We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, efficient, quiet, and spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Global

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Global to your Saves list
Hotel Global
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Wildzaun 11-13, 64546 Morfelden-Walldorf, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Puget Sound
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cheap, efficient, quiet, and spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here to get a hot meal and a good night's sleep when I had a 17-hour layover between flights in Frankfurt. It's 1.5 miles from FRA as the crow flies, but because taxis can't fly, expect a 15-minute cab ride to the airport that costs about 28 Euros.

The hotel is newly-remodeled, linens and fixtures are new, and rooms and beds are generously-sized. Free wi-fi in the rooms and the lobby, and convenient electrical outlets make it an easy hotel from which to work. For a solo traveler, the cost was about 65 Euros per night, which I thought to be a great value for the room. On a Sunday, it was tricky to find dinner because most places are closed, but there were two restaurants open in a nearby shopping mall (about a 10 minute walk away), including a 15-euro Chinese buffet that was surprisingly good.

Hotel service is efficient and friendly. My taxi was ready at 7:30 a.m. sharp the following morning, just as I'd ordered.

The one shocking disappointment with this hotel was the lack of availability of coffee at the breakfast buffet. There was both pre-brewed tea and brew-it-yourself tea, but only a very disappointing jar of instant coffee crystals for coffee fans. Um, no, that's not going to cut it.

Other things I'd have found useful: an alarm clock (or any clock) in the room, and more toiletries, such as lotion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    43
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
11
21
18
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had a bad time trying to get to this hotel since I used the directions from booking and they were not very clear so I walked around the city around one hour trying to find the hotel. To my surprise, its very easy to get there, just get off from the bus on the right stop.

As @ArkpitGoyal wrote, the directions are:

"From bus stop # 24 outside terminal 1 take the 751 or 752 and get down at Am Wildzaun. Across the road is the street with same name (Am Wildzaun). Keep going on inside till you see parking space of Hotel Global. Take right on the road on the right and you will see the hotel." The ride takes around 20 minutes and it costs around 2 euro.

The room was really good, clean, spacious, tv with english channels and the breakfast was delicious. I had a really pleasant sleep, comfortable bed and quiet environment.

The day I left I waited for the bus but it didn't come (it was Sunday) so I came back to the hotel and asked the concierge to call me a taxi, he was very kind and offer me to wait in the restaurant and drink a cup of coffe or anything else while waiting for the taxi to arrive; it was very kind from him.

You don't need a car, its really easy to get to the hotel once you know where to get off but BE CAREFUL! Bus service on weekends is not reliable at all so its better to take a cab (it costs around 30 Euro to the airport).

Unfortunately the restaurant of the hotel was not open at the evening (it was saturday) but there is a big commercial area close to the hotel where you will find a lot of restaurants and a supermarket.

One bad point, the WI-FI doesn't work very good.

Room Tip: Just be aware of the floor your room is in since some floors are non-smoking are others don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have to give this place credit for trying so hard, and I have to recommend it for anyone needing a quiet and comfortable spot to access the Frankfurt airport from. Additionally, this most the most inexpensive hotel on our trip, but provided the largest room and all the modern comfort I could want from an airport hotel....along with a few quirks:

The owners are obviously Middle Eastern as there is a distinct Turkish or Eastern feel to the ultra-modern decor. The entire hotel seems to have been completely redecorated very recently and our furniture and the bath were much more modern than we had expected for such a low price. The room was so crazy-large that you could easily have fit two normal-sized European hotel rooms inside it. And for an airport hotel, it was remarkably quiet, even with the window open.

The biggest surprise was the purple recessed cove lighting lining the ceiling of the room. It wasn't necessary for making the room feel well-lit, but you could turn it on for added drama and even turn off the main lights and just sit in the purple light. Crazy (sexy?). The spotless bathroom came with a blue back-light behind the mirror which could not be turned off, but I grew used to it pretty quickly and it made my blue eyes pop whenever I looked in the mirror.

The neighborhood is about a ten minute drive from the main airport terminal, but it is very quiet. It appears to be a combination of industrial buildings and lower-income housing, but seems safe and clean. It would have been very difficult to find this hotel with a GPS navigator in our car, though. And I wasn't very impressed with the exterior of the building, so I was quite surprised when we went inside and found a little bit of Las Vegas waiting for us there.

Can't complain about the low cost, comfortable bed, quiet neighborhood, serviceable breakfast, free parking, or proximity to the airport. And after a week in kitschy German tourist hotels on the Romantic Road, this place provided some welcome irony.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very clean rooms, refurbished recently, parking at the door. The staff were helpful and friendly and accommodated our needs for our little family. The breakfast was excellent and had great variety. Downside - no air conditioning and our room was lit by some blue lights that were a little annoying. The location was not too far from the airport, but you need a car to get there and it is in a semi industrial area, so although not visually appealing it was quiet at night. If you arrive late make sure you have had dinner as there are not many food options that remain open late. All in all a good hotel that served its purpose.

Room Tip: Request one without blue lighting as you sometimes feel like you are in a nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

My partner and myself is driving to Vienna from London. So very tiring but love the open road and of coarse the autobahn. We booked a room in Global Hotel Frankfurt Airport to over night and continue our trip on the next day. 
Tired from sleeping only 3 hours the previous night and looking forward to a nice cool hotel room, as it is almost 30*C outside, we found that this could possibly be the last remaining hotel in the world that doesn't have air conditioning in the rooms. Extremely disappointing and not even to start off about the decor. It looks really nice as you walk into the lobby and then you take a 'short' lift journey up to your allocated floor and......you hit neon Thailand brothel mixed with a hint of 'what de hell'. 

Now I have to write about the night staff. Apon our arrival a very untidy looking male came out of a back room tucking his shirt into his pants(god only knows what he was doing). 
After having been to our room we spoke to him about the fact that there was no air con and asked about the wi fi. The man could not even be bothered to stand up and come out of another back room. As I suggested he comes closer he responded with a sigh and 'I can hear you from here'!!! BOILING BLOOD by this point!!!!!

Running way to Frankfurt for a nice meal. When we arrived back in our room and tried putting standard wall plug (UK-EU) adapter into a couple of wall units the power of the room short circuit. Was without lights and power for 40 min as there was no one at the front desk.

Hotel is really secluded from all civilisation as it is situated in a ghost town. Close to the airport though and to main European motorway as was our reason for choosing this hotel. 

Breakfast really good but is unsure if this is because we didn't expect much going on the stay itself. 

It is safe to say I will not be returning.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarragona, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Very clean, spacious&modern rooms, close to the city, wifi working great, free parking, ok breakfast buffet.... Definitively, great value for money... but a car is a must.

The lighting of the hotel is just... "funny" (lots of leds)...

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIRYAT MOTZKIN, ISRAEL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

A quite tidy hotel near FRA international airport that efficiently helps to combat jetlag. Price is reasonable, hotel clean, staff eager to assist, various local restaurants nearby.
Early chech in 1300. Breakfast more than somebody really need... Highly recommanded. The only tip for improvement - ofer an airport shuttle for your guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Global? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Global

Address: Am Wildzaun 11-13, 64546 Morfelden-Walldorf, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Morfelden-Walldorf
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Morfelden-Walldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Global 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Global reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Global Germany/Morfelden-Walldorf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Global, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.