We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holidayin the snow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ahorn Hotel Birkenhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ahorn Hotel Birkenhof to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ahorn Hotel Birkenhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vierenstrasse 18, 09484 Kurort Oberwiesenthal, Saxony, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BREAKFAST INCLUDED!
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Holidayin the snow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This wa an excellent base for out railway based holiday in February 2013. We had 4 days, half board, in this hotel with railtrips on the steam railways in the area.

Excellent room and good service once we had read the instructions properly. We had wifi access and a tea tray in the room, the room was ver clean and lovely and warm. we could easily control the temperature.

breakfasts were very good except there was no porridge optio (an it was cold weather, -6 degrees C.

Evening meals were a little variable but when we opted for the buffet it was excellent.

A good base for a holiday in the cold weather. Excellt ski facilities forthose who braved the slopes. brilliant snow clearing by the local authority so we did not miss any of our booked trips.

Room Tip: We had a view of the slopes - excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
14
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

No problem with this hotel. Stayed with a group of friends who were essentially there for steam railway tours. Service in smaller of two restaurants was slow, unprofessional and very slow! One evening no order taken until everyone arrived- the next orders taken but food did not arrive for ages. My meal was forgotten on 3rd evening - no real explanation or apology! Bar was small but Weizenbier was very acceptable! Hotel was very busy and obviously popular with skiers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here recently. You go to Oberwiesenthal in the winter for the skiing, and the hotel is ideally located for this, just a very short walk from the hill. The hotel itself is good - well kept. My room was pretty small, but did have all you wanted. The food at the hotel was buffets. I found the hotel bar small, surprising for a ski oriented resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Oberwiesenthal is part of the old East Germany. This area of Germany has had to make great strides over the past decades and has. Older inhabitants have a hard time in English --they were taught Russian as a second language. I was glad I am fluent in German at this locale but with a little patience any English speaker should not have an issue here. The food at this locale was very good and very middle European. The rooms were clean and enjoyed all amenities but soap etc., which as in many European hotels should be brought with you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a four star rating hanging above reception which needs to be removed. We stayed in a Pension just outside Meissen which had better service and more class than this hotel. From the rude girl behind reception who yes can speak very good English but what does that matter if she makes you feel like you wish you could book somewhere else. Our 14 & 12 year old were given a room on the ground floor next to the hotel office rooms and next door to the cleaners rooms. And we as compensation were given a nice room on the 4th floor! Hence my husband and I took the quite obviously overflow room as we didn't want the kids on the ground floor. We had booked these rooms using trip advisor as a guide but booked through Booking.com, we should of booked a little Pension down the road. P.s. The only bar in the hotel does not open for after ski drinks until 8pm. Very sad as we will be back to Oberwiesenthal, great skiing beautiful town great facilities in town itself just chose the wrong hotel. P.s. I actually speak a little German so don't need to have rude English speaking staff Best Western!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ahorn Hotel Birkenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ahorn Hotel Birkenhof

Address: Vierenstrasse 18, 09484 Kurort Oberwiesenthal, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Kurort Oberwiesenthal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Kurort Oberwiesenthal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Ahorn Hotel Birkenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ahorn Hotel Birkenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ahorn Hotel Birkenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.