We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Megalomania in Rheinland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zu den Termen 1 | 56112 Lahnstein, 56112 Lahnstein, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Koblenz Lahnstein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lahnstein
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Megalomania in Rheinland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A number of years ago some megalomanic dropped a huge concoction of concrete in the middle of the beautiful Rhine landscape. This 15 story building was probably intended to house the guests of the adjoining "Kurhaus" or spa. The Kurhaus closed down 8 years ago but amazingly a part of it can be visited as a phantom shopping area with empty stalls. The initially manicured large park is now slowly reclaimed by nature.The outdoor fitness constructions look abandoned and the original thatched umbrellas are now mere rusty skeletons .
The restaurant on the 15th floor offers a great view over Rheinland, the Rhine and Lahn rivers but the food is very average and I suspect the crew in the kitchen is extremely limited. The restaurant service to the contrary is absolutely delightful.
Rooms are rather small but
clean and have a nice bathroom. WIFI was prehistorically slow.
The breakfast buffet was perfect and offered whatever one could desire in a German hotel.
We were not charged for the indoor garage.
We had the feeling this hotel is now used for cheap short stay breaks and conventions.
A shame to spoil the forest with such an, East German-style Blokhaus.
A car is an absolute necessity as there is only one bus per hour and the village is far.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front O, Reservation at Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +49 2621-9120.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Team
Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    74
    67
    34
    15
See reviews for
22
120
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

No AC, no fridge about sums up this place. After a grueling 10 days in Hungary (where air conditioning apparently has not been introduced) and a week south of Rome with friends (who also did not have AC) we were looking forward to a few days relaxing in a modern German hotel with all the amenities. We were stunned when we opened our room and a blast of furnace hot air came pouring out. A quick search for the climate control was fruitless and a call to reception confirmed it – no AC. This is obviously a case of ‘you get what you pay for’ and the rate of 48 euros (some sort of special deal through hotels.com) says it all. When I went to the front desk asking for a fan the little girl was stunned and nearly shouted at me “I don’t know vut you mean!” If I hadn’t been so tired of being hot it would be humorous that she thought I was asking that she become my fan; I finally got my point across and the cute little receptionist told me in her best German disciplinarian voice that ‘ve don’t haf any more.’ Her supervisor told her about the hidden stash on the 4th floor and a fan magically appeared in my room before I got back. I suppose this was a nice place 40 years ago, and somebody poured some big bucks into fixing it up, but the lack of AC and refrigerator brings this down to a 2 star hotel in my book. The view from the 15th floor restaurant is nice but not stunning as the windows are so dirty it is tough to see through them. Alas, I booked the place for three nights hoping for some needed rest and relaxation and only stayed one night. I wouldn’t have even done that except I was so exhausted I fell asleep even in my 90 degree room and could not bring myself to drag all my bags back to the car and find someplace else. All in all the experience left a rather bad taste in my mouth for Wyndham hotels in general.

Room Tip: I suppose a room on the north side upper floors would be cooler, but avoid anything on the south or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front O, Reservation at Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +49 2621-9120.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,
Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraardsbergen, Belgium
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hi, we are a young couple from Belgium and here are our positive and negative opinions.
(Read everything please)

Will we go back, YES WE WILL :p we had a very very very good time!!

POSITIVE (Standard room 3 days)
° The hotel is next to a beautiful garden.
° The hotel is surrounded by nature.
° Beautiful entrance (very modern).
° Very nice and helpful people on the desk.
° They can help you in English if you can't speak German.
° Our room had a large balcony (with table and chair).
° Beautiful view.
° Good and clean beds!
° The room was very clean.
° Good wifi (it's not super fast, but is also not slow....).
° 60ties style lunchroom.
° Decent breakfast, not 4 stars but we ate good.
° Not far form touristic things ( We went to one of the many castle's (€5) and Vulcan museums (€28 for 6 museums, boat trip, biggest gleisher, old underground mine.
° Close to a small restaurant/ tavern. We ate very good!! Pork schnitzel with muchroomsauce and fries with all you can eat salad bar €9.80. We ate and dranke for €47 the first day and €34 the second day. On Friday's there is musical entertainment (There was a guitarist that sang old songs.
° +/- 30 km from Andernach. Very beautiful city by the Rhein (river).
On Saturday and Sunday there was an oldtimer festival when we where there with folk music.

° The other people staying at the hotel where very friendly !

° The people that work at the lunchroom (I can't remember the word in English).
They are not unfriendly as read in other comments. They just do there job.
They work hard and fast to clean the tables.

NEGATIVE
* The room did not fee like a 4 star hotel.
* The balcony could use a new layer of paint. And not orange plz :p
* The carpet in the lunchroom was old and dirty ( but they are slowly renovating the place).
We had no bother of the renovating.
* The room is very small. But we where out allot so it was not a bother...
* The bathroom is very very, very small! I'm 1.78m and I could not stretch my arm fully.
* The shower is tiny :p and squiqed (horrible noise).
* The walls are not very thick. (Could hear the noise from our noisy neigbours).
* Half of the hotel downstairs is empty and old (they are renovating it slowly).
We saw a hairdresser and massage center (positive).


Voila that was our comment.
We hope you'll have a good time there like we did.

Room Tip: Standard room is very small (also bathroom is small). This was not a bother for us because we where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Personal service and kindness from check-in staff, cold and impersonal at check out, the hotel is worn and looks like something from east berlin on the outside but is up to par on the inside. stayed in room 1105 and it was very cramped and small, nice touch with a balcony, this kept the room from feeling too cramped. Every 2 hours my toilet would fill with what I can only assume was what the people from the floors above was leaving in theirs... I made it a rule to flush every time I went in to the bathroom, on the plus side I never felt lonely knowing that the nearest proof of life in the hotel was in my bathroom...

Room Tip: The rooms are of very different sizes, I saw on the fire escape chart that my room was on of the sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front O, Reservation at Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +49 2621-9120.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,
Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were looking forward to spending 2 nights in this hotel. On paper it seemed great and when we checked in things were different. Expecting a king size bed we were greeted with a double. Having spent some years working and living in Germany we were very taken with the type of beds used in Hotels etc and purchased one to take back to the UK with us. Our first night in the room got off to a bad start when we discovered that the toilet seemed to have been used and not flushed??? Didnt the cleaning staff notice this.? On our 2nd day we left at 9am and didnt return until 10pm. Out toilet had another 'present 'waiting for us. My husband went to reception to complain and was informed that they had a plumbing problem on our floor and there was often a blow back to some of the rooms. Not good enough. This is a 4 star facility. He meet with the manager the following morning and after long discussion my husband was offered our 2 nights accommodation free. We had our daughter, her husband and 2 teenage children also travelling with us and their rooms were fine. Under Health and Safety regulations the room allocated to us should have been withdrawn and not given to anyone - particularly as the hotel staff were all aware of the existing plumbing problem. Whilst we were compensated for our inconvenience it spoiled our stay in this area and we certainly would not recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front O, Reservierung at Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

We apologize for the mistake with you.
The sanitary Problemz is now fixed.
Unfortunately it was only on your floor the problem. All other room was fine.


We would be pleased nevertheless a new visit

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +49 2621-9120.


Sincerely,

Barbara Durben
Reservation
Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Even though the hotel is aging it is clean and the view is spectacular. It is rated a 4 star hotel. Service was very good. After several nights out we wanted an American hotel with known comforts. Breakfast was standard buffet for Germany - cold cuts, cheese, cereals, juice, good bread, hard boiled eggs, good coffee. It was formerly a Best Western. It is located high above Koblenz city proper in a garden setting. Besides the on site restaraunt there is a small casual one within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front O, Reservierung at Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +49 2621-9120.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Barbara Durben
Reservation
Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

They are situated in an area which is almost a forest. If you have a car its good - but if you don't then please don't stay here. Reason: the bus which goes from this place to Koblenz goes every one hour and also, not after 8pm (approx).

Well, the reason why I think this is a crappy hotel is something you can see in the picture I have attached below.

In a non smoking room - how can you find cigg buds is something, I am still thinking!!!

When I asked that I want to checkout early - the lady at reception was very rude and didn't confirm it until 1pm in the afternoon (my 6 hours lost!). Finally, we managed to checkout before completing 3 nights.

Kapil Goyal

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz

Address: Zu den Termen 1 | 56112 Lahnstein, 56112 Lahnstein, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Koblenz Lahnstein)
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Lahnstein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lahnstein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz is a hotel with 228 rooms in a park, in a central but quiet location. Only 15 km from the highway and 6 km from the nearest train station. The centre of Koblenz and the Deutsches Eck (German Corner) are 10km away. The industrial area of Koblenz is 13km away and there are no traffic lights on the way. The hotel offers 2 restaurants, beer garden, bar, massage and 20 meeting rooms for up to 400 people. Thermal Spa with pool and sauna is currently closed for renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lahnstein

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Lahnstein Koblenz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.