We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Hotel to your Saves list
Tropical Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Possidonos Avenue, Alimos, Athens 17455, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alimos
3.5 of 5 stars 75 Reviews
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days. It was a very good experience, very close to the beach, close to tram station and about 30 minutes to Athens. Room was clean, spacious with a nice view. Plus for the spa bath.
Receptionist was very helpful and polite. Good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    34
    22
    2
    7
See reviews for
18
32
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

very nice hotel, good location close to beach, easy acces to city center by train (about 40 minutes), easy acces to Pireus (tram and subway or bus). Much better place then Athens center. Even though there is very buisy street close to the hotel if You close the window inside the room is quiet. Nice stuff. The only week side is breakfast - cold and awfull coffe

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Small hotel placed in front of the sea. I had very good sea view. Very clean room, though not very spacious. Breakfast with good variety, very helpful staff. They even let me take my coffee up to my room, without paying any extra.The only disadvantage, the avenue in front of the hotel is very busy, so it is noisy and you cannot sleep with an open window.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our 4 day stay very much. The location of the property, albeit a little far off the centre of Athens, is very close to the beautiful coast, and the surrounding area serves most needs with a couple of nice restaurants, beach bars, and coffee shops. Public transport circuit runs very close by, making getting around easy enough.
The staff and service was very personable and accommodating. Overall, the services offered match what you would expect, even though room service hours are limited to breakfast and evening times, but the friendliness and engaging hospitability of the staff made all the difference.
The rooms are nicely appointed, but the furniture is a little worn, and the cleanliness could be improved. For example, the big panoramic windows of the suite offer amazing views of the coast from the main room and bathroom, but the windows haven't been cleaned in quite some time it seems. A little effort here would go a long way in improving the room experience.
We haven't tried the restaurant for breakfast or dinner, but the menu seems ok, and the prices are fair. The outdoor pool and pool deck were closed during our stay due to off season maintenance.
Overall, the Tropical provides a nice and relaxed atmosphere with cosy rooms that are inviting to just stay in and chill for a morning. The friendliness of the staff contributed a great deal towards making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalalabad, Afghanistan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

For the price, this was a pretty nice hotel. I traveled there solo for a 10 day visit, and didn’t want to spend a fortune as I was heading to Rome after my stay in Athens. The first room I was given was pretty sparse and had two tiny beds in it, so I went back downstairs and upgraded to what was likely a Jr. Suite. The view of the water was beautiful and the room was fairly large.

The receptionists were all very polite and helpful, but the restaurant was a bit odd as it never seemed to have a definitive menu or working hours. The location was very good as it was just a short walk to the beach and various beach bars.

There is an excellent boat cruise available that you can tour three islands on, and they will pick you up at the front of the hotel. The only complaint I have is that the beds are hard as a rock, harder even than beds in Thailand and China. I honestly didn’t sleep a solid night while there due to the discomfort of the bed. Some people love an extra firm bed; I’m just not one of those people. For the price, I would still recommend the hotel as it is clean and close to the beach.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Jr. Suite Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed for a week as our base to explore Athens and surrounds - absolutely wonderful and excellent value for money. The staff were friendly, attentive and always helpful. The room was spacious, comfortable with a lovely balcony and the continental breakfast offered a good selection of quality products. Lovely little pool to cool down and good decor throughout. Highly recommended. Excellent tram service into Athens.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I had flown to Athens after doing a tour in Egypt. My travel agent had booked me this hotel and I was looking for affordability so wasn’t expecting too much as I had not even read up on the hotel.
I had taken a taxi from the airport but in hindsight I would have opt for the tram as it’s rather simple to get from the airport to the hotel and cheaper than a taxi.
When I got to reception they couldn’t find my reservation, panic set in, but luckily the gentleman at reception quickly sorted the issue out and was very helpful.
My room was brilliant, spacious clean, air-conditioned and by far the most comfortable bed I had slept in, in a long time. The view, amazing! The hotel is right across from the beach, bonus!
Room service I felt was a bit overpriced but like most hotels I suppose. And also for some reason it took forever for them to answer. Eventually I gave up and went in search of a store, lucky for me I found a street vendor, a few meters from the hotel, bought sandwiches and a burger and cold drinks. So off I went to enjoy my food on my balcony, a small balcony, just enough for a chair to enjoy the view. The reception has maps and information booklets that one can help themselves to, I found the maps very useful for the rest of my stay in Athens. There is no free wifi at the hotel, but you can buy prepaid wifi cards from reception.
Breakfast was definitely a good spread. I especially enjoyed the selection of different tea. Staff were professional and attentive. Amazing view from the hotel restaurant also. When I checked out the gentleman at reception gave me very good directions on where and which tram to take, he went so far as writing it down for me.
I stayed just one night as I wanted to be in the heart of the city, but this hotel is perfect if you want to be close to the beach. The trams are close by so it makes going to and from the city very easy. The hotel definitely lives up to its 4 star status and is without a doubt value for money, and affordable at the same time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Hotel

Address: 74 Possidonos Avenue, Alimos, Athens 17455, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Alimos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alimos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tropical Hotel in Athens! Tropical Hotel Athens welcomes you with high quality services in an exceptional place! Tropical Hotel, welcomes guests with grate hospitality and excellent service. The hotel was fully reconstructed in 2003, and offers in every room very comfortable accommodation, equipped with all modern amenities. Tropical hotel is conveniently located at Alimos, on the coastal avenue near Piraeus and Athens city centre, providing the best of both worlds with stunning views of the sea. This beautiful situation, being a perfect spot for relaxation, is at the same time tranquil since it is very close to the beach and away from the busy centre. Taking inspiration from the metropolitan and the natural areas, Tropical hotel is of an ultramodern and unique design with interiors that feature fashionable furnishings, artistic aspects and a serene atmosphere. Tropical Hotel's privileged location, at the waterfront of Alimos, provides flexibility to approach the centre of Athens Yachting Marina Alimos, EL.VENIZELOS Airport, port of Piraeus and most of exhibition centers. Looking the Saronic Gulf, impressive sunsets captivates you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Kalamáki
Tropical Hotel Greece/Alimos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.