We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service below expectation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Langener Strasse 200, 64546 Morfelden-Walldorf, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Service below expectation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have come to expect a certain type of service from HIE across the world. I read mixed reviews about this location and it seems they are justified. First it always seems cheap to charge for an airport shuttle. Best to include in the room rate. Location is about 15 minutes from airport. Took forever for shuttle when I arrived so ended up taking a taxi. When I arrived a large group of loud tourists was checking in while at the same time it seems there were ongoing renos. The check in staff seemed overwhelmed and unsure what to do. I was finally checked in but without any sense of basic courtesy. I asked about Internet access and being HI Platinum I knew I could use at no charge. The check in staff insisted I had to pay. Finally his colleague checked and told him it was free indeed. Room was small and inconsequential. I know HIE is the low cost version of HI but in most other locations I have felt welcomed and given an extra. Not this place. More like check in, pay and check out. There has to be a better option.

Room Tip: Not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear ivoyageur,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience with other readers.

We are not happy to see that we could not fulfill your expectations on a Holiday Inn Express hotel, especially as you could not sense the courtesy you should be able to expect from us.

Regarding the internet payment issue, there is good news coming up for all Priority Club Elite members. From July 2013 in line with the re-naming of our rewards programme into IHG Rewards Club, all IHG hotels worldwide will provide free internet to Gold and Platinum members. From 2014, all members regardless of their status level will have free internet services. We have decided to go ahead a bit earlier and just started to offer free internet to all Elite members by mid April, so this might be the reason for the initial confusion.

We hope to be able to welcome you another time to IHG hotels in Frankfurt, if not with us, try one of the other two Holiday Inn Express hotels or the other brands around.

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    188
    113
    29
    33
See reviews for
90
117
70
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The HI Express Frankfurt Airport is a great, inexpensive hotel when overnighting a day or two from/to a flight. Convenient shutlle bus service takes only 15 minutes to/from the airport. The rooms are a bit on the small side, however, they are extremely clean and very modern. And the complimentary breakfast is very good, located in a large section of the lobby. My only complaint is printing boarding passes from the PC in the lobby. They have to be e-mailed to the hotel in order to print them. I could not print our 2 boarding passes since different e-mail addresses had to be given for each person. Very inconvenient. The HI Express is way behind the times in this respect since the PC should be wired directly to the printer to print the passes. Other than this, a great hotel to stay at. We'll be back, and hope that the printing system has been fixed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, Geschäftsführer at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your nice review!
We are very happy to see that you liked staying with us.

Regarding the boarding passes, we are currently experiencing problems with the system provided by the internet kiosl operator. Our staff is happy to print out anything which can be sent via email to them.

Hint: Boarding passes can be easily (re-)printed at the airlines self-service kiosks at the airport! They also can be operated in English language.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express!

Best regards
Martin and tesm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here one night prior to a flight to the States. The location is good with quick and frequent bus service to Frankfurt Airport including Terminal 1 and 2.
Be for-warned that there is no restaurant in hotel (other than Breakfast) and only option is Italian Restaurant across the Street (Very Good Food).
The most Troubling aspect of our stay, was the lack of WiFi in the rooms. When you travel, you often need to check and confirm reservations and the only option we had was to go to lobby where WiFi was available. There was Ethernet Cable avail in room for a charge, but today, WiFi is generally expected.
Breakfast in the morning was more than adequate. .

Room Tip: As the hotel is off the main road, traffic noise does not seem to be a problem. It does appear that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, Geschäftsführer at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great review! We are happy to see that you liked staying with us.

We are currently investigating options to include WiFi in our guest rooms as soon as possible.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express!

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elrose
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The setting was great! In the woods with lots of walking paths and even some lakes to walk around. Was concerned about lack of restaurants in other reviews but staff directed us to a wonderful German Italian restaurant a few minutes walk through the woods and also there was pizza available in evening at hotel if we had wanted. So it was great for a overnight stay. Rooms not large but adequate comfortable and very clean. Staff friendly.Breakfast was good and breakfast room bright and welcoming. Efficient and friendly shuttle to hotel in morning

Only suggestion was that when I contacted hotel to get directions for catching shuttle and they directed me to a shuttle,phone at hotel , which did not work at the time, if they they had also,told me the shuttle made regular stops even if I had not phoned, it would have saved us a taxi ride. Hotel was apologetic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, Geschäftsführer at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your nice review! We are delighted to see that you liked staying with us, and in particular, mention our friendly staff.

Thank you for pointing out the location of the hotel. Makes it quite unique for an airport hotel in our area. A stroll on a Summer evening to one of the little lakes behind the hotel is great.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express!

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

They shuttle means seats only 7, which in my case meant waiting at the aerport for 1 hour. Also, it's a free for all, so you need t be standing up all the time and prepared to fight for a seat.

Lobby Internet was strange, with changing IPs. I was able to read by email but there was no way to send any messages, either fromy my computer (mail software, webmail, mail2web) or my mobile phone.

The place itself is fairly sad, with ugly carpeting that needs replacing. Not the friendliest staff.

On the positve side, the very early breakfast (German standard: cold cuts, juice, yoghurt, cereal, toast, assorted bread ...) start time will be handy for a lot of air travellers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, Geschäftsführer at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review! We are happy to see that you liked staying with us in general.

Thank you for pointing out some aspects where we can improve. Both projects are currently in progress to see how they can be improved for enhanced customer experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express.

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Everything in the city was sold out so I stayed here for one night. The room was small, but fairly comfortable for a quick stay. The TV was very old. Make a reservation early if you need the airport shuttle. There is a good Italian restaurant within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your kind review!
We are happy that you liked staying with us.

Special thanks for pointing out that a reservation for the airport shuttle is recommended at the guest's earliest convenience.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express!

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Very well located, clean and good breakfast. You wont find something to do at night near the hotel. Is there a small bar in the lobby, where you could find some Germany's beer and pizza. The plus is the pick-up service at Frankfurt Airport!

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your nice review!
We are happy to see that you liked staying with us.

In addition to the food we provide in the hotel, there is an Italian restaurant opposite of the hotel. From April, a nice beer garden is due to re-open in this area, too, which is pretty on a warm evening.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express!

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport

Address: Langener Strasse 200, 64546 Morfelden-Walldorf, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Morfelden-Walldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Morfelden-Walldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Airport, your modern business hotel with the best connections to Frankfurt Airport, directly on the A5. We offer a daily shuttle service to the airport for only 5.00 Euro per person / stay. Our hotel is also right next to the ever-expanding Moerfelden Business Park. The Messe Frankfurt is world renowned and hosts international exhibitions such as Home Textiles, Premiere, Achema, the Book Fair and the International Motor Show IAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport Hotel Morfelden-Walldorf
Morfelden-Walldorf Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport Germany/Morfelden-Walldorf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.