleep through the night and felt rested the next day.

  • Liked — The parrot
  • Disliked — The hard beds
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Asterias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterias

Address: Naoussa, Parikia 84400, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Paros > Parikia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 46 hotels in Parikia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Asterias 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Asterias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterias Hotel Parikia
Hotel Asterias Paros/Parikia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asterias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.