We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ferienapartment Silvaner

Apartment Silvaner
Apartment Silvaner
Apartment Silvaner
Zur Alten Weinkelter The Historic House Built c1531
Apartment Silvaner
Compact Kitchen in Apartment Silvaner
Compact Kitchen in Apartment Silvaner
Ellenz-Poltersdorf
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michael W
Stourbridge
1 review
“Very peaceful and relaxing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were made very welcome from the outset. Drying facilities were made available. We were invited to a wine-tasting in the cellar [none of the other guests came] and were helped with purchasing wine from the Winzer next door. [Perhaps he could be asked to check the quality of the German in the information provided in the folder?] We enjoyed the apartment and had no difficulty negotiating the stairs. I imagine not everyone would find it as easy. As we weren't interested in watching TV or investigating internet access, we cannot comment on these. We were able to enjoy the village and the surrounding area without using the car at all. We used the free transport ticket on one day, hired bikes on another and made a day river trip. We are seriously considering a similar holiday in future so that we can both enjoy things fully. If we didn't mind basing ourselves in the same area we would almost certainly book the same apartment.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The helpfulness of the owners.
Liked least: The fact that I had picked up an infection beforehand, so could not fully enjoy things - like the Winzerfest - immediately.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SGeorge6
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great break in lovely part of Germany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Found this little gem on ebay last year, and was quickly contacted by the owner. Booking was very easy and, we were not disappointed when we arrived. Maria and Mike could not have been better hosts. The studio was ideal for a couple we loved the old historical building, room was comfortable with nice shower, kitchenette has enough untensils for two, a microwave ,two ring hob, so you can make meals if you wish. Maria did a good continental breakfast for us each day. We didn't worry but there is TV, Wfi is accessible so handy to keep up with email, bank balances etc. I got to finish my book at last! Area is lovely, would have lilked to have seen the vineyards growing but much like England, Germany has suffered from the bad weather. We found the village a very good base, being only an hour from the Rheine, Trier, Koblenz, if you like to visit cities and shopping. There is plenty of walking in good weather, local town is only a few kilometres so you can get supplies. The studio is only a minute to the river with vineyard views all around and it is a very typical little Mosel village. Don't go to Germany expecting 24 hour shopping it is much more traditional, you can just relax and enjoy a quieter more relaxing lifestyle lost to England these days. Maria and Mike opened their wine cellar several evenings for us and spent time chatting over a few glasses of local wine. For us they made it a very enjoyable holiday with very nice memories, having the company of Picasso their lovely Dalmation also compensated for us having left ours at home.. Maybe when we return as we should like to we will bring them with us. Many thanks for all the help and advice.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The whole holiday was to our taste.
Liked least: Would have been even better if weather had been good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2013
Peter & Sheila it was our pleasure to have you stay with us at Zur Alten Weinkelter,we are glad you managed to have a relaxing week,which is what we love our guests to do and staying a traditional wine village like Ellenz is the perfect choice,so we hope you have taken back some good memories and we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
naynay9
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay in a traditional German house in the lovely Mosel Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I stayed in this lovely German house in June with my fiancé.

The room - Silvaner - was lovely, with a fully functioning kitchen and dining area, bathroom and obviously a bed. The bed was very comfortable, but was 2 singles next to each other and they were quite divided, which may be an issue for some couples. The apartment was very clean and comfortable and quite spacious.

The house is gorgeous, and is approximately 500 years old! It has been renovated since then, but still holds its traditional charm. There is a little library with some wonderful English titles that can be read during your stay, and there is a lovely garden out the back complete with fruit trees. We didn't get to enjoy the wine cellar as there was a problem with the plumbing at the time, which was disappointing, so if you're hoping to enjoy this then ensure you contact the managers first to make sure it's in use.

Ellenz itself is quite small but charming. There is a bike shop down the road where you can hire bikes from to ride along the river (it is a very bike and pedestrian friendly area). There are a couple of restaurants and a bakery in walking distance, but you will need a car to explore the Mosel valley area properly and make the most of it. The best restaurants and shops we found were in Cochem, which is a short drive away.

We would highly recommend this house to stay for your holiday in the Mosel Valley. It is very cost effective, the room was lovely, and the owners are very friendly and helpful.

A great place to stay!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
3 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RevPaul
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment and a wonderful welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Maria and Mike could not have made us more welcome in their wonderful house. They have done a tremendous job in modernising the old house and the results are spectacular. The apartment was extremely comfortable, very peaceful (being set back from the main road), and had everything we needed. When we forgot to buy German mustard to have with our bratwurst Maria and Mike were happy to share theirs!
Their knowledge of the area is very comprehensive as were their recommendations for where to eat and drink in and around Ellenz.
Having a car parking space next to the house was a great bonus.
My wife and I would have no hesitation in recommending this to our friends and we hope to visit again - this time making sure we coincide with a wine festival!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The comfort of the apartment and the friendly welcome.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$74
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Maria R
Speaks English, German
Listed since : Jul 2010
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 37 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing