We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay and work in the woods - at an airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Langener Strasse 200, 64546 Morfelden-Walldorf, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
US
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Stay and work in the woods - at an airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We held a three day meeting here. The meeting room was the best supplied of any I've been in. The rooms are fine, the breakfast is good (tho there are no hot dishes), and the lobby is to be avoided whenever a tour group arrives or departs. We took daily walks through wooded areas or farmland that start almost as soon as you step out of the hotel. A German and an Italian restaurant are a 5-minute walk away. Otherwise you need a car. The shuttle costs 5 euros, but you can take it as many times as you like for that single outlay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, Geschäftsführer at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your nice review!
We are very happy to hear that you liked staying with us and enjoyed your meeting!

It is great that you point out the location of the hotel, in a quiet nice landscape - unusual for an airport hotel, and good to get a walk in the fresh air.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express!

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    159
    101
    24
    29
See reviews for
67
97
67
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
home
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Spent one night here waiting for an early morning flight home on a trip from Egypt. Website may say the shuttle leaves then airport every 15 minutes but it's really more like 30-45. There are more than one Holiday Inn Express shuttles at the airport so don't get on the wrong one. Hotel is about a 20-25 minute drive away and is not free. Once there, checking in went quickly but once settled and looking for a bite to eat the only option was a rather bad, likely frozen pizza. Of course, the German beer was great but somewhat costly compared to prices elsewhere. The room is basic, nearly Spartan with a bed just a few inches off the floor, no dresser or bureau but plenty of hooks and areas to hang things. Bathroom is tiny but manageable with shower. Set TV for a wake up call at 5:00 to make the 6:00am shuttle. After showering and a quick but hearty breakfast. I inquired about the shuttle only to be told I had failed to make a RESERVATION and the 6:00am shuttle would not be leaving until 6:30. Annoyed, to say the least but made a RESERVATION for the 6:30 van and arrived in plenty of time for my flight. The HI Xpress, Frankfurt airport is fine for an overnight stay but I wouldn't want to stay any longer.

Room Tip: Had a first floor room right off the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review and recommendation of our hotel for a short stay.
That's actually what Holiday Inn Express hotels are concepted for.

The hotels are what we call "limited service" and provide overnight and breakfast with the option for some drinks in the evening, hopefully all at a reasonable price.

Thanks for pointing out that you liked our breakfast!

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express in the future.

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed on an overnight stop in Frankfurt to watch football. Situated someway out of the city itself it was a little tricky to find which autobahn & exit it was close to. The hotel itself, though, is of decent quality. The triple was large enough & the beds were comfortable. The buffet breakfast was substantial with a good choice.
I would recommend this hotel for a "stop over" en-route, or as an "overnighter" before flying out of Frankfurt. It's not ideal for sightseeing in Frankfurt itself.
Another tip. If you are driving, park down the wooded side road next to the hotel rather than the hotel car park itself. Otherwise they hit you with a 10 Euro parking fee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review and recommendation.
We are happy to see that you liked staying with us.

For other travellers we would like to point out the Autobahn exit. It's exit "Langen/Mörfelden" on A5 direction Basel. Take the exit and follow "Mörfelden", the hotel is to the right after a few hundred meters.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express!

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

One of the best we've stayed at in a long time. Staff is super nice and friendly.
The room was clean and set up very nice. The location is great for flying in and out of the munich airport. I liked the friendly staff best.











  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, Geschäftsführer at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Richard,

Many thanks for your superb review and accolades!
We are very happy to see that you liked staying with us and, in particular, point out the very helpful and friendly staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express in future.

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have come to expect a certain type of service from HIE across the world. I read mixed reviews about this location and it seems they are justified. First it always seems cheap to charge for an airport shuttle. Best to include in the room rate. Location is about 15 minutes from airport. Took forever for shuttle when I arrived so ended up taking a taxi. When I arrived a large group of loud tourists was checking in while at the same time it seems there were ongoing renos. The check in staff seemed overwhelmed and unsure what to do. I was finally checked in but without any sense of basic courtesy. I asked about Internet access and being HI Platinum I knew I could use at no charge. The check in staff insisted I had to pay. Finally his colleague checked and told him it was free indeed. Room was small and inconsequential. I know HIE is the low cost version of HI but in most other locations I have felt welcomed and given an extra. Not this place. More like check in, pay and check out. There has to be a better option.

Room Tip: Not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear ivoyageur,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience with other readers.

We are not happy to see that we could not fulfill your expectations on a Holiday Inn Express hotel, especially as you could not sense the courtesy you should be able to expect from us.

Regarding the internet payment issue, there is good news coming up for all Priority Club Elite members. From July 2013 in line with the re-naming of our rewards programme into IHG Rewards Club, all IHG hotels worldwide will provide free internet to Gold and Platinum members. From 2014, all members regardless of their status level will have free internet services. We have decided to go ahead a bit earlier and just started to offer free internet to all Elite members by mid April, so this might be the reason for the initial confusion.

We hope to be able to welcome you another time to IHG hotels in Frankfurt, if not with us, try one of the other two Holiday Inn Express hotels or the other brands around.

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The HI Express Frankfurt Airport is a great, inexpensive hotel when overnighting a day or two from/to a flight. Convenient shutlle bus service takes only 15 minutes to/from the airport. The rooms are a bit on the small side, however, they are extremely clean and very modern. And the complimentary breakfast is very good, located in a large section of the lobby. My only complaint is printing boarding passes from the PC in the lobby. They have to be e-mailed to the hotel in order to print them. I could not print our 2 boarding passes since different e-mail addresses had to be given for each person. Very inconvenient. The HI Express is way behind the times in this respect since the PC should be wired directly to the printer to print the passes. Other than this, a great hotel to stay at. We'll be back, and hope that the printing system has been fixed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, Geschäftsführer at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your nice review!
We are very happy to see that you liked staying with us.

Regarding the boarding passes, we are currently experiencing problems with the system provided by the internet kiosl operator. Our staff is happy to print out anything which can be sent via email to them.

Hint: Boarding passes can be easily (re-)printed at the airlines self-service kiosks at the airport! They also can be operated in English language.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express!

Best regards
Martin and tesm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here one night prior to a flight to the States. The location is good with quick and frequent bus service to Frankfurt Airport including Terminal 1 and 2.
Be for-warned that there is no restaurant in hotel (other than Breakfast) and only option is Italian Restaurant across the Street (Very Good Food).
The most Troubling aspect of our stay, was the lack of WiFi in the rooms. When you travel, you often need to check and confirm reservations and the only option we had was to go to lobby where WiFi was available. There was Ethernet Cable avail in room for a charge, but today, WiFi is generally expected.
Breakfast in the morning was more than adequate. .

Room Tip: As the hotel is off the main road, traffic noise does not seem to be a problem. It does appear that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, Geschäftsführer at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great review! We are happy to see that you liked staying with us.

We are currently investigating options to include WiFi in our guest rooms as soon as possible.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express!

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport Hotel Morfelden-Walldorf
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt
Holiday Inn Frankfurt
Morfelden-Walldorf Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport Germany/Morfelden-Walldorf
Address: Langener Strasse 200, 64546 Morfelden-Walldorf, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Morfelden-Walldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Morfelden-Walldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Airport, your modern business hotel with the best connections to Frankfurt Airport, directly on the A5. We offer a daily shuttle service to the airport for only 5.00 Euro per person / stay. Our hotel is also right next to the ever-expanding Moerfelden Business Park. The Messe Frankfurt is world renowned and hosts international exhibitions such as Home Textiles, Premiere, Achema, the Book Fair and the International Motor Show IAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.