We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and peaceful resort with horrible Internet connection” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Schwielowsee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Resort Schwielowsee to your Saves list
Resort Schwielowsee
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Am Schwielowsee 117 | Petzow, 14542 Werder upon Havel, Brandenburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice and peaceful resort with horrible Internet connection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Located practically in the middle of absolute nowhere, the resort consists of good restaurant, good comfortable rooms and great swimming pool. As a hotel where you go to escape the world, it's perfect. For conferences, one simple thing kills the whole experience: the internet connection is unusable in the hotel, both LAN and Wifi. Being a bit thick on these things, I'm dropping one point from the rating because of the Internet, and would love to hear why the resort hasn't taken the measures required to get a proper Internet connection there. Also, the rooms are extremely hot and the air condition doesn't seem to do anything. Thus, sleep can be a bit tedious in the summertime.

Room Tip: Try not to get the room from the side of the morning sun, you won't be able to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
14
34
1
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This stay was at the tail-end of a business trip to Berlin. My client and I had a 6 PM flight on Friday so we reserved rooms at this hotel for Thursday night in hopes of having a quiet stay and a nice breakfast in the hotel followed by a little sightseeing in Potsdam before our departure. I reserved rooms over the hotel's website and booked what they call a "deluxe room."

I was completely satisfied with this stay. I am somewhat of a light sleeper so I am always trying to find hotels where I don't have to hear my neighbor's television, elevator noise, banging doors, and other annoyances. This came close to being the perfect hotel in this respect. The first thing I usually do when entering a hotel room is to lightly tap on the walls to see whether they are solid or hollow. It is comforting when the sound is solid, as it was in this hotel, indicating that the walls are unlikely to pass sounds from the neighboring room.

Not only was the room very quiet, it was beautifully decorated. Someone has invested a great deal of money to modernize this facility and it really paid off. The furnishings were first rate (although the pastel carpet was a little soiled). I was especially happy to find a wired Internet connection (included in the room charge!), which is so much better than messing with Wi-fi.

I was in room 318, which had a terrace with a nice view of the lake. I could even open the door to the terrace to let in some cool air during the night. It was a rainy February day so I did not take a walk outside the next morning but it must be a nice thing to do in good weather.

I found two faults during my stay. First, the bathtub in my room was quite slippery but I found no safety bar to hold on to. Use care!

The other issue I found was the noisy door between the kitchen and the dining room. Both during dinner Thursday night and during breakfast on Friday morning I was quite annoyed by the loud noise this door makes when opening and closing (which it does very often), and while the door is open the kitchen noises flow out into the dining area. The dining experience would be much improved in this beautiful room if this problem could be corrected. The breakfast staff could also use a few lessons in pleasantness.

I would definitely stay at the Resort Schwielowsee again.

Room Tip: Sorry, but I do not know the facility well enough to offer any tips on this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Checked in late pm after 3 days on a trade stand in Berlin, minus 8 degrees outside...then into this bright, spacious, modern, resort hotel....lovely!

Decorated in a 'classic' style, we had a nice room with high ceilings and a very comfy bed, large well fitted bathroom (no bath though) and just a short walk from the reception and restaurant. The gratis internet cable connection was also welcome.

Dinner in the restaurant was very nice (too dark to admire the views), good food (my lady wife chose Weiner Scnitzel as she'e never tried it and was impressed), and the waitress was excellent in translating the menu items and explaining anything we wanted to know. I had the tagliatelle with giant prawns - unadventurous but delicious.

Breakfast (19 eur each !!) was a big buffet, with bacon and scrambled eggs in large heated trays, lots of fresh fruit etc.

Would like to go back in the summer and see what the resort is really like!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011 via mobile

This place has been in the news quite a bit recently due to a legal investigation into the way it was financed. However that may be, the resort has many things in its favour - starting from a beautifuk location right on the edge of the lake. You can swim, boat or just enjoy the view - we opted for the latter, given that our visit was in autumns. This also meant the place was't too crowded, and the sun standing low on the mist-covered lake made for a beautifuk atmosphere.

We had booked an arrangement that included some spa treatments, as well as the use of their two (smallish) saunas and the steam room. They offer a variety of exercise classes as well, some of which we took and enojyed very much as part of our arrangement.

While this left us quite relaxed, there are a few ways they could have done more to contribute to that relaxation. The heating in our bathroom failed repeatedly, which eventually made them upgrade us to a very nice superior room. There, though, the ac in the actual room wasn't quite efficient in warming the place up (which stands to reason, given that the vents are under the ceiling and hot air tends to rise). Other things I'd want to work on is the 10 euros they charge per night for parking (we parked in the road) and some service issues: For example, if a spa treatment is part of your booking, they allot you a time slot rather than ask when it would suit you.

Prices are reasonable given the beautiful location and the layout of the whole place, and the breakfast they offer is in a league of its own, with every hot or cold, sweet or savoury dish you might want. During the off-season, it's easy to get a table with a beautiful view of the lake.

Not sure how crowded this resort is in the summer, but for autumn or winter I can recommend it for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

The hotel has a very nice setting overlooking the Schwielowsee. It's a large lobby/reception with a 1900's feeling to it. The reception staff was very friendly and helpfull. We had a standard room which was not so big, high ceilings and bright cream colors. A nice touch was that shower and toilet were stucked away behind doors. Internet and parking are available (not free).
The indoor swimming pool is rather small and very slippery around it. I found a bit to cold at the swimming pool. When the weather is good you can also enjoy the outside pool. Also sauna, solarium (not free) and spa treatments (not free) are available.
Breakfast (18 €) buffet has a large variety (even cava available) and you can look to the grass garden and lake.
In the resort there are also some houses/appartments available and it has an extra restaurant right besides the lake.
The hotel is about 10 minute drive to Potsdam or you can explore the lakes and old villages in the surrounding area.
A nice hotel although I feel it's a bit overpriced for what it offers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

The hotel is in a really great setting on the lakeside. The building is pretty and the appartments are well furnished and comfortable. The service is kind but rather strange - you can't get a beer before 6, for example. They also ran out of tea, which is just bizarre.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2007

Could be good - but what dreadful service - disorganised and many excuses!

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort Schwielowsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Schwielowsee

Address: Am Schwielowsee 117 | Petzow, 14542 Werder upon Havel, Brandenburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Brandenburg > Werder upon Havel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Werder upon Havel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Resort Schwielowsee 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Resort Schwielowsee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Schwielowsee Germany/Werder Upon Havel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort Schwielowsee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.