We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sleeping beauty with a modern touch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dornroeschenschloss Sababurg

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hofgeismar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dornroeschenschloss Sababurg
Save
You added Dornroeschenschloss Sababurg to your Saves list
Im Reinhardswald | 34369 Hofgeismar (Sababurg), 34369 Hofgeismar, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hofgeismar
SWEDEN
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“The Sleeping beauty with a modern touch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Sababurg is a castle ruin in the process of being rebuilt. It is located on a copse with nice views over scattered woodland with Prszewalski horses, aurochs and deer. It is family run and offers the following spectacular amenities:
A splendid quite "modern" 6 course meal in the restaurant including wine pairings and drinks before dinner for an extremely affordable price.
A GIANT castle breakfast served IN BED included in the room rate
A free minibar
A nice tower room with a four poster bed with stars in the Himmelbett!
Very friendly and accommodating staff.

What it also offers is tourists visiting the property during the afternoon, concrete walls and modern cupboards in the suite, albeit with old style chairs and tables. It also offers LOTS of stairs if You stay at the top of the tower.

There are opportunities to watch the wildlife in the Nature park and You also get to meet dornröschen in person. They also have a surprise or two for You which I will not divulge.

All in all a very good value for money stay, especially if You want a stopover when driving through germany on Your way to the continent. Only be aware of the fact that it is a castle under construction, and that the reconstruction is done with some modern furniture.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    22
    11
    7
    14
See reviews for
29
56
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I think the title says it all, we stayed here for one night as part of a european motorcycling holiday last month. We had spent the day travelling through the forests of Germany to the castle as this was the icing on the cake.

The standard of the room in the turret was out of this world and ticked all of the boxes. We did have some heavy luggage and there were no stairs up to the room but someone helped us with that without question.

The views from the room across the valley and the ruins were amazing and you could wander around freely and spend as much time in the castle.

The evening meal was fantastic with a great menu which promised so much and didn't fail to have our tastebuds overflowing. The staff were attentive and very friendly and as someone else has mentioned the turn down service offered a small surprise.

This was probably one of the best holiday highlights I've ever had and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone and will definitely be visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We have been on a major trip throughout Germany and this was a real highlight. Our room in the tower was lovely, with light rose touches throughout. A special surprise arrived with the turndown at night. Be aware that tower rooms have no lift. We had light luggage, so no problem. They are also under construction, so things may not be perfect, but we were very happy. Dinner was so memorable, again with light touches of roses throughout. The staff were lovely, and elegant, but casual. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

We traveled up to the castle for New Year's Eve stay with our 2 girls. The dining for that weekend was unparalleled - superb! Fresh venison, fresh trout, fresh everything! Have rarely eaten at a finer gourmet restaurant! Local wines of course went with the meal. We had 2 adjacent rooms because we had small children (3 and 9) - a room to accomodate us all would've been the only improvement. With 1-2 feet of snow on the ground, it was a wonderful adventure walking through the wild game park nearby and making snow angels near the sloping cobblestone drive up to the castle. I still have some of the Rosentee - mmm! The rose jellies and other rose cuisine was amazing! And of course we got the beautifully illustrated Grimms' Fairy Tales book (in German) to take home. An amazing stay - wonderfully warm staff, kid friendly, great food, fantastic rooms, and idyllic setting. If the roses had been blooming it would've been perfect, but that's hard to do in the middle of winter! A trip the girls and I will remember forever!

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Anyone who down-rates this family-run operation is a curmudgeon and an ignorant one! I have stayed here often and lived just around the hill for three years. The local folk come here to marry if they want a special memory -- otherwise they pop a cork at a local city hall (Rathaus). Nearby is Hann Munden and Hofgeismar; two of the most representative small towns to be found in this region near the Fulda River. The history of the region cannot be learned in a day or two, but it is well worth the study, however long it takes. So many great personalities and events occurred nearby, Willie Brand and Willie Stoldt meeting for the first time, it would be a shame to miss-understand any of them. Kassel is a smallish city with a great heritage and wonderful pride-of-place with many immigrants from further east during and after WWIIwho stayed. They welcomed us, one and all, and we will love them forever for their hospitality and their honest character. Let me close with this --if you can find a meal more elegant, prepared with finer attention to detail, with any greater love or devotion or singleness of purpose, of higher quality or with finer ingredients than can be had from the adjacent Tier Park, find me and I will pay you the full price doubled! This is the finest hostelry and restaurant in all of Europe and I have lived throughout the region and in many countries and I know whereof I speak.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHague
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

This hotel has many happy memories for me, mainly due to its idyllic location in the countryside, on top of a hill in a former stately home (it would be pushing the boat out to call it a castle though, whatever their website suggests). There's a fine entrance through a ruined arch along a cobbled lane, where one reaches a pleasant courtyard area with wonderful dining - some great views over the Hesse hills from the tables here.

The entrance to the hotel is also quite atmospheric, with suits of armour and medieval weapons a plenty !

Where the accommodation falls down though is the quality of rooms, perhaps there are better ones available but ours was more of a guesthouse or motel standard, with very little effort or expense having gone into it. A small portable TV, no minibar, 1980's furniture, the atmosphere was hardly that of a castle !

Fortunately our room had a balcony with stunning views over the Sababurg Wildlife Park and adjacent hills, the park is one of the oldest zoos in Europe. No small cages with smelly animals on view here, just very large fields with various breeds of horses (tarpans, Przewalski horses, Exmoor ponies). Being May, many of the horses had just foaled and we spent hours sitting in the evening sun on the balcony, watching the horses roam the flower-filled fields (a pair of binoculars might be useful though).

A romantic experience in almost every way, just a shame about the standard of the rooms considering the price paid.

  • Liked — Romantic location, great views from room, restaurant terrace
  • Disliked — No minibar, furnishing/fittings in room not in keeping with rest of hotel
  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

I suppose after a grueling flight from SFO to Frankfurt, and then a long drive to Sababurg, anything would have looked good. However, when we arrived at Dornroeschenschloss, my husband and I were unprepared for the beauty of the area, the loveliness of the castle and the warm and welcoming staff. Our room was perfect and overlooked the beautiful, lush fields (and the rain that night, which washed everything green, didn't hurt either). Dinner was absolutely wonderful and the setting (in a medieval style dining room), was perfect.

The next morning, we enjoyed watching the sheep wandering about the field and climbing up on the broken walls to lay in the sun. After a delicious breakfast, we toured the castle grounds, taking in the gardens and the fields beyond. Sadly, we were only there one night but how I wished we could have stayed longer ( ... next time).

  • Liked — Location and ambiance
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dornroeschenschloss Sababurg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornroeschenschloss Sababurg

Address: Im Reinhardswald | 34369 Hofgeismar (Sababurg), 34369 Hofgeismar, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Hofgeismar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hofgeismar
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Dornroeschenschloss Sababurg Hofgeismar
Dornroeschenschloss Sababurg Germany/Hofgeismar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dornroeschenschloss Sababurg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.