We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Haus Oberwinter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Haus Oberwinter to your Saves list
Hotel Haus Oberwinter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Unkelstein 1a, 53424 Remagen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Remagen
Ljungskile
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was placed near The great Rhen river, you have great view over the river.
The rooms was very big and clean. It have also a an indoor swimmingpool.
Breakfast and wifi included, breakfast was nice with alot to choose. Parking was also free.
Recomended a stay when travelling by. Not near any shopping and restaurants, if you don´t want to eat at hotel you need a car or at least a bicycle.

Room Tip: Enjoy the view over the Rhen river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
4
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essen, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here one night and there are plusses and minues.

First the plus. The view was great and there was a very nice terrace to sit out and enjoy a beer. A pool and sauna are also available. The price was pretty good at 84 Euro but that was compareable to other places which were much more local. Breakfast was good with some hot items. Not something I have seen with others in the price class.

As we were just hiking through it worked but I would not want to stay there for an extended period of time. It is also not very central to anything if you are not there with a car.

Minus. The cheap rooms are really only good to crash in. They are very small with almost no room to move around. My bigest issue was with the bathroom. The door was a sliding glas thing which did not seal and did not even stay all the way closed. If you are there with someone there is no privacy in the can.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHausOberwinter, Manager at Hotel Haus Oberwinter, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Christian,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our terrace and breakfast. Unfortunately we are not a downtown hotel. Our hotel is located in the countryside between the districts of Remagen and Oberwinter. This can also be seen very well on the map. You have booked the cheapest budget room. Here we can not offer the comfort of our other rooms, which are only 10 to 20 € per night more expensive, unfortunately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for a week. We had stayed a few times before but only for overnight stops. We have always found the hotel to be efficient and friendly. When you stay overnight you are put on the ground floor which is so convenient as you can just park up and literally a few yards away is your room and so this aspect is very easy. However what hits you as soon as you arrive is the wonderful view of the Rhine and it is very relaxing to stop for a while and watch the world go by.
As we were staying for a week we were placed in a beautiful 3rd floor room and the views of the Rhine are breathtaking from there! The room was spacious and the bathroom amazing, with an enormous walk in shower and delightful private sauna!!! The food is good and plentiful and it is spotless everywhere. But our lasting impression is the management and staff. They made us feel so very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. They all speak good english which is a huge bonus. We have no hesitation in recommending this lovely hotel, which is about a 300 mile drive from Calais. Remagen itself is approx a 2 mile level walk next to the Rhine, and when we got there we found it to be a delightful small town.

Room Tip: Overnight stops are on the ground floor with very easy access and disabled facilities in the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHausOberwinter, Manager at Hotel Haus Oberwinter, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Dear Mrs. and Mr. Henry, on behalf of all employees we want to thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay and visit us again next year. We will endeavor to make your next stay as pleasant as possible. Kindest regards from the whole team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This past weekend I attended a board meeting that was held at the CPH Hotel Haus Oberwinter in Remagen. Since I live in Bonn I have driven past the hotel on numerous occasions. But this time I got to experience the hotel from the inside: Modern and attractive. The conference room and the hotel room were comfortably furnished and equipped. The staff were friendly and efficient. The snacks at coffee-breaks included fresh vegetables with a dip, yogurt, cookies and cake, fruit and fruit juice. The meals were excellent!! The hotel is located within a short distance of the train station in Remagen. Guests flying in from Frankfurt, Duesseldorf or Cologne can easily make their way to this location and enjoy the scenery along the Rhine. We voted unanimously to have next year's board meeting at the same venue. Need we say more?
(There is also a swimming pool and sauna...but we did not have time to make use of these.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHausOberwinter, Manager at Hotel Haus Oberwinter, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Judy,
Thank you for your hotel review. We are glad that youand your colleagues enjoyed your staying in our Hotel. We look forward to your next stay next year.
Kind regards
Your team of the
Hotel Haus Oberwinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for business. We had a delegate rate and all food was included......the food in they served throughout the day was superb.....lots of choice and all good quality, breakfast was also very good. The rooms are fairly small and set up like student accommodation with desk to work but they are clean and have everything you needetc, The bathroom was also a wet room which I find I prefer to standing in a bath for a shower .....a plus point was being at the front overlooking the Rhine and having a balcony to sit on. As usual with Germany there were not tea and coffee making facilities in the room (unless superior) but I requested a kettle from reception and had one brought to my room within 10 mins....most impressed, as I find it hard to stay anywhere without the facility to make a cup of tea! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, I would recommend this hotel for a business trip

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front that overlooks the Rhine and has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHausOberwinter, Manager at Hotel Haus Oberwinter, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Annie,

thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your staying in our Hotel. We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Hotel Haus Oberwinter
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niedernhausen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is in a nice location high above the Rhine River just 19 km south of Bonn. We rented three rooms for a mini family reunion, the rooms were located on the ground floor, large and clean. The swimming pool was lovely, one drawback there were swimming lessons being given on Friday afternoon, but it was free for us to use in the evening and on Saturday afternoon. The breakfast buffet is quite adequate and the staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front overlooking the Rhine River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHausOberwinter, Manager at Hotel Haus Oberwinter, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your review.
We look forward to welcoming you once again to our hotel.
Kind regards from the Middle Rhine
Hotel Haus Oberwinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Haus Oberwinter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haus Oberwinter

Address: Am Unkelstein 1a, 53424 Remagen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Remagen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Remagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Haus Oberwinter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star superior hotel Haus Oberwinter is placed idyllic near the central Rhineland in Remagen only some kilometers away from the former federal capital Bonn. Enjoy the pictorial view of the central Rhineland equal if in summer or winter. The restaurant and the sun terrace as like the banquet hall of our house assure you a dreamlike view. The well known RheinBurgenWanderweg and many more bike- and hiking ways invite to relax in the nature. Discover the hospitality of the local vine dresser on a trip on the red vine hiking way and let the evening end relaxed with a good glass of vine. An alternative evening programme will afford in the Domstadt Cologne which is only a stone?S throw away. Day trips to the numerous historical museums or to the neighbouring Nurburgring ensure you a changeful and exiting stay. Visit us and experience the perfect assortment between modern conference- and vacation hotel. Let the Rhine romantic sink in and be cosseted from our service! Our hotel command more than 27 single rooms which are placed for the most part on the Rhine side and they have available balconies, 4 rooms are equipped with queen size bed as like 19 double accordingly two bed rooms for the most part with handicapped accessible equipment. Every room is equipped with a shower/toilette, TV, stereo with docking station for ipad and iphone, telephone. Furthermore our conference hotel in Remagen commends 8 modern equipped conference rooms for up to 120 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Haus Oberwinter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Haus Oberwinter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.