We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy palais in small town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Prinzenpalais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Prinzenpalais to your Saves list
Hotel Prinzenpalais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alexandrinenplatz 8, 18209 Bad Doberan, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bad Doberan
Solroed Strand, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cosy palais in small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Stayed 3 nights in this cosy hotel. Nice room with view to the steam locomotive/train passing by. Good and plenty breakfast buffet on nice restaurant. Good food. Nice and friendly staff. Enjoyed walking and jogging in the old park of the monastry. And the visit to the old church with the grave of Queen Margrethe I of Denmark. Peace and quiet.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halbersbacher p, social media beauftragte at Hotel Prinzenpalais, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Dear AliceBeha

Thank you very much for you positive evaluation. Great that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards
Maika Ehring
social media beauftragte
halbersbacher privathotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Most of the time saying a hotel had a train passing right by the window would stop you staying but not here. When the train is a 100 year old steam train and it comes slowly past your window it's a prime location. You can even board a few meters away. Car park at rear. Good fresh rooms. Friendly staff who helped me practice my German and perfect spot for railway station. Breakfast good choice of cold buffet and local sanddorn fruit juices, nice touch to enable us yo sample it. Good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halbersbacher p, social media beauftragte at Hotel Prinzenpalais, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Dear HolidayGB

Thank you very much for your evaluation. It was a pleasure to meet you. We hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards
Maika Ehring
social media beauftragte
halbersbacher privathotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Very priceworthy hotel. Would be five star hotell if the had a spa/pool.
Room was fresh with a historical touch. Nothing at all to complain about.
The restaurant felt to classy for us at eveningtime so we went out for fast food instead.
The breakfast was very complete with a number of hot & cold dishes to choose between.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Overall this is a great hotel. It is nicely situated at the entrance to Bad Doberan, which is a smallish nice town in Mecklenburg. We choose this hotel for three reasons: 1. Good ratings on Tripadvisor; 2. Free parking; 3. Free Wi-Fi. Sadly enough they failed to deliver both the parking and the Wi-Fi.
Reception: Very helpful and trying to accommodate every small wish you may have.
Lounge: Great for a drink and for resting between activities (also a small and nice outside sitting area).
Rooms: We got a big room on the second floor with two big windows. Very big bathroom but no window (room 125). Beds are hard.
Breakfast: Very nice! A lot to chose from: cereals, yoghurts, charcuteries, breads, fruit and vegetables, juices. They will bring the coffee or tea to your table. Very kind staff.
Restaurant: Not tried.
Internet: The Wi-Fi did not work for all we talked to at the hotel and at first they did not do anything about it. After some discussion they paid for the international roaming we used instead. Bad wit the Wi-Fi not working, but nicely solved at last.
Parking: They have to few parking spaces. We had to park a bit away on a public (free) parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celt in England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay in Bad Doberan. It's a resort mainly for German tourists but we were made to feel very welcome. The hotel was lovely - very clear and comfortable, with helpful staff and a great breakfast every morning! My only small issue was with the room itself, which did get rather warm and stuffy in summer without fans or aircon. Otherwise, though, the stay was faultless.

Room Tip: avoid the top floor if you don't like the heat in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
427 helpful votes 427 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. You cannot miss the hotel as it is at the main junction in the town. It consists of the main house and a smaller version of the same a few feet behind and at a lower level. The Reception and Dining Room are both in the front section. Our room was in the back building on the ground floor and was very clean and well presented. The only problem was that if you wanted to walk around in your room naked you had to close the curtains! Blinds or a net would have helped a little. The curtains were blackout material - very lovely to have.

We ate in the restaurant both nights as there is a shortage of restuarants in the town. On both occasions the food was of good quality and the service was excellent. Breakfasts were spectacular with the largest selection we saw on our tour - including fishy things.

The staff all spoke enough English to get by and the chambermaid was the happiest person I have met for ages - always smiling and waving at guests. She did an excellent job, too.

There is a good car park and you are very close to the Molli train should you wish to ride on it - it goes right past the front of the hotel. You buy tickets in a shop a couple of hundred yards away.

The hotel was very quiet at night, the beds were comfy and we would stay there again without a second thought.

Room Tip: For privacy don`t take a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We took the boat from Helsinki to Rostock and as it was arriving after 21.00 or 9.00PM we had to book a room before continuing our trip to Brussels.

We decided not to stay in Rostock but outside the city. Again, after some research we opted for this hotel. We arrrived late and it was raining cats and dogs.

After a quick check-in (yet the receptionist did not speak a lot of English but we understood each other with my weak German) we got to our room which was big and tall in the ceiling with an excellent bathroom (this is one of our key criteria in the review of a room). We slept very well as no external noises.

The breakfast was an excellent one. High quality and it is included in the price of your room.

Free parking and free wifi.

Sorry no pictures this time as we wanted to head back to Brussels after having done over 6200km (we ended with 7101km) having been up to the North Cape.

Book a room here and you won't be disappointed. There are apparently a lot do see and do in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Prinzenpalais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinzenpalais

Address: Alexandrinenplatz 8, 18209 Bad Doberan, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Location: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Bad Doberan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bad Doberan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prinzenpalais 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Prinzenpalais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Prinzenpalais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.