We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent German Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Landgasthof Naturfreundehaus Waldheim

Landgasthof Naturfreundehaus Waldheim
Am Zeltplatz 6, Morfelden-Walldorf, Hesse, Germany
06105 14 40
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent German Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I visited the Landgasthof Naturfreundehaus on a nice July evening and had a good meal at a good price. That said, it do not think it is a great place to have a last meal in Germany, as some of the other reviewers have said. I think it was just average. My wife had the tafelspitz with the Frankfurt green sauce and I had the Frankfurter schnitzel, with the same sauce. I have certainly had better tafelspitz and better schnitzel in Gremany. The atmosphere was also just OK. The biergarten is nicely shaded, but the view of the RVs and other parts of the campground are nothing special. I would have to say the service was nothing special either. It was not crowded, and most of the staff was just standing around and it was a bit difficult to get their attention. If you are staying at the Holiday Inn, it is probably a good bet, but next time I will take a cab into Morfelden and try something there. I think the cab fare would only be about 5 Euros.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    6
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cold Bay, Alaska
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
“cheap, yet delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Big portions too. Schnitzel-heavy menu, but if you're staying at the Holiday Inn Express, can't go wrong eating here (200 meter walk across the busy road). Ate outside, was pleasantly surprised at the taste of our food. Made for a great last meal in Germany

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I were staying at the Holiday Inn Express just down the street and needed a place to have supper. This restaurant was within walking distance of the hotel and was excellent! We liked it so much that we ate there again the next evening, and, of course, we had to try something different each time.

We had very good service both times we went and the food was excellent. The first time there it was raining so we couldn't sit outside. The second time was absolutely beautiful out and I would highly recommend sitting outside and enjoying the wonderful weather.

The price for the meals wasn't overly expensive for what you got and it tasted great.

I recommend eating here if you are staying nearby.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“HUGE VALUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Big meals, fresh fair, cold beer, and great service. This place is great for a first or last tast of German food.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of Best Meals in Germany!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express/Frankfurt Airport. We had been told that an Italian Restaurant was within walking distance. It was. However, we wanted one last German meal and it was right next door. The quantity and quality of the food was excellent, and the price was at least 20% cheaper than other similiar meals in Germany. This place is a real sleeper and would be on my return list if I was back in the area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landgasthof Naturfreundehaus Waldheim also viewed

Morfelden-Walldorf, Hesse
Morfelden-Walldorf, Hesse
 
Morfelden-Walldorf, Hesse
Morfelden-Walldorf, Hesse
 

Been to Landgasthof Naturfreundehaus Waldheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landgasthof Naturfreundehaus Waldheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.