We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than adequate, awesome location, good breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kanale's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kanale's to your Saves list
Kanale's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Naoussa 844 01, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Naoussa
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“more than adequate, awesome location, good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

After reading some iffy reviews about Kanale's I was a little concerned at what I'd find but thought the property looked lovely upon arrival. I'm really not sure where all the comments about needing an upgrade come from - are my expectations low or are others just too fussy? I was booked into Kanales on an 'economy' package through Fantasy Travel a greek agent but I found the common areas, breakfast and service to be above average.
My room was at the very top, back corner of the hotel with no view and little special about it but it's not like I did more than shower and sleep there. The bathroom was small but functional with shower over bath. Ok so perhaps if I was a couple on a romantic vacation it would be a bit disappointing but for a solo traveller it was all I needed.
Breakfast was probably the second best I saw in over a month travelling Greece and Italy with scrambled eggs, toast and fresh baking as well as the usual cold meats etc.
Easy stroll into Naoussa which is adorable. Wireless internet in the lobby and breakfast room if you can't get it in your room.
I was too busy visiting the island to use the pool but it looked inviting although all the sun loungers seemed to fill up quickly.
There are a fair few stairs at this property but reception will arrange someone to carry your bags up and down - don't feel you have to struggle on your own. Helpful reception staff giving pointers on where to go on the island and how to avoid the strong wind we had while I was there.
I enjoyed my stay on Paros and at Kanale's and would certainly return to this property in future.
MUST DO's - try the local style fish Gouna it is air dried Mackeral and absolutely delicious!
RECOMMEND - using the quad hire guy directly opposite the driveway to Kanale's Ride Moto Rental. The guy had good prices, was super friendly and made me feel totally confident about riding a quad for the first time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    46
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
23
71
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was booked for us by our travel agent and i will be having a strong word eith her on our return. This hotel was terrible. The bathroom was disgusting and water from the shower sprayed all over the bathroom. I could forgive that if they had bothered to give the bathroom a good clean. Its only redeeming feature was that it was close to town.
We asked for a better room and were given the additional 50 euro story. We declined as we had already paid over the odds for this standard of hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a nice room i would stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

When we checked in we were happily greeted and shown to our room. What a major disappointment - terrible view, tiny, rundown looking. Immediately, we requested an upgrade. For 50 euros additional, we could have a sea view overlooking the pool, it was so much better than the other room we went for it. The water pressure is great. The service was friendly. The two twin beds pushed together were terribly hard and the pillows too, it was like sleeping on slabs of stone. This hotel is in dire need of a makeover and has a lot of potential. The pool was nice, cold, but nice and we had to request pool towels, they were never readily available.

The towels of the room for baths were worn out and not what you'd expect for bathing. The breakfast was good and had a decent selection of items.

It's a short walk to town. We loved the town and the restaurant across the street (karina) was fantastic! I would not stay there again but would go back to Paros without hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

The hotel is located in a great position with a very easy walk to town. We had requested a sea view room, and we got it, but over the tops of other properties... but that's OK, we had a little balcony with table & chairs. On arrival we were shown our room but with the offer of an upgrade with 2 other rooms to choose from. The first was little different from the one alocated to us (but with less of a view) the only difference I could see was a queen size bed instead of 2 twins pushed together. The second was a 'superior room' which consisted of a bathroom with jacuzzi, a dining area and sitting room with a seperate bedroom that had a kingsize bed, sounds good? Not really, the room was up another 2 flights of stairs and had no better view than our allocted room. But it could be ours for an extra 50 euro a night! We chose to stay with the allocated room as we were only staying 3 nights & did not need the extra space or jacuzzi, we were there to enjoy the island not the room.
The Hotel is old and needs some TLC, the room was clean but the beds VERY uncomfortable, the tiled floor was looking a better option. The pool was too cold to swim in due to it's depth and lack of sun (surrounded by the high walls of the hotel). Is probably nice in mi summer.
Breakfast was OK, but we found they were reluctant to top up the food, and on 2 occasions I had to request some fresh fruitsalad (that had run out within the first hour) and also scrambled eggs to be replenished.
The staff were friendly, but not always well informed.
We loved Naroussa and our time there was fantastic, so it softenned the fact that the hotel was very 'budget'.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not beneath the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Kanales Hotel is located just outside Naoussa, a 10 mn walk from the town centre.
The location is all right but the nearby road and the nearby houses are spoiling the view and the charm.
The hotel doesn't deserve the category A (4 stars) as advertised but just an average B (3 stars). It is slightly run down and would need more care to be great.
We originally booked a Standard triple. And although the hotel was almost empty, they prepared us a room at the 1st floor viewing the road and the front building. The 3rd bed was a folding bed and not even a proper bed. There was as well a "kitchenette" we didn't ask for.
For 14 euros extra (per night), they then proposed a "sea view". The sea view was through a small window at the entrance of the room, the bedroom itself still viewing the road. The room was connecting as well 2 other rooms with 2 different doors which can be a real nuisance. This one as well had this ugly "kitchenette".
Finally, they showed us a Superior triple, with a proper view, a tiny balcony, a jacuzzi in the bathroom and a minimalist design they are so proud of. This room was nice and the only one worth a 3+ stars hotel. But the price (already discounted) was 25 euros extra per night.
The mini bar was empty, the swimming pool not heated (like everywhere else), there wasn't any safe box or hair dryer.
The staff was nice and pleasant although not always aware of what was going on in the hotel (when the laundry will be ready, when to checkout etc ...)
The breakfast was nice with fresh fruit salad (and not the caned fruits greek hotels seem to favor so much and generally pairing with the usual long life orange juice !), and home made bread.
There is Wi-Fi in rooms and only 1 computer out of order in the "lobby"
Be prepared as well to climb stairs. It is the down side of the sea view !

Room Tip: Definitively upgrade for Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Ask them what you really need and they will do whatever possible to make you feel like at home.
There are some more ecomomic standard rooms, that I chose but also some beautiful suites.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

The service was terrific from all the staff. From the initial greeting to the restaurant and bar service we were treated as special and given every courtesy. The view from the restaurant area was spectacular and the rooms were clean, roomy and quiet. All the amenities were easily accessible and any requests we had were handled quickly and efficiently.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kanale's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanale's

Address: Naoussa 844 01, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Paros > Naoussa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Naoussa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanale's 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kanale's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanale`s Hotel Naoussa
Kanales Hotel Naoussa
Kanale's Paros/Naoussa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanale's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.