We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful vanas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vana's

Vana's
Kalamaki Old Road | Opposite hotel cavo d'oro, Alimos, Athens, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 26 Restaurants in Alimos
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is a genuine Greek Mama who only serves the traditional Greek food that she would make for her family. Absolutely delicious.
newport s wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautiful vanas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

this small greek family restaurant is the best,food cooked fresh while you,re there,traditional greek home cooking as it should be,vanna and her beautiful daughter joanne run and own it you must go to sample their yummy meals,you won,t be disappointed, can,t wait to see them again

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“vanas highly recomended for food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

while in kalamaki we visted vanas resturant every night after the beach the food was lovely and vana and her daughter joanna who both ran the resturant were so friendly and welcoming i would highly recommend visting if your near the area

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wirral
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food at excellent prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This taverna is next to Holistic Heaven in Old Kalamaki, Zakynthos. I stumbled across this place one day when I was looking for a reasonably priced place to eat. Well I found that alright! I have to say that this was the nicest and cheapest place that we ate in but by no means the least. The food was to die for and if you give Vana a little bit of notice- she will basically cook you anything that you want! What more can you ask for, especially if you're like me and are fussy! (I'm a strict vegetarian).
My four year old son constantly asked if we could go to Vana's- which in itself speaks volumes! He loved the fuss she made of him and from her beautiful daughter- Joanna.
He loved Vana's home grown vegetables- especially the cucumber, which he ate by the plate load! I would highly recommend this place and made several visits to it during my stay in Zakynthos. What more can I say? Lovely people, gorgeous food and excellent value for money. Give it a go and see for yourself!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“About time....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

After visiting many "greek" restuarants in the island, we visited Vana's Grill House in Kalamaki...the food, the service...OMG!! Its about time that we ate REAL GREEK FOOD FROM A REAL GREEK COOK!!! if you visit Zakynthos you MUST visit this spot. You will not regret it. As the sign says when you first enter the restuarant: "Meals and memories are made here" Thank you Vana!!!!!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Vana goes the extra mile!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Not only does Vana run the best restaurant in Kalamaki, but she is prepared to put herself out for virtual strangers. She came to our rescue when we were stranded during the taxi driver's strike and, leaving her daughter holding the fort, she drove her little car back and forth twice between Argassi and the airport, to ensure that 4 people and their luggage made it in time for their flights. She is a true good Samaritan. Thank you Vana from the bottom of our hearts for what you did for us!!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vana's also viewed

 
Alimos, Athens
Alimos, Athens
 

Been to Vana's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vana's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.